Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kirkland ball $1.25 out preforms Titleist pro v1 ball $5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

thejourney wrote: »
    All stats are in the link. Just goes to prove its all a rip off.

https://www.mygolfspy.com/kirkland-vs-titleist-pro-v1/

Have been trying to buy them for ages but they sell out within 10 mins of going up. They are making double the price on eBay.
    Only selling them in the US as well. Might be easier if they release them in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

I have some of these, i haven't used them in a round yet as im out with injury, but i have done some pitching and chipping with them and they feel excellent. Id say the issue is they're a small company and simply cant keep up since this article broke!
    Id predict Titleist will buy them out to make them go away tbh...
    If i was Titleist thats what id do anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

They are sold by Costco. Who have a policy with their premium brand stuff, find the best in the market and copy that.
    Costco are a huge company don't think there is any fear of Titleist buying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I have some of these, i haven't used them in a round yet as im out with injury, but i have done some pitching and chipping with them and they feel excellent. Id say the issue is they're a small company and simply cant keep up since this article broke!
    Id predict Titleist will buy them out to make them go away tbh...
    If i was Titleist thats what id do anyway....

I don't know the exact figures but I suspect Costco are a far bigger company than Titleist/Acushnet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,310 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

mike12 wrote: »
    They are sold by Costco. Who have a policy with their premium brand stuff, find the best in the market and copy that.
    Costco are a huge company don't think there is any fear of Titleist buying them.
    If they're copying Titleist balls, they'll be in for a rough ride through the courts. Titleist have already taken a number of copiers to the cleaners in the last year or so.

They are not copying anyone - they are made by a 3rd party in Korea and branded by costco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Ronney

Click on the link, Internally nothing like the Pro V1 so cant see any case here.

More distance and less spin off the driver is interesting but would like to know how it preforms/feels on short shots round the green.

They are not copying anyone - they are made by a 3rd party in Korea and branded by costco
    Ronney wrote: »
    Click on the link, Internally nothing like the Pro V1 so cant see any case here.

More distance and less spin off the driver is interesting but would like to know how it preforms/feels on short shots round the green.
    I did say IF ;)

In response to a post saying that CostCo copied stuff. Clearly that ball isn't as it's a four piece. However, the dimple pattern is what got other manufacturers in trouble in the past.

This may be the actual ball that CostCo is selling.

Nassau Golf Co. Ltd. in South Korea. Just on the copying thing, there have been copies of Titleist balls out of South Korea and China in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

mike12 wrote: »

So Titleist just buy the third party in Korea :D

That ball has been around a while now, I remember seeing an article about it before. It looks awful though. Kinda reminds me of an old 80's ball like the Penfolds or Spaldings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

Seve OB wrote: »
    So Titleist just buy the third party in Korea :D

That ball has been around a while now, I remember seeing an article about it before. It looks awful though. Kinda reminds me of an old 80's ball like the Penfolds or Spaldings
    Yes they look cheap, and no one wants to be seen playing a cheap looking ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

Lol i doubt that somehow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭thejourney

No one whats to been be seen playing badly with an expensive ball. People always want something or someone to blame.

We all know that one who guy who upgrades his clubs every year and plays as new ball every few holes, yet still can't manage to win a competition :rolleyes:

No one whats to been be seen playing badly with an expensive ball. People always want something or someone to blame.

We all know that one who guy who upgrades his clubs every year and plays as new ball every few holes, yet still can't manage to win a competition :rolleyes:

Yes because new/expensive gear should be reserved for good golfers, or fools eh HH?;)

Lol i doubt that somehow...

Oh by chrisst, there are doubters everywhere, but 'tis a fact I tell ou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

I think the look of golf equipment is a huge factor in selling well or not and I can't see golf balls being any different.

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    I think the look of golf equipment is a huge factor in selling well or not and I can't see golf balls being any different.

absolutely

I know fellas who play with Donnay or Lidl balls and my jaysus do they get some stick. Gas thing is, these lads are crap. On a good great day, one of them might get around in 36 points off 21, and as for the other fella, give him a handicap of 36, a dress and point him to the ladies tees and tell him he can play 36 holes to try and pull a half decent score together.

So they are right to play crap balls. But the thing is, I know other lads who pick up branded balls just as cheap sometimes, be they on offer or lake balls or whatever. But they don't get slagged :D Who is to say these branded cheap balls are any good when compared against the discount junk? Probably no different, but you won't get the slagging ;)

In all fairness though, I think this Kirkland looks desperate, but it might just become the Skoda of golf balls and build itself a reputation. One think being cheap and crap, but cheap and reliable, that's a different story.

absolutely

I know fellas who play with Donnay or Lidl balls and my jaysus do they get some stick. Gas thing is, these lads are crap. On a good great day, one of them might get around in 36 points off 21, and as for the other fella, give him a handicap of 36, a dress and point him to the ladies tees and tell him he can play 36 holes to try and pull a half decent score together.

