Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Job Asking To Move To Another Country

• 05-01-2017 5:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭

Hi All,

Just out of College at 31 and found myself a fill-time permanent job in a good company and only 6 weeks into the job and probation and today they asked me would I be willing to move to Canada for 6 months? ;)

Now I knew at some stage I would be going for maybe a month this year but 6 months, I am really open to the idea,

Now when some staff go over they get:
    • private apartment
    • car
    • phone
    • daily food allowance

My question is if I got all the above should should I be considering anything else?

I am thinking I can get the partner to move in over the summer *She's a teacher* Thats how I plan on selling it to her anyway :D

Have any of ye ever done something like this?

My contract doesn't have anything saying I have to do this, and I was told I would still be a *Company Name Here *irish employee.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Health care/cover
    Flight allowances
    When to start packing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

Graham wrote: »
    Health care/cover
    Flight allowances
    When to start packing

I'd second this. Once it doesn't cost you anything which no doubt it won't, I'd take the hand off work if they offered me this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭DaraDali

Health care/cover
    Flight allowances
    When to start packing

I already get paid travel from my door step to when I arrive at my hotel, Health cover kicks in for me in Ireland at my 6month date, but of course Ill ask for full cover while over there.

Remember I have to sell it to herself first ;) I left before without her so hopefully the promise of 3 months over the summer with me, should be ok. Should I ask work could I move her into my private apartment. I think I would make that part of me going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,833 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

When to start packing

Having been through this process in the past. There is probably a person sitting at a desk in Canada whose job it is to process all the necessary paperwork to make this move happen. You are at the mercy of that person. It's your life but it's just their 9-5. We waited weeks to get the ok and were then given 24 hours notice that the packers would be coming.

Good luck OP, enjoy the experience!

foxatron wrote: »
    I'd second this. Once it doesn't cost you anything which no doubt it won't, I'd take the hand off work if they offered me this.

Again just finished college and back at mammy's whlie saving for my mortgage so no rent. Would sell the car which i just taxed for the yr but thats about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

What do you mean "some" staff get? Dont all?

Health care should be covered as they have a different system in Canada.
    Flights also but I could see some companies not offering that.

What bank account will you be paid into and what rate?

Also when to start packing :D

Having been through this process in the past. There is probably a person sitting at a desk in Canada whose job it is to process all the necessary paperwork to make this move happen. You are at the mercy of that person. It's your life but it's just their 9-5. We waited weeks to get the ok and were then given 24 hours notice that the packers would be coming.

Good luck OP, enjoy the experience!

A guy came today and got stuck in South America for 3 weeks :eek: saying that it was full paid 24 hrs a day 7 days a week, I don't feel too bad for him.

Ill let ye know how the talk with the Gf goes... #HopeShe'sUpForIt

dreamers75 wrote: »

Flights are fully covered

I would be paid my Irish Rate into my Irish Bank account and pay Irish tax,

Also full Irish Holidays as I know they get alot less in terms of Money/Holidays/Healthcare etc

DaraDali wrote: »
    Flights are fully covered

I was more thinking of flights during the 6 months for you to visit home or flights for your partner to visit you.

That would be amazing :rolleyes: Thanks for that, thats why I opened this thread, I have the extra thing I can ask for :D I think ill ask for a flight home at the 3month mark.

I wouldnt be cheeky enough to ask for a flight for my partner YET!!! until they make me permanent :cool:

dreamers75 wrote: »

Well if staff go over together they get a shared apartment, separate room but a shared car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Great opportunity imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Hes going over for 6 months. Why would they be paying for flights home during the 6 months?

Its not like he will be in the UK...... He will be the other side of the world.

Except Emergencies of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Sorry for hijacking the thread.

Does anyone know of any software companies, with offices in Dublin, and Chicago.

I would love to work in Chicago, in a couple of years.

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Hes going over for 6 months. Why would they be paying for flights home during the 6 months?

Its not like he will be in the UK...... He will be the other side of the world.

Except Emergencies of course

It wouldn't be unheard of for a certain number of flight home per year to be provided for such postings. If the company are trying to incentivise the position, why wouldn't the OP ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

It wouldn't be unheard of for a certain number of flight home per year to be provided for such postings. If the company are trying to incentivise the position, why wouldn't the OP ask?

