Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ethhnic slurs.

• 01-01-2017 5:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

The English: Brits, Poms, limey bastards

The Welsh: Leeks, Taffs.

Scots: Jocks, tight cnuts with a thistle up their arse.

Irish: Paddy's, Micks, knackers, pikies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

All white people so that's ok.

Mods approve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

Atari Jaguars; has answer to everything

It's hard having these expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Atari Jaguars; has answer to everything

It's hard having these expectations.

Would Mr Atari Jaguar, use an ethnic slur against non whites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

South Africans apparently use 'prune' as a slur for a bad pieces of white boy Afrikaner sh1t

Aussies refer to knackers as bogans. I learned that expression first hand.

I spent time living with Aussies. They're real weird, kinda of backward and racist in my experience. (5 months in Perth in 2010)

Another racist country I spent time in was Jamaica. I was referred to as a 'bloodclot' one night..

Both racial and homophobic themes in that phrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Does bloodclot refer to white people? I don't get it. Google says it could be referring to women.

I don't use sluts but I don't get offended by them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It's "blood claht" and it's a vernacular pronunciation of "blood cloth" meaning a sanitary towel. Variations include "bombaclaht" or "pussyclaht". It's a catch all swear word that's used both as an insult but also an expression of disgust or frustration.

It isn't a racist term at all.

(Although he may have taken a dislike toward you because you're white, a lot of Jamaicans would be that way inclined)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

FTA69 wrote: »
    It's "blood claht" and it's a vernacular pronunciation of "blood cloth" meaning a sanitary towel. Variations include "bombaclaht" or "pussyclaht". It's a catch all swear word that's used both as an insult but also an expression of disgust or frustration.

(Although he may have taken a dislike toward you because you're white, a lot of Jamaicans would be that way inclined)

How do you know he/she is white? Are you racial profiling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Are Irish ever called knackers or pikies?
    Also I know what a knacker is but can someone explain pikies please?

How do you know he/she is white? Are you racial profiling?

Because if he was black then why would black Jamaicans be singling him out for racist slurs?

Elementary.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Are Irish ever called knackers or pikies?
    Also I know what a knacker is but can someone explain pikies please?

It's an English term for Travellers that eejits in Ireland started using one year solely as a result of the film Snatch. Also some English people do use it to refer to Irish people in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

FTA69 wrote:
    It's an English term for Travellers that eejits in Ireland started using one year solely as a result of the film Snatch. Also some English people do use it to refer to Irish people in general.

Thanks for that. I thought I heard the term pikies longer than the movie snatch but I must be mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,727 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Sleeper12 wrote:
    Are Irish ever called knackers or pikies? Also I know what a knacker is but can someone explain pikies please?

Yep. A lot of English people see travellers as being as Irish as anyone else. If they watch a lot of gypsy weddings they're inclined to think that's Irish culture.

I didn't get why a few of the lads they were making scrap metal jokes about me at rugby training in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Thanks for that. I thought I heard the term pikies longer than the movie snatch but I must be mistaken.

You're not mistaken. It's been used for as long as I can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Think I remember Rassclaht as well but I think that's jacks roll. :) (Grew in an area with a fair few Carribean immigrants).

You're right though, they're just general exclamations/abuse terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Never heard the phrase when I was growing up. It's always gypos or gypsies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Comanches and shams to describe travellers.

The Comanches were a noble and ancient people who roamed the Plains of America while being deeply in touch with nature. Rather like travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭COH

You white, you Ben Affleck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

When I lived in South Africa, the Aftikaners would call us English-speakers "rooinek". It literally means "redneck", but doesn't have the same associations as in the USA: it just meant someone with pale skin who gets sunburned easily. Sometimes I got "soutpiel", literally "saltdick", meaning someone with one foot in Africa and the other in Europe, so that my junk was dangling in the Atlantic Ocean.

