Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New machinery prices/comparision

• 02-01-2017 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭

One thing f&f is missing is a thread where you can go see prices of new machinery.
    I priced a new 1tonne vicon spinner(wag tail) few weeks back its coming in at €4100, anyone get a cheaper quote or a price for any other fertiliser spreader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Priced couple of tanks lately 2000 gal, 2 full points 30.1 Tyre's Conor €16k abbey €16250 11k litre pump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 teddy 1223

farmerjj wrote:
    One thing f&f is missing is a thread where you can go see prices of new machinery. I priced a new 1tonne vicon spinner(wag tail) few weeks back its coming in at €4100, anyone get a cheaper quote or a price for any other fertiliser spreader?

I bought a new 1 tonne Abbey wag tail spreader last year for €3300 and there's a cover on it. I priced the vicon too, big difference in the prices of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Bought a new prodig sheargrab 1.3 meter out of season last june €2500 at the same time got an 8 foot abbey maxifloat topper 3500. Got a decent deal getting the 2 together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

8 ft conditioner mounted mower last year 8750€

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

8 ft conditioner mounted mower last year 8750€

What make?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote:
    What make?

Rozmital, czech maker wouldn't be as popular but there there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 good work aint dear

farmerjj wrote: »
    One thing f&f is missing is a thread where you can go see prices of new machinery.
    I priced a new 1tonne vicon spinner(wag tail) few weeks back its coming in at €4100, anyone get a cheaper quote or a price for any other fertiliser spreader?
    why would you buy a wagtail of all thngs , there as good as useless and way over priced , price a basic bogballe m1 ,a far better spreader or just get it bulk spread €200 would get alot of spreading done. and more accuratly than you could do yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

why would you buy a wagtail of all thngs , there as good as useless and way over priced , price a basic bogballe m1 ,a far better spreader or just get it bulk spread €200 would get alot of spreading done. and more accuratly than you could do yourself.

I like the wagtail due to the fibre glass hopper and they can spreading grass seed plus the Bogballe is a grand more €5200. I know the plus,s of the disc spreader but prefer the fibreglass(abbey do a disc fibre glass spreader anyone know the price and are they reliable?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 hedgebury

yeah ive the 1 tonne abbey wagtail,have it about 6 years theyre troublefree enough gave around 2800 then.the frame will rust a bit alright

hedgebury wrote: »
    yeah ive the 1 tonne abbey wagtail,have it about 6 years theyre troublefree enough gave around 2800 then.the frame will rust a bit alright

Have a wagtail abbey here, I'd say ''tis nearing 20 years old, not a days bother yet fingers crossed, no intention of getting rid either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

simx wrote: »
    Priced couple of tanks lately 2000 gal, 2 full points 30.1 Tyre's Conor €16k abbey €16250 11k litre pump

lad in cork last year quoted me €14500 for galvanised major 2000G. 1k cheaper than I could find local.

Ps ; that was on 28.1 tyres not 30.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

lad in cork last year quoted me €14500 for galvanised major 2000G. 1k cheaper than I could find local.

Ps ; that was on 28.1 tyres not 30.1

Was quoted 1400 less for 28s over 30s same dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

1350 all in for trimble 250 gps.. cheapest i could find!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭trg

Anyone thinking of buying a skidsteer or bobcat? With a shear grab and a bucket you'd imagine they'd be handy yokes & elongate the life of the tractor

trg wrote:
    Anyone thinking of buying a skidsteer or bobcat? With a shear grab and a bucket you'd imagine they'd be handy yokes & elongate the life of the tractor

Small telehandler would be far superior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

32,000 inc vat for a 2600 gallon abbey with a trailing shoe on a set of 30.1 tyres and a 11,000 litre pump and all the extras such as work lights, mud flaps, extra fill points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

trg wrote: »

Can they be got on tracks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

davidk1394 wrote: »
    32,000 inc vat for a 2600 gallon abbey with a trailing shoe on a set of 30.1 tyres and a 11,000 litre pump and all the extras such as work lights, mud flaps, extra fill points.

Got a price of 35000 for 2k abbey same spec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭visatorro

Fook,

Yer man in the journal said there's no point buying a bigger slurry tank if you haven't time to spread it!! Good advice I thought.

If a good contractor about its better value.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

at the prices ye are quoting for machine here, the only things I will be looking to price in the future will be welding rods for fixing the machines I have. I always try to buy stuff new if possible with the idea of keeping it for life.

