Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird Knock On The Door This Evening

• 22-01-2017 9:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭

2 young lads knocked on the door earlier. They looked around 10 - 12 yrs of age. Didn't recognise them from the area..... anyway when I answered one said "do you have any tea bags?"

I'm looking at him a bit confused and he goes "do you have any tea bags for Karl Barrett?"

(Who the fcuk is Karl Barrett??? - I don't know anyone with this name).

Anyway after I got rid of them and shut the door they went and knocked in next door.... they also went to the next house, working their way along the road.

Anyone reckon they're knocking on doors to see if there's any empty houses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

I'd shut the door,
    Karl Barrett would peel an orange in his pocket the stinge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 331 ✭✭Johnboner

Without a doubt, inform ERU ASAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Little tea leaves id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

I've been craving something all evening, couldn't put a finger on what it was, now I know, tea. Thanks op,

Karl, B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

xabi wrote: »
    I've been craving something all evening, couldn't put a finger on what it was, now I know, tea. Thanks op,

Karl, B
    But you haven't got any tea bags! (apparently)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Tell them Karl Barrett is a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Be careful they don't mark the wall with chalk, then your definitely gettin burgaled :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Google says he's an oil and heating engineer. Not sure why he needs tea bags though.

Also did you check for any chalk marks outside your house after they left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Turtle_

Johnboner wrote: »
    Without a doubt, inform ERU ASAP

Tbh I would tell the local garda station. That sounds like people sizing up houses to see who's in. Instincts are usually correct about whether something is off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

2 young lads knocked on the door earlier. They looked around 10 - 12 yrs of age. Didn't recognise them from the area..... anyway when I answered one said "do you have any tea bags?"

I'm looking at him a bit confused and he goes "do you have any tea bags for Karl Barrett?"

(Who the fcuk is Karl Barrett??? - I don't know anyone with this name).

Anyway after I got rid of them and shut the door they went and knocked in next door.... they also went to the next house, working their way along the road.

Anyone reckon they're knocking on doors to see if there's any empty houses?

Karl Barrett is a great lad, but developed a crippling addiction to tea leaves in his late 20's. He now spends his whole day in a tiny dark bedroom sipping earl grays or snorting lines of barrys, crying out for teabags to anyone who will listen. These young scrotes are able to decipher the cries of tea pain and go about collecting bags to help Karl out of his agony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Poor Karl Barrets reading this thinking jaysus I only asked the gassons tor go over see if the man had a few teabags as the shops shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I'd say they're hoping you'll go into the kitchen to get the tea bags and then they can grab something from your front room.. like a handbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Do you have teabags for Karl Barrett is obviously code (not even good code) for do have coke, tabs, heroin or some mad sh1t like that. I would almost go as far as saying that the young lads weren't looking for teabags. They never even asked brand name. Dead giveaway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bob Dylan called, He wants his song back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

I'd say they're hoping you'll go into the kitchen to get the tea bags and then they can grab something from your front room.. like a handbag.

Yeah or car keys or whatever is there. I never leave the door open if there's a stranger after knocking. Especially in such strange circumstances.

Like if a neighbour needs something then fair enough.... but these lads weren't from my road. Just seemed odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Bob Dylan called, He wants his song back.

Mama put my teabags to the ground,
    I don't need them anymore.
    Teabags was a shyte code for some gear,
    And Mama's basically a whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Karl Bennett is Gordon Bennett's son, it's old cocky slang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

He now spends his whole day in a tiny dark bedroom sipping earl grays or snorting lines of barrys

He'd fit in great here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

What people still answer their doors? Knock on my door and you can fcuk off. Anybody who I want to speak to has my number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 2tonesoul

He's the lead singer of the libertines. Although spelt differently, I could understand if they were on scrounge for Pete Doherty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Isn't there some urban legend where a pair of children show up at the door looking to use a telephone and if you let them in some terrible misfortune will happen upon you.

I'd say you dodged a bullet there OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I'm looking for Ray Finkle..... and a clean pair of shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Also don't leave car keys in view of a letter box on a hall table or something; it's more common than you think for them to try and fish for them. The young lads were most likely scouting for people on the rob or elderly people that can be targeted specifically for some sort of scam.

I'd tell the shades to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It was code - when they get the right house the deal will go down. If they find the right house, they were probably bombed out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Karl_Barrett

Jesus, all I wanted was a cup of tea. Some neighbour you are, I'll tell my young lads to stay away from your house from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Jesus, all I wanted was a cup of tea. Some neighbour you are, I'll tell my young lads to stay away from your house from now on.

GTFO to where you came from:eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Agree with many of the posts re dangers.

I am old and live alone, but have a dog who sounds as if she would eat anyone who came. New here and y'day I had a visitor re the plumbing and the dog went ballistic...

And anyone who has driven two miles up a narrow mountain road full of sheep and ponies deserves a cup of tea.