That was OK, though, since we called Afrikaners "rocks", as in "dumb as a sack of", or "rockspiders". Every holiday season, Afrikaners would pack the roads from the Transvaal, which is up on the Highveld more than a mile above sea level, down to the Natal coast; an event we called the "rockslide", ;)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Teem has been around for many many years before that film

Jigaboo is one that caught me off guard when I first heard an American using it

Teem has been around for many many years before that film

It has been in England but I never heard anyone in Ireland using it before Snatch came out,

Still doesn't change the fact it's been used here for many years previous, whether you heard it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Hoon is an ozzie scumbag or boy racer type.
    heard Bogtrotter and potato eater used in America for Irish.
    Hun and Tim are popular in certain parts of Scotland (and would be a good name for a sectarian odd couple based sitcom)
    Heard raghead, towelhead, camel jockey, sand ****** used in America for Muslims (much more after 9 11).
    In America, kike, Christ killer, heeb for Jews.
    Frog for French (much more around the Iraq war)
    Wop, greaser for Italians.
    Heard ******, nighfighter, **** skins used in London for blacks.
    Kraut for Germans.

Buffer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Yep. A lot of English people see travellers as being as Irish as anyone else. If they watch a lot of gypsy weddings they're inclined to think that's Irish culture.

Exactly the same with Romanians and Roma gypsies. They are not the same. I spent some time in Romania, they absolutely hate the Roma over there, way more than we dislike travellers.

I'd like to add "culchie" to the list. Recently, it seems to have become a slur.

Exactly the same with Romanians and Roma gypsies. They are not the same. I spent some time in Romania, they absolutely hate the Roma over there, way more than we dislike travellers.

Exactly like that. In the last decade how many times have we heard someone explain that Roma and Romanians are different. That news always surprises someone in he group.

It's similar with the English. Some are completely surprised that most of us don't live in caravans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

'Square heads' for Polish, think it was a south Kilkenny thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

Exactly like that. In the last decade how many times have we heard someone explain that Roma and Romanians are different. That news always surprises someone in he group.

It's similar with the English. Some are completely surprised that most of us don't live in caravans.
    Really? It would have to be a very small number of people that would apply that logic to a nation of millions. If so, I'd question their mental abilities!
    My relatives in Ireland had/have a similar suspicion of people in caravans as they do here - the people termed itinerants in Ireland - an oddly impressive title for people they are so wary of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Hoon is an ozzie scumbag or boy racer type.
    heard Bogtrotter and potato eater used in America for Irish.
    Hun and Tim are popular in certain parts of Scotland (and would be a good name for a sectarian odd couple based sitcom)
    Heard raghead, towelhead, camel jockey, sand ****** used in America for Muslims (much more after 9 11).
    In America, kike, Christ killer, heeb for Jews.
    Frog for French (much more around the Iraq war)
    Wop, greaser for Italians.
    Heard ******, nighfighter, **** skins used in London for blacks.
    Kraut for Germans.

How come we can type out all these offensive slurs but then nigger should be starred out. Surely each of these is offensive to the target group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Because if he was black then why would black Jamaicans be singling him out for racist slurs?

Elementary.

I aint even that pale skinned. Have the auld west of Ireland 'Armada' gene.

When you put me out in a hot country I brown up like a berry.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A strawberry or a raspberry?

indioblack wrote:
    Really? It would have to be a very small number of people that would apply that logic to a nation of millions. If so, I'd question their mental abilities!

Yeah it probably is a minority. Depending on how educated and cultured they are, some people don't have a clue about what is and isn't in the UK, do not knowing the difference between Irish/ Irish travellers, isn't that surprising.

Some people asked things like do all people live in caravans or only most people, and the strangest was what do we use instead of Microsoft Word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

The term pikie has been around for a long long time. It is used to refer specifically to native british 'travellers'- their own version of our travellers.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

The English: Brits, Poms, limey bastards

The Welsh: Leeks, Taffs.

Scots: Jocks, tight cnuts with a thistle up their arse.

Yeah, no, we're not doing this.
    All white people so that's ok.

Mods approve.

Did you report it? Then stop complaining. It's New Year's Day and we're not telepathic.