Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlord jailed for not paying €500,000 tax on rental income

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

How come Mick Wallace didn't get a jail term so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,962 ✭✭✭gifted

vicwatson wrote: »
    How come Mick Wallace didn't get a jail term so?

With his hair???....jesus the showers would be packed lol lol

Poor man?! You‘re havin' a laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

So two years jail for €600,000 ,
    No mention of any money recovered by revenue so not the worst payday, I'd imagine he or the new wife have some properties paid for in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Something something garlicman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

At least all the property they know of were taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Hmmm taking 15 houses over a €848k bill seems excessive and no mention of CAB. Unless he owed money to the banks too

RasTa wrote: »
    Hmmm taking 15 houses over a €848k bill seems excessive and no mention of CAB. Unless he owed money to the banks too

My guess as he had 3 different names he never paid or only paid little back to the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

So he owes us (the taxpayers), he didn't pay his taxes, his houses were repossessed, and we now have to pay for his sojourn in jail?

These people don't give a foxtrot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

RasTa wrote: »

Why do you think that?

Roughly €60 grand per house..... LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

stimpson wrote: »
    Something something garlicman.

Fleawuss Law! It's like Godwins but tastier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Fleawuss wrote: »
    Fleawuss Law! It's like Godwins but tastier.

Mmmm....garlic bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

Man commits fraud and tax evasion - sentenced to prison. Nothing to see here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Good.

I pay my taxes, why the heck shouldn't he.

pwurple wrote: »
    Good.

I pay my taxes, why the heck shouldn't he.

He was living the high life. Love the defence used poor poor guy living in Spain my heart bleeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

gifted wrote: »
    With his hair???....jesus the showers would be packed Blocked up lol lol

FYP:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

No problem with a bit of diddling but he was greedy and took the piss

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Flimpson wrote: »
    Man commits fraud and tax evasion - sentenced to prison. Nothing to see here.
    Agreed, but when ranged against the revolving door policy for utter and complete scum with countless convictions for crimes against property and persons(and often tax) this sorta stuff really starts to grate. One would almost begin to think the judges are afraid of one type, but not the tax dodgers...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

<article removed due to copyright> Last edited by Peregrine; Today at 17:44.

New rules on boards?

But the guy sounds like a greedy ejjit. He wouldn't be the only landlord to fiddle taxes. But to the tune of 500 grand you'd have to be mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wibbs wrote: »
    Agreed, but when ranged against the revolving door policy for utter and complete scum with countless convictions for crimes against property and persons(and often tax) this sorta stuff really starts to grate. One would almost begin to think the judges are afraid of one type, but not the tax dodgers...

When you try and take from the state Wibbs they come down very heavy maximum penalties when you hurt a fellow citizen it's a much different outcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

Fortlawn, where it says he lives, is a corpo built estate. Jammy git gets gifted a corpo house in the 70's or 80's and spends most of the 21st century bleeding tenants at full market rate while avoiding tax. There's nothing that sums up our bonkers housing policy more than when you see an ex council house on Daft for 1500 per month. Or better yet, the situation where the council sells someone their house, they rent the house, the new tenant is on the rent assistance, and the local authority is effectively paying their former tenant 1000 per month to allow a family to live n a house that the local authority themselves built and formerly owned.

Having said that I'm surprised he was still living in that area with the money he was presumably worth, it wouldn't have the best rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

F. Him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

This sh't truly has to end. How did this man amass that level of wealth and amount of properties?

Let me give you a hint: it wasn't through busting his bollix to pay 50% of his take home pay every month to a Dublin landlord. It is a pure product of a dysfunctional economy that we churned out f#ckers like this, and my own particular favourite facepalm of that same economy - tradespeople who took home €1k+ net a week. Christ, any competent labour economist worth their salt would tell you tradesman should never ever, ever be taking home that level of pay.

I am no socialist, but I am seriously, seriously onside for absolutely taxing the f#ck out of the baby boomer and early gen'x'ers, and ringfencing that money for the younger generation who have been rightly goosed by the excesses of the generation that went before them.

If certain generations have been extremely privileged by government interventions, while others have not (bar being asked to f#cking pay for it), then it is only fair that this generation should be taxed more heavily to compensate for that advantage.

