Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Middle aged apprenticeship

• 09-01-2017 5:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭

What do ye think of a guy mid 40s toying with the idea of taking up an apprenticeship as an Electrician ?
    I've been in Construction most of my working life so I know the conditions etc that can come with it.

I'm trying to plan ahead for the last 20 working years or so I may have left in me and can't see me at my current job for my older years as they come.

Do any of ye know someone who has done this or would I be laughed out if the training centre if I enquired :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

Thespoofer wrote: »
    What do ye think of a guy mid 40s toying with the idea of taking up an apprenticeship as an Electrician ?
    I've been in Construction most of my working life so I know the conditions etc that can come with it.

I'm trying to plan ahead for the last 20 working years or so I may have left in me and can't see me at my current job for my older years as they come.

Do any of ye know someone who has done this or would I be laughed out if the training centre if I enquired :)

I've seen plenty of lads in their 30's starting apprenticeships not 40's but wouldnt let that stop you

There are plenty of lads in the 30-40's working as GO's with the bigger contractors and to be honest I cant understand why they dont take a step back and start an apprenticeship - 2nd / 3rd yrs will earn more than GO's

one word of warning re electrical apprenticeships is maths
    Most of the bigger firms have leaving cert math at least a D as min requirement due to high failure rate of those that didnt have it in the last few years

If you are looking for an apprenticeship get
    - safepass
    - manual handling
    - Solas eye sight (from any opticians)
    - leaving cert maths if you have it - chance your arm if you havent

but going to any company with those boxes ticked will make it easier to accept you than reject

Lots of the bigger firms are looking for apprentices at the moment
    good luck!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

micks wrote: »
    one word of warning re electrical apprenticeships is maths
    Most of the bigger firms have leaving cert math at least a D as min requirement due to high failure rate of those that didnt have it in the last few years

True, as far as I can recall the company that I started my apprenticeship with insisted on this when I was taken on as an apprentice way back in 1990. However they made exceptions for older apprentices.

In my experience companies prefer older apprentices as they are generally less likely to quit and have better work ethic.
    - safepass
    - manual handling

Employers normally pay for this.

Good idea.
    Having to wear glasses is not an issue, colour blindness is.

From what I have seen, anyone with a pass in maths in the Inter cert or Junior cert that applies themselves will manage. If you are concerned get past papers and grinds. Personally speaking I wouldn't go sitting Leaving cert maths to get an electrical apprenticeship.
    but going to any company with those boxes ticked will make it easier to accept you than reject

True.
    Lots of the bigger firms are looking for apprentices at the moment
    good luck!

My advice would be to get an apprenticeship with a company that works exclusively in the industrial sector. From my experience this makes you far more employable, the work is more challenging, varies and on average the pay is far higher.
    Best of all would be an E & I apprenticeship.

Best of luck with whatever you decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

An apprentiship will be 4 years....you have to ask yourself where your physical condition will be in 10 years time when your in your fifties.

I'm 45 now...industrial plumber for nearly 28 years including 4 year apprentiship...I'm looking at where I'll be in 10 years cos even now the job is getting harder, body is sore after some days of heavy lifting.

If you have your heart set on it then go for it, try and get in with the established industrial companies like Mercury and H A o neils and such...

Or look at doing 4 years in college and getting a job that might not be as physically demanding in 10/15 years time.....same time as an apprentiship

What do ye think of a guy mid 40s toying with the idea of taking up an apprenticeship as an Electrician ?.............would I be laughed out if the training centre if I enquired :)

I worked on a site recently and there was a guy in his 40s who had recently enough qualified as an E&I tech.

I'd sooner go that route, doing cals and setting up controllers is handier than pulling cables. As you know electricians do a fair bit of pulling and dragging from time to time, the instrumentation guys less so.

I'd go for it if I was you and you can afford it. The qualification would open up other doors too, service/install engineer for various companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

I've come across a near a enough 40 year old , but his one plus he had going for him was his army pension, same fella strolled through the exams and became a good sparky. But remember that the first year rate is €6.55 per hour, could you survive on the first and second year rate (€9.55) or thereabouts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

2011 wrote: »
    True, as far as I can recall the company that I started my apprenticeship with insisted on this when I was taken on as an apprentice way back in 1990. However they made exceptions for older apprentices.

In my experience companies prefer older apprentices as they are generally less likely to quit and have better work ethic.

Employers normally pay for this.

Good idea.
    Having to wear glasses is not an issue, colour blindness is.

From what I have seen, anyone with a pass in maths in the Inter cert or Junior cert that applies themselves will manage. If you are concerned get past papers and grinds. Personally speaking I wouldn't go sitting Leaving cert maths to get an electrical apprenticeship.

True.

My advice would be to get an apprenticeship with a company that works exclusively in the industrial sector. From my experience this makes you far more employable, the work is more challenging, varies and on average the pay is far higher.
    Best of all would be an E & I apprenticeship.

Best of luck with whatever you decide.