For an experienced mid-career person, yes.

For a new grad fresh out of college, maybe not so much.

OP the perk you're asking for is to have herself stay with you for free for 3 months. In your shoes, I'd stop at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

Graham wrote:

That would be standard enough. Flights home or partner and kids flown out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Have any of ye ever done something like this?

Yep.
    Although I had around 15 years experience in the company.
    We bought an American company and I was to train them up with our systems and vice versa for 3 months.
    Got a car, apartment and $50 per diem (no need to keep receipts) expenses a day on top of my Irish wages.
    It was a great experience.

They must have something in mind for you, some long running project or client delivery ? Might be worth checking, in case that project is in trouble/behind schedule, or people quitting who were on that project.
    It could certainly help establish you in the company.

Also, not sure if you are out of the country for more than 6 months if you are considered a non-resident and don't have to pay Irish tax ?

But you might be able to put the car in storage somewhere.
    I left mine for 3 months... battery died and it ran rough for a day or two when I got back, but okay after that. Or if you can get someone to take it for a spin every week that would keep it going.

Go for it, while you're not tied down with wife, kids, mortgage etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

DaraDali wrote:
    I would be paid my Irish Rate into my Irish Bank account and pay Irish tax,

You should check with the revenue site about being seconded abroad as there may be a tax advantage.

Yep.
    Although I had around 15 years experience in the company.
    We bought an American company and I was to train them up with our systems and vice versa for 3 months.
    Got a car, apartment and $50 per diem (no need to keep receipts) expenses a day on top of my Irish wages.
    It was a great experience.

They must have something in mind for you, some long running project or client delivery ? Might be worth checking, in case that project is in trouble/behind schedule, or people quitting who were on that project.
    It could certainly help establish you in the company.

Also, not sure if you are out of the country for more than 6 months if you are considered a non-resident and don't have to pay Irish tax ?

But you might be able to put the car in storage somewhere.
    I left mine for 3 months... battery died and it ran rough for a day or two when I got back, but okay after that. Or if you can get someone to take it for a spin every week that would keep it going.

Go for it, while you're not tied down with wife, kids, mortgage etc.

Thanks for the great reply ;) Talked with the partner last night and within 10 secs of telling her, she said "You should def go"

As Per the hrs of work, in the company I would be out the door @ 3.59 everyday, for some reason in this company at 4.00pm on any day of the week people are just gone, I would love this myself.

Lived in france On & off for about 2 years and the mother was always great to keep my car ticking over, Audi A3 boy racer car - One day "Queen - Don't stop me now " came on the radio while she was taking the car out for a spin and she turned up the music and speed, Sure didn't a garda flag her down and got a awful shock to see my 60yr old mother driving a kitted out A3 :p

Think ill sell the car tbh, Ill just get a different one when I get back,

Reason for sending me out is, takes 1 yr to train someone into my job and its just so busy for Q1 and Q2 that even me with 2 months of training here in Ireland, I can start alot faster in Canada.

You should check with the revenue site about being seconded abroad as there may be a tax advantage.

Thanks for that, will def check it out, Wouldnt have though about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I'd be on the plane tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Any tax benefits will go to the company not to you.
    You will be treated tax wise as a stay at home rate. You will see no difference in your tax paid. It will be like you simply worked in Ireland.

6 months non resident in one calendar year would not gain any tax advantages anyway.

For an experienced mid-career person, yes.

For a new grad fresh out of college, maybe not so much.

OP the perk you're asking for is to have herself stay with you for free for 3 months. In your shoes, I'd stop at that.

I agree:cool:

My brother wanted me to renegotiate my whole contract and ask for 5k more, as its not in my contract even in the slightest!

My reply was " If my probation was up, I would- its NOT so I won't!

Pkiernan wrote: »
    You will be treated tax wise as a stay at home rate. You will see no difference in your tax paid. It will be like you simply worked in Ireland.

6 months non resident in one calendar year would not gain any tax advantages anyway.

Thanks for the info, Now that I'm working full time I hate the amount of tax I pay! So any tax gains would be have been welcomed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Sorry for hijacking the thread.