People under 35 today have been rightly f#cked, and I don't know are they fully aware of the enormity of the rogering. Even children are about 50 grand in debt before they are even born.

As a start, Capital Acquisitions Tax should be raised to 90% for any gifts in excess of €200k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

You would have to wonder how someone bright enough to acquire so many properties is stupid enough to think he could get away with not paying tax.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

myshirt wrote: »
    my own particular favourite facepalm of that same economy - tradespeople who took home €1k+ net a week. Christ, any competent labour economist worth their salt would tell you tradesman should never ever, ever be taking home that level of pay.
    While it was mad, that was what the market at the time was willing to pay. I also sniff quite the bit of snobbishness about "tradesmen". Why should they not get as much as they can in an economy willing to pay it? Or is it only the "professional classes" and cubicle jockey jobs you're happy were and are price gouging? That same economy was paying the legal profession and bankers way more than brickies and plumbers. Who do you think facilitated the daft boom in the first place? Hint; it wasn't the "tradesmen". Man the stink of snob off your post is high.
    I am no socialist, but I am seriously, seriously onside for absolutely taxing the f#ck out of the baby boomer and early gen'x'ers, and ringfencing that money for the younger generation who have been rightly goosed by the excesses of the generation that went before them.
    Oh you mean the generations that grew up and left school straight into a jobs market that barely existed? The generation that watched as they or their fellows had to emigrate because the economy was in the toilet? Or the generation who had jobs, but didn't spend like mad on credit cards(until later on)? Or the generation that are far more likely to be in massive negative equity on their house and other loans? That generation? That notion and the horse it rode in on can feck right off as far as I'm concerned. Oh and stand back and watch over the next few years as the current generation, your generation, or enough of them, will think the boom is back on track and repeat the exact same mistakes again. But no, this time it'll be different. Not.
    People under 35 today have been rightly f#cked, and I don't know are they fully aware of the enormity of the rogering. Even children are about 50 grand in debt before they are even born.
    Indeed, but the fault of that lies far more with the lack of oversight and regulation on the banking sector and the subsequent bailout than Sean and Sinead O'Citizen and their spending.
    As a start, Capital Acquisitions Tax should be raised to 90% for any gifts in excess of €200k.
    Which will just mean those with the real money will make plans to avoid any of that and the same Sean and Sinead O'Citizen including your generation will be rogered again.
    Winterlong wrote: »
    You would have to wonder how someone bright enough to acquire so many properties is stupid enough to think he could get away with not paying tax.
    Cute hoorism while cunning on the surface can be just as bloody stupid and egotistical. That said there are enough similar cute hoors still out there under the tax radar. He was one of the stupid ones who got caught.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

Wibbs wrote: »
    While it was mad, that was what the market at the time was willing to pay. I also sniff quite the bit of snobbishness about "tradesmen". Why should they not get as much as they can in an economy willing to pay it?

I think there is an element of told you so got your comeuppance among certain people regarding the construction industry. For whatever reason, construction has always attracted boyos, the messers in the class, the lads who would leave school the second it was legal, or even before. Throughout the 80's an 90's they were told day in day out that if they didn't quit the messing and straighten up they were going to end up in a life of semi employment at best in Ireland's then erratic building sector while Johnny Hitthebooks raked in the cash. I've worked in the professional and the construction sectors and I can tell you where the better craic is that's for sure.

I think there is a certain schadenfraude that, from maybe 2002 to 2008, most tradesmen were earning vastly more than most people n graduate roles. The teachers were wrong- the lad who left school barely literate at 15 to do brickys labouring could be taking home 600 plus per week, the lads who took an apprenticeship were on 33K plus in their first year qualified while the college lads were lucky to climb the ladder starting on 24K. Some of these lads ended up in Australia. Some of them are still there, and it kills some people that the biggest messer and dosser in the class is in a mine outside Kalgoorlie taking home 100,000 per year while they completed a 4 year business degree and are on 25K in a call centre.

Of course, a lot of these lads have nothing to show for it, as with the good money came the cocaine, and in 2009 came the boom. And there are still some of these lads sitting on the dole because a warehouse job starting at a tenner per hour is beneath them, it isn't real graft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

He could have disappeared abroad and lived comfortably on rent collected.

Rule #1 don't attract the attention of the tax man