Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PhD in Psychology - A Good Option at Present?

Options
  • 31-12-2016 2:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 19

Hi all,

I am a fourth year student coming to the end of my undergraduate and I'm now at the daunting stage where I have to make concrete decisions about what I'll do after I graduate. I'm torn about going straight into a PhD at my university and I've had discussions with some of my lecturers about potential projects. Four years is a huge commitment and I'm wary of the opportunity cost as well as the inevitable financial strain. The boat for the IRC funding has sailed (earlier than usual this year from what I've heard) and I'm strongly considering taking a year out to generate funds and improve my CV.

I have enjoyed my course (for the most part) and I believe that becoming a researcher/lecturer would be a good career choice for me. I would almost say it's inevitable that I will be teaching in some capacity down the line. However, the financial situation at home isn't great by any means and I am worried that the PhD could be a gamble if I will be facing a constant struggle to secure employment. I have also considered doing a one year masters in statistics/research methods and attempting to find employment afterwards as an alternative. I was hoping to get some views on what the employment situation is currently like in research and academic psychology.