Does anyone know of any software companies, with offices in Dublin, and Chicago.

I would love to work in Chicago, in a couple of years.

Not exactly Software, but Northern Trust have offices in Dub/Limerick/London/Chicago. All easy to move around to one or the other. Might be suitable roles in software if you look.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I agree:cool:

My brother wanted me to renegotiate my whole contract and ask for 5k more, as its not in my contract even in the slightest!

My reply was " If my probation was up, I would- its NOT so I won't!

Absolutely, it's a fantastic opportunity you're getting and I wouldn't push it for any more perks. I've a son living in Toronto and he loves it. However, cost of living is VERY high so take that into account also and check out cheap places to shop near where you're going to be living because it's not as handy as here where we've an Aldi/Lidl in almost every town.

pilly wrote: »
    Absolutely, it's a fantastic opportunity you're getting and I wouldn't push it for any more perks. I've a son living in Toronto and he loves it. However, cost of living is VERY high so take that into account also and check out cheap places to shop near where you're going to be living because it's not as handy as here where we've an Aldi/Lidl in almost every town.

Thanks for everyone for their taking the time to reply :D

I told my Team leader and she said it would be in Q2 of this year that I would going, I will update on the perks and terms when I have that discussion.

As for the job. still training and getting my first project this week and hopefully Ill keep getting better here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Thanks for everyone for their taking the time to reply :D

I told my Team leader and she said it would be in Q2 of this year that I would going, I will update on the perks and terms when I have that discussion.

As for the job. still training and getting my first project this week and hopefully Ill keep getting better here.

That's great, means you'll be over there for summer. They have fantastic summers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

Thanks for the great reply ;) Talked with the partner last night and within 10 secs of telling her, she said "You should def go"

As Per the hrs of work, in the company I would be out the door @ 3.59 everyday, for some reason in this company at 4.00pm on any day of the week people are just gone, I would love this myself.

Lived in france On & off for about 2 years and the mother was always great to keep my car ticking over, Audi A3 boy racer car - One day "Queen - Don't stop me now " came on the radio while she was taking the car out for a spin and she turned up the music and speed, Sure didn't a garda flag her down and got a awful shock to see my 60yr old mother driving a kitted out A3 :p

Think ill sell the car tbh, Ill just get a different one when I get back,

Reason for sending me out is, takes 1 yr to train someone into my job and its just so busy for Q1 and Q2 that even me with 2 months of training here in Ireland, I can start alot faster in Canada.
    I wouldn't sell the car and cease your insurance in Ireland in case it is difficult to source reasonably priced cover when you get back.(Insurance companies frown upon gaps in cover nowadays)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

Pkiernan wrote: »

That's on the basis that you are tax equalised.

You should also insist on a rental car (these would be quite standard) along with a flight over and back during the time in Canada for you and your partner.

Hey All,

Thanks for all the comments, Can confirm heading for 3months to start, Now the big question how will I manage my money over there?

Just wondering about how to manage being paid in euro into Irish bank Account and using my debit/credit cards over in canada?

Would Revolut be the best option?

Hey All,

Thanks for all the comments, Can confirm heading for 3months to start, Now the big question how will I manage my money over there?

Just wondering about how to manage being paid in euro into Irish bank Account and using my debit/credit cards over in canada?

Would Revolut be the best option?

Revolut would be a good option to save on exchange rate spreads/fees. I'd make sure you have a backup bank card too just to be sure.

Congrats btw, should be a great experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭larrya

Would you mind me asking what sort of a job you have?
    Just being nosey

Revolut would be a good option to save on exchange rate spreads/fees. I'd make sure you have a backup bank card too just to be sure.

Congrats btw, should be a great experience.

Thanks was thinking that :)

Should I batch convert 1000euro to dollars or just let it do the conversion each time?

larrya wrote: »
    Would you mind me asking what sort of a job you have?
    Just being nosey

Work in Software config :)

Thanks was thinking that :)

Should I batch convert 1000euro to dollars or just let it do the conversion each time?

If I knew which way currency was going to fluctuate I'd have one of my staff reply to you from the deck of my yacht ;)

Assuming no major volatility in the exchange rates it shouldn't make a huge difference either way.