Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trip to Aintree for first time

• 17-01-2017 3:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

A little unwittingly, I find myself booked on a trip to Aintree for the full Grand National meeting and whereas I had wrongly assumed it would be a 48 hour two-fixture sojourn it now looks like its going to cover FIVE DAYS in all. Help!!

I understand we are staying near the city centre and I need to find some activity(ies) that won't revolve around gambling and drinking.

Any thoughts ?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 RoyalAcademy2

By the way, this is not a request for the best brothels as I can only handle two vices at a time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

So hookers, gambling and drinking are a no-no? A crack den perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

A little unwittingly, I find myself booked on a trip to Aintree for the full Grand National meeting and whereas I had wrongly assumed it would be a 48 hour two-fixture sojourn it now looks like its going to cover FIVE DAYS in all. Help!!

I understand we are staying near the city centre and I need to find some activity(ies) that won't revolve around gambling and drinking.

Wrong place for answers from the deviants on here dude. :pac:

pat,
    gambling and drinking are a given. I'm looking for alternatives on Thursday or Saturday, sanity before or after two days of debauchery.

Friday racing I'm told is unmissable; apparently the bookies offer decent odds and nearly all the runners are fillies.

I suppose Goodison or Anfield might be an option.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Liverpool at home to Bournemouth on the 5th (Wedneday)
    Everton at home to Leicester on the 8th (Saturday)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

pat,
    gambling and drinking are a given. I'm looking for alternatives on Thursday or Saturday, sanity before or after two days of debauchery.

Friday racing I'm told is unmissable; apparently the bookies offer decent odds and nearly all the runners are fillies.

To be honest I haven't been there yet but I'm also thinking of making my debut for the first 2 days and get out of there before National day but all my time will be used watching racing, gambling,drinking and chasing skirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

pat,

I'm there Thursday evening till Sunday afternoon, at the racing both Friday and Saturday. I won't have a lot of time to do much else but two of the lads with us were thinking on just going to Aintree on the Friday and doing something else on the Saturday. We are staying in Albert dock and there seems to be a few attractions in that area with the Beatles tour thing and a couple of museums all based on the dock.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

There's really nothing else to do apart from drinking, gambling and £5 dances :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

pat,

Suggest you look at the Thursday card

Go every year and its got more Graded races than any day in the year from memory, even Cheltenham.

Thank you guys

Now I really would love someone to tell me about Friday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Tour of Anfield ( Get in to see the trophy room ) wouldn't bother with goodison unless your a Everton fan
    The Beatles Story is well worth a visit
    The Tavern Club
    Definietly do the ferry cross the mersey
    Theres a few museums
    Liverpool is a lovely little city, most things in walking distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie