Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

slurry 2017

• 11-01-2017 11:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭

Many of ye going to lash out a share of slurry on Friday for those in that opening date? My biggest problem is that most of drier fields have nearly too good a grass cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

f140 wrote: »
    Many of ye going to lash out a share of slurry on Friday for those in that opening date? My biggest problem is that most of drier fields have nearly too good a grass cover.

Raining /snowing here forclast few hours ,stalled contractor till at least tomorrow .this calendar farming really is some pike of ****e when u consider weather and ground conditions we've had since November

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Raining /snowing here forclast few hours ,stalled contractor till at least tomorrow .this calendar farming really is some pike of ****e when u consider weather and ground conditions we've had since November

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Jan 12th comes and bingo the weather is superb.only in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

Gota take ye back a good few years now but I remember on year it snowed hard and the boss man had us spread top-dress (farmyard manure) out on the snow... snow melted and there wasnt the mark of a wheel.... anywhere.
    simpler times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Thought I had it timed perfect slurry just to the slats in one tank, will have to throw two loads in to big tank now. Could have emptied it 10 days ago and wouldn't have left a mark and there would have been no runoff either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Flat out at it now, despite how dry a winter we've had (less rainwater in the tank) I'm amazed at how there is already 5ft in it in the space of 5weeks. Field conditions not too bad at all, a million times better than the last two springs, I'm not at all worried about any few marks the tanker is leaving, with be well gone by end of round 1. Very little area to spread on, 18ac about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

Deadline in zone A doesn't open until midnight tonight afaik. Closed inclusive until 12th. Not that it makes any sense. Am I right in saying that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

C4d78 wrote: »
    Deadline in zone A doesn't open until midnight tonight afaik. Closed inclusive until 12th. Not that it makes any sense. Am I right in saying that?

Well the closed period started at a minute past twelve on the fifteenth of Oct so by that reckoning if you were badly stuck you could have been agitating away yesterday evening and been sitting in the gap at 11.59 last night with a full tank ready to rock and roll once the midnight news came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

to be fair I just checked outwintered stock there now and I never saw the field that dry in January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Correct.
    I'm also zone A and not permitted to spread until tomorrow. I had enquirid about getting permission to spread today and was told no and that I do so at my own risk. From someone in the nitrates department. That said I can hear tankers buzzing and there is a lovely whiff of slurry in the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭alps

lefthooker wrote: »
    Correct.
    I'm also zone A and not permitted to spread until tomorrow. I had enquirid about getting permission to spread today and was told no and that I do so at my own risk. From someone in the nitrates department. That said I can hear tankers buzzing and there is a lovely whiff of slurry in the air

Tell them Agriland said on the 5th Jan you could spread today..the 12th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Have a months storage left and ground here is actually wet enough so I am going to chance hanging on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Grueller wrote:
    Have a months storage left and ground here is actually wet enough so I am going to chance hanging on.

Have about 3ft left in each tank and our ground definitely wouldn't take a tanker at the min. Have no choice but to hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I've seen a man spreading today, couldn't wait the extra few hours.

Sam Kade wrote: »

There's a lot of confusion most ppl I talk to and the farming indo say today is the opening day for slurry spreading in the Leinster Munster area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Sam Kade wrote:

Maybe slurry was up to slaughts and he had to spread?
    I'd be surprised if the dept went after you over a couple of hours early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Lads where would I get a new slurry suction hose. The connection on mine is fine but the pipe/hose itself is cracked and broken.
    How much are they?

The Cuban wrote: »
    Lads where would I get a new slurry suction hose. The connection on mine is fine but the pipe/hose itself is cracked and broken.
    How much are they?

In or around €100 for the standard width and length back two years ago

farmerjj wrote: »
    In or around €100 for the standard width and length back two years ago
    €120 now.

case885 wrote: »
    Maybe slurry was up to slaughts and he had to spread?
    I'd be surprised if the dept went after you over a couple of hours early.