For the more everyday farmer, a hi-spec 1600 gallon painted tank with Russian tyres was €9600 last year new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 good work aint dear

thats the most intelligent thing i have seen written on this forum 1 or 2 thousand euro will get an enormous amount of slurry spread at a time when most livestock farmers days are too busy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Are they gone beyond the farmer at that price? It's a lot of money. Are contractors a more viable option when labour, time and diesel are factored in?

f140 wrote: »

For the more everyday farmer, a hi-spec 1600 gallon painted tank with Russian tyres was €9600 last year new.

Way too small if any decent amount of slurry. As said you have to value your time and labour as well as extra tractor usage.

Your tractor will already have revved it's guts out agigating. Add on price of agigator also. Not to mention the associated h&s risks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Depends muckit,a 1600 gallon tank is just right for a lot of places in Ireland,coming in with 2600 gallon tank might not be good for old concrete pipes,happens more than you would think.
    Plus if your looking to buy one it would mean you have a half decent tractor to pull it,no point paying contractor money to put out your slurry if you have a big enough tractor to do so do,if you look after the tanker for 10 or 15 years it will pay itself off,and you always have the choice of spreading where and when you can instead of waiting on the contractor coming whenever he's ready and putting it all out in one go.
    But different things suit different people.

IH784man wrote: »
    Depends muckit,a 1600 gallon tank is just right for a lot of places in Ireland,coming in with 2600 gallon tank might not be good for old concrete pipes,happens more than you would think.
    Plus if your looking to buy one it would mean you have a half decent tractor to pull it,no point paying contractor money to put out your slurry if you have a big enough tractor to do so do,if you look after the tanker for 10 or 15 years it will pay itself off,and you always have the choice of spreading where and when you can instead of waiting on the contractor coming whenever he's ready and putting it all out in one go.
    But different things suit different people.

You are right about more flexibility, but if it takes 15years to pay for itself then you are looking at changing and same again. So you are saving no money over a contractor and it's costing you your time and labour. Perhaps it's my age and family circumstances but l now put a big value on my time.

Ihave a small shed and it still takes my contractor the guts of a day to agigate and spread. Where would l be going with a 1600 tanker?

Land spreading by tanker is old technology now in my eyes. Umbilical is the way things are going and dribble bar. Tankers for road use. Then they need to be big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Muckit wrote: »
    You are right about more flexibility, but if it takes 15years to pay for itself then you are looking at changing and same again. So you are saving no money over a contractor and it's costing you your time and labour. Perhaps it's my age and family circumstances but l now put a big value on my time.

Ihave a small shed and it still takes my contractor the guts of a day to agigate and spread. Where would l be going with a 1600 tanker?

Land spreading by tanker is old technology now in my eyes. Umbilical is the way things are going and dribble bar. Tankers for road use. Then they need to be big.
    I use a contractor for most of mine, Muckit, but it's handy to have a tank for when the slurry is getting too high under the slats or to follow the cattle with a few loads.

Can hire a 2000 gallon tank from some dealers for 100€ a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We have a 2600 gallon tanker, its about 8 years old. Looking at the price above they have gone up alot in price, I pay a lad to spread, 10-12 euro/hour if we are busy oursleves. If ground is wet we get umbilical spreader in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    We have a 2600 gallon tanker, its about 8 years old. Looking at the price above they have gone up alot in price, I pay a lad to spread, 10-12 euro/hour if we are busy oursleves. If ground is wet we get umbilical spreader in.

Youll still get a new 2600 tank for circa 16k, its trailing shoes/dribble bars been added on thats driving up the quoted prices in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Youll still get a new 2600 tank for circa 16k, its trailing shoes/dribble bars been added on thats driving up the quoted prices in this thread
    we paid 9500 along with our old spreader

visatorro wrote: »
    Fook,

Yer man in the journal said there's no point buying a bigger slurry tank if you haven't time to spread it!! Good advice I thought.

If a good contractor about its better value.

The reason they are so expensive is due to the grant for them and for the GLAS payment for doing low emissions slurry spreading. The days of the splash plate are numbered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭trg

trg wrote:

Small telehandler would be far superior
    Why so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Not mine but I saw 1700 for a Belmac 1800l tank last year. Buyer was delighted. Tank was well minded.
    He said one season and it would be paid for.
    Different tanks suit different folks, depending on draw, tractor, land conditions, etc.