- safepass
    - manual handling

You are correct an employer should and is obliged to pay for these however in the real world these companies have found their loop hole - they've made it a requirement for application/hiring

In my experience in helping someone get an apprenticeship recently they get you to the top of the list, because the vast majority dont have those boxes ticked

re maths you are right 10+ years ago pass inter/junior was fine but now leaving cert is required by some firms
    mercury for example require at a D in leaving cert maths
    Kirby for example require at least a C in leaving maths

if picking E&I which would be better than straight elect be careful on choice of company as a lot of them will leave apprentices calibrating and they dont get any installation or commissioning

Many are afraid of the E&I.... there's not much to it to warrant being afraid of it. Lots of specialist stuff is makers man or agent set up only.

Profibus if problematic will fall to automation engineer.... 2 pair... 4to20mA... loop checks etc a monkey could be trained on :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

micks wrote: »
    re maths you are right 10+ years ago pass inter/junior was fine but now leaving cert is required by some firms
    mercury for example require at a D in leaving cert maths

I acknowledged that in my previous post.
    Augeo wrote: »
    2 pair... 4to20mA... loop checks etc a monkey could be trained on :)

There is a tad more to it than that....
    Either way it opens a lot of doors (particularly in the pharmaceutical industry) and the pay tends to be better that the average electrician.

It would also suit an older tradespeople better as it is more thinking / understanding / paperwork and less physical than working as an electrician (in general).

The commissioning end of things is the most interesting part in my opinion, but this is normally reserved for the more experienced tradespeople. I was a few years out of my time and had gained a number of more advanced qualifications before I was able to get into this.

If you could afford it and feel you have the motivation it would be far better to complete a degree in electrical engineering IMHO.

2011 wrote: »
    .............acknowledged that in my previous post.

There is a tad more to it than that.....

Indeed, not enough of tad to cause any concern though.

As you said yourself you were years qualified before you were commissioning (which in itself isn't rocket science in Instrumentation land).......... plenty of handy, not hard work out there for E&I folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭hawkeyethenoo

i'm 28 and looking for an e&i apprenticeship, anyone recruiting at the moment?

I don't know to be honest.
    Try the "usual suspects", Kirby, Mercury etc...
    Google is your friend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

As the thread relates to "older" apprentices, can anyone confirm if phases of the E&I apprenticeship can be skipped if the person has comparable electrical 3rd level qualifications or work experience?

Also, can the employer pay the apprentice whatever they deem suitable in phases 1,3 and 5? The Solas website only lists apprentice rates for phases 2,4 and 6.

Thanks and apologies for thread hijack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

secman wrote:
    I've come across a near a enough 40 year old , but his one plus he had going for him was his army pension, same fella strolled through the exams and became a good sparky. But remember that the first year rate is €6.55 per hour, could you survive on the first and second year rate (€9.55) or thereabouts ?

I had the exact same thing. Lad in his forties started after leaving the army post 20 odd years of service back when I was working for a small company by the name of Harry Shields. He was the best first year I ever worked with. A work ethic matched by none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

May I ask what does E&I stand for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

Thespoofer wrote:

Electrical and instrumentation. It's way better than doing a solely electrician or solely instrumentation apprenticeship.

Electrical and Instrumentation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 ianc4000

Great idea.
    I worked in oz and a lot of olders guys there doing apprentiships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

What are the rates for Phases 1,3,5,7?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

kkelly77 wrote: »
    What are the rates for Phases 1,3,5,7?

Rates go according to your years...eg.1st year, 2nd year..etc....

Type in MEBSCA rates of pay and you'll see what apprentices should get....

Those rates are for companies that are CIF members

No idea what non CIF companies are paying their apprentices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

Augeo wrote: »
    Many are afraid of the E&I.... there's not much to it to warrant being afraid of it. Lots of specialist stuff is makers man or agent set up only.

Profibus if problematic will fall to automation engineer.... 2 pair... 4to20mA... loop checks etc a monkey could be trained on :)

Obviously it suits some people and doesnt other people but I did not find it as handy. I left the e/i trade after phase 4 as I couldnt get through my instrumentation exams and know plenty of others in the same position!

OP: Eir are currently recruiting for their telecoms apprenticeship, might be of some interest to you, its a 2 year program. https://www.eir.ie/earlytalent/apprentices/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

gifted wrote: »
    An apprentiship will be 4 years....you have to ask yourself where your physical condition will be in 10 years time when your in your fifties.

I'm 45 now...industrial plumber for nearly 28 years including 4 year apprentiship...I'm looking at where I'll be in 10 years cos even now the job is getting harder, body is sore after some days of heavy lifting.

If you have your heart set on it then go for it, try and get in with the established industrial companies like Mercury and H A o neils and such...

Or look at doing 4 years in college and getting a job that might not be as physically demanding in 10/15 years time.....same time as an apprentiship

There's alot to that post...

I'm 44 and hold an engineering degree, however through various back/neck injuries I can't do maintenance work any more.. Lucky I got selected for management training in a previous job and also hold a business degree which brought me into people management... I'd dearly like to be hands on but its just not for me.. OP should know himself, if your fit and in good physical shape then it shouldnt be a bother..