So they are right to play crap balls. But the thing is, I know other lads who pick up branded balls just as cheap sometimes, be they on offer or lake balls or whatever. But they don't get slagged :D Who is to say these branded cheap balls are any good when compared against the discount junk? Probably no different, but you won't get the slagging ;)

In all fairness though, I think this Kirkland looks desperate, but it might just become the Skoda of golf balls and build itself a reputation. One think being cheap and crap, but cheap and reliable, that's a different story.

Agreed one must conform and give into peer pressure. Prov 1x FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭blue note

One point which no-one has made actually is that they were tested with golfers whose handicaps ranged between 0 and 15. I remember reading that the Pro-V1 is not the optimum ball for the vast majority of amateurs. If I remember correctly, ignoring price they were recommending the NXT as a better titelist ball for the vast majority of amateurs, including low single digit ones. Basically they were say that with amateur swings, they're not fast enough or consistent enough to get the benefit out of the ProV1. They don't get the compression on drives to reduce spin (so it increases spin off the driver instead) and the spin on irons isn't properly controlled anyway so they're usually better off with less of that too.

My memory of the article is a bit hazy unfortunately - it was probably from a golf digest a few years back when I used to read it. But I'd wonder how the ProV1 would compare to something like an NXT. And how the two compared would far with a pro doing the testing.

absolutely

I know fellas who play with Donnay or Lidl balls and my jaysus do they get some stick. Gas thing is, these lads are crap. On a good great day, one of them might get around in 36 points off 21
    , and as for the other fella, give him a handicap of 36, a dress and point him to the ladies tees and tell him he can play 36 holes to try and pull a half decent score together.

Wow

Just got my HC of 21 and said i'd like to hit the buffer AND I drive a Skoda :(

To be honest it's a golf ball - I couldn't care less what it looks like as long as it performs well and stops quickly on approach shots in the summer. The forums on GolfWRX are raving about these so I would definitely give them a go if they become available here(which I doubt they will :().

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

€30 compared to $15 per dozen.

They mentioned that was the ball things are always more expensive here, hardly my fault.

No, they're more expensive here as they're being sold by the original company - did you read the story?

I flicked through it and got side tracked tbh. But hey... there still cheaper than a feckin prov1and out preformed them, so who cares if there a little more expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

who cares if there a little more expensive.

The general public.

It was a 'cheap well-performing alternative' but @213.21% the price of the kirk, it's only just a 'well-performing alternative' now.

RoadRunner wrote: »
    The general public.

It was a 'cheap well-performing alternative' but @213.21% the price of the kirk, it's only just a 'well-performing alternative' now.
    It's roughly 60% of the price of the ProV1. Which is what it was compared with. Very favourably.

The Wilson Red Pro is the best ball on the market.

Also I was using new topflites from the 1990. I bought a box in second in spain last week Flew them over 270 with driver no problem

The Wilson Red Pro is the best ball on the market.

Also I was using new topflites from the 1990. I bought a box in second in spain last week Flew them over 270 with driver no problem
    Um what :confused:

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    Um what :confused:

You ok mate?

Wilson Deep Red Golf Balls

You ok mate?

Wilson Deep Red Golf Balls

Have you just come out of a coma??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Is that you bagger Vance ??

Name change. Doc Brown or Marty McFly

Have you just come out of a coma??

No mate was in spain so have not been on here for a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭neckedit

No mate was in spain so have not been on here for a month.

I've missed you.....

neckedit wrote: »
    I've missed you.....

Thanks mate. dont like cold weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Halfprice

Mate of mine uses wilson ball and loves them and swears by them. Soft but not to much spin compared to the pro v. He hits his driver about 315yards. Animal hitter of the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Halfprice wrote: »
    He hits his driver about 315yards.

Anyone who hits the ball that far must surely have been to a Trackman. Care to put up a linky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

I'm surely not the only one, but I have never in my life purchased a box of new balls. In 30 years of playing, my supply has always come from (in order of supply):
    - found balls
    - used balls on sale in the pro shop/driving range
    - balls nicked from my Dads collection (he has bags & bags of them in his garage)
    - balls won as prizes (usually consolation prizes that they give out at the end of the prize-giving).

Anyone else the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Halfprice

Ill see if he has his stats somewhere saved but i got fitted for a driver not long ago in American golf and i was saying it to the fitters about my mate as he came with me and they were kinda same until he got up an was hitting it 315y with swing speed min 120mph. U have to see him to believe it.

Halfprice wrote: »
    Ill see if he has his stats somewhere saved but i got fitted for a driver not long ago in American golf and i was saying it to the fitters about my mate as he came with me and they were kinda same until he got up an was hitting it 315y with swing speed min 120mph. U have to see him to believe it.

I agree. PADGRAIG WON 3 MAJORS with them