I'd never see the value in, 30k + for a tank. It's use is too limited. I'd be looking at a few other pieces of kit for the same money.
    Vicon , mower, gates, crush gate, bit of cement, few quid on lighting, Jeep service, maybe an ould bull too to top it off!

trg wrote:
    Why so?

Cab for starters. Won't wreck tyres. Waay more suited to farm work

Everyones situation really is different. For example putting a value of my time is no good. I have plenty time during the day to get the slurry spread even if it takes 3-4 days to do. I leave the agitator on one tractor so can give it another stir on the 2nd or 3rd day if needed.

Everyone here is gone during the day so I am here on my own. No point in me paying a contractor and me being idle myself. I maybe slow getting the job done but I get there at my own pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

f140 wrote: »
    Everyones situation really is different. For example putting a value of my time is no good. I have plenty time during the day to get the slurry spread even if it takes 3-4 days to do. I leave the agitator on one tractor so can give it another stir on the 2nd or 3rd day if needed.

Everyone here is gone during the day so I am here on my own. No point in me paying a contractor and me being idle myself. I maybe slow getting the job done but I get there at my own pace.

as it happens I must actually start the two tractors tomorrow. The agitator is on one and the tank on the other and they were never even taken off since the closing date or even started for that matter. All I would be using is the digger for putting in silage in the winter and an older 5000 for any small odd jobs so its handy to have the two fiats for the slurry and not have half the swapping and changing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

You really need to question some machinery spending. What is the difference in cost between a 2600 gallon tanker and a 1500 gallon tanker. But then you have to add in 30+ HP on a tractor and 10+ years on the age of the tractors. Another 10-15k. Add in the extra cost of the diesel for day to day work. 35k for a machine with 5 years interest @ 6% costs 2700/ year before time diesel or extra tractor costs. IMO you would need a10k slurry bill to start justifying it.

Slava Ukrainii

Muckit wrote: »
    Are they gone beyond the farmer at that price? It's a lot of money. Are contractors a more viable option when labour, time and diesel are factored in?

It's the grant on it that makes it a bit worth cnsidering, got a price of a 2k Conor with trail and shoe and same spec as abbey, big wheels/pump/extra fill points, 30k, did the sums on it and after getting grant back it would be costing circa 16k so it's back to same price if bought day one straight without trail and shoe no grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

In all fairness you can get a fair amount of slurry done with a 1600 tanker, I was at conor Eng there around September saw a massive tank being made triple axle type yer man I was talking to said twas madness buying it as if things went sour it wouldn't make 10k second hand as very few ppl could justify buying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

davidk1394 wrote: »

8 years slurry pumping with umbilical for us. That's mad money for any farmer to spend on a tanker then add a tractor and labour, doesn't add up.

lab man wrote: »
    In all fairness you can get a fair amount of slurry done with a 1600 tanker, I was at conor Eng there around September saw a massive tank being made triple axle type yer man I was talking to said twas madness buying it as if things went sour it wouldn't make 10k second hand as very few ppl could justify buying it

I'd agree about that I'd say a lot of changing tanks is to do with big wheels, that would be the main reason here anyway as well as bigger tank too, a brand new tank should last a lad 15-20 years I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

I'd agree about that I'd say a lot of changing tanks is to do with big wheels, that would be the main reason here anyway as well as bigger tank too, a brand new tank should last a lad 15-20 years I think

We got 21 years out of a second hand tank here. Washed out well after every use. Bought a new 1650 for €6350 four years ago. I can empty two four bay tanks on a weekend. Takes about €60 diesel. I will never be without a tank until the day the splash plate is banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Wat make is the new tanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

lab man wrote: »
    Wat make is the new tanker

Belmac.

Would anyone here know of someone selling a 2600+ gallon tank. Thinking of getting one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

You really need to question some machinery spending. What is the difference in cost between a 2600 gallon tanker and a 1500 gallon tanker. But then you have to add in 30+ HP on a tractor and 10+ years on the age of the tractors. Another 10-15k. Add in the extra cost of the diesel for day to day work. 35k for a machine with 5 years interest @ 6% costs 2700/ year before time diesel or extra tractor costs. IMO you would need a10k slurry bill to start justifying it.

I got a 2200 gallon rossmore last year on big wheels with sprung drawbar etc. Its easier pulled and easier on the tractor than the old 1600 gallon bought in 1995 (Russian tyres/ brakes shot, but still here and used when busy). Add in that I now have full lights/brakes etc its a safer rig all around. It does less damage to the ground as well and has the trailing shoe brackets not that I ever intend to fit one!