What about all this extra storage fellas are supposed to have? I've an open tank and still have plenty room of course less rainfall and late housing was a great help this winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Slurry went out at about 2500 gals/acre yesterday by trailing shoe. Left a bit of tracking but will be disappeared by the time it has a cover of grass on it.you'd hardly see the shïtn comparison to the splash late

7 loads out Monday and Tuesday. Hopefully get another couple out tomorrow. I've never seen land so dry in January. First time I've ever got to spread before March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

7 loads out Monday and Tuesday. Hopefully get another couple out tomorrow. I've never seen land so dry in January. First time I've ever got to spread before March

You must have a lot of storage

Feck all. Most stock are out wintered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Pipes arriving in the morning so giving it a stir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Wow how many gallons does that hold in full capacity

cute geoge wrote: »
    Wow how many gallons does that hold in full capacity
    Looks around 500k.

Splash plate or dribble bar/trailing shoe? Our man said he's busier this year than others as instead of covering some ground everyone is emptying the whole lot so they are spending twice as long at most places. Has delayed him coming down by a week or so.

Looks around 500k.

850 plus free board

Mooooo wrote: »
    Splash plate or dribble bar/trailing shoe? Our man said he's busier this year than others as instead of covering some ground everyone is emptying the whole lot so they are spending twice as long at most places. Has delayed him coming down by a week or so.

Dribble bar. Exact same here. Everyone's emptying all tanks. It's a form of dumping. We are going with 3k/acre and I'll get him back every 2 weeks or so. He's about 10 days late arriving here so the amount of ground he can cover is shrinking with each passing day.

We've had words so the ball is in his court now ;)

850 plus free board
    It must be fairly deep.

It must be fairly deep.[/quote

It is 4m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dribble bar. Exact same here. Everyone's emptying all tanks. It's a form of dumping. We are going with 3k/acre and I'll get him back every 2 weeks or so. He's about 10 days late arriving here so the amount of ground he can cover is shrinking with each passing day.

Got dribble bar here just to empty one tank to give me room. Seven link shed which got no extra water, only pumped 600 metres and yer man said it wouldnt pump more. Your lagoon will be fine I'd imagine but for anyone trying out pipes ADD WATER!!

I agree with you on dumping of slurry but the good weather is too much of a temptation for lads not to empty tanks. Remember a few years advise was coming through about better responses in Feb/Mar so lads held back with slurry next thing two wet months fecked everything up. Sometimes it's better to go with the weather. Pipes will probably visit here twice more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

They must have money to burn. Drivers are inclined to look at you as if you have two heads when you get insistent about spreading rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

They must have money to burn. Drivers are inclined to look at you as if you have two heads when you get insistent about spreading rates.

Those types are trailer monkies or steering wheel attendants if they care so little about what happens behind them.

To be fair this guy has 2 very experienced, intelligent and tasty operators looking after this outfit. It's the reason we were prepared to wait for him.

He'll probably be covering half the ground he would have if he came on the 12th. Will get him back for silage ground again once it's grazed. In fairness he rang last week and asked if I could hold off for a bit as the way lads are going managing the route would save them days. Will go with 18 6 12 on ground he won't be covering

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

I have a neighbour who has the injectors for his slurry tank. I see him spreading more with the splash plate then injecting it into the ground. Just does his own, no contract work. I often wonder why he doesn't just always use the injectors? Wouldn't you always get better value by using them? Or are the injectors not always suitable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

Back grazing the paddocks here and following up with slurry as Still as they're grazed
    We've only one tank full enough to do that though as the rest were emptied on silage ground on the 13th
    Hoping to give a quick run of the cows across those at the end of February,fert then and close by march
    Growth for the time of year should make this very efficient
    Ground is in remarkable condition

Pumping 3k/acre

Grpind in good nick, fair bit of weight in that rig.? Pipe tractor here will only have the splash plate or injector, no reel when spreading. They roll out to furthest point and disconnect as they move back. Have A frames on reel, attachments and pump

f140 wrote: »
    I have a neighbour who has the injectors for his slurry tank. I see him spreading more with the splash plate then injecting it into the ground. Just does his own, no contract work. I often wonder why he doesn't just always use the injectors? Wouldn't you always get better value by using them? Or are the injectors not always suitable?
    The injectors slow up spreading and higher diesel costs. Also extra weight and blockages.