Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deslexa what are people's issues with it?.

• 24-12-2016 7:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭

Been meaning to do a post about this.

Basically I have had deslexa sincd I was tested for it when I was 8 years old and years behind everyone else in the class in every kind of area. I did not know my ABC or how to tie my shoes. I could barely read and I still can't spell to this day something I wish I am able to do.

During my time in school due to my deslexa I was all ways put down and put into the slow groups and I will never forgot the meeting I had with the school guide con who told me I don't have the brain for college and have a look at doing a plc as that is all your able for. I remanber telling her to go f herself and walking out of room and telling myself if no one in this school is going to help me do well in my exams I stopped going only going in to hand in the projects that I done there was more then just her that put me down for years I was told by a English teacher I was stupid and failed me on all my work. Basically I tought myself my leaving cert. I ended up doing it on a tape recorder and ended up with 400 points in my leaving cert.

This brings me to a story where I had to take ty students for a few hours in my old job and show then what I do. I did for a hour then I set down and talked with them see the kind of persons they are and told them to be them selfs. Don't worry about exams just yet as your only in ty have some fun and enjoy themselves. Don't let people put you down and so on. The kids where talking about me for days and I was the only one who took them who got a card and a box of chocolate from as they said I was the must down to earth person they meet In the company.

I ended up doing 5 years of college to get my lv 7 degree in app development and my lv 8 degree in Bis. I have now worked my way up in the work force as well into a Sr role in less then a year and 1/2 out of college as I keep pushing myself to prove I am not stupid and I can do something with my life.

But here is how deslexa works as some people on here can't understand there is so many different forums of it and no two cases are the same as no two are the same. Like for me I don't know a A I O U E from each other as I can't sound out letters I words it's impossible for me and we I do I can't sound out missing letters at all as it sounds right in my head so that's what i type. The people here on boards say use a spell checker that is all well and good but I can't sound out the word and I don't know if the replacement is wrong or write as well?. I have a spelling age of a 6 year old child I can't help it. It won't get better it's impossible even do I still teach myself to spell sites like boards have helped me over the years to learn how to spell better and to type you name it.

I wish every day I don't have deslexa but at the end of the day it's a learning disability that I have that makes me me. With the crazy way I can remanber stuff and talk about it put sadly I can't write it down on paper.

I just won't people on here not to attack people who have a learning disability and just accept who the person is and it attack their weakness. Myself I get very angry when people attack me and insult me about it. It's very understandable why. It would be the same if you have had to live with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭skankkuvhima

Nobody has issues with it but you really should put it in your signature if you want to avoid a bit of slagging. People aren't monsters, they wont make an issue of it if they know beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Sorry what is deslexa?

Have I fallen for the trap.

I was trying to think of an After Hours style joke to start off with but I am too busy and tired :) It was to have a punch line like "What is our problem with it - well let me spell it out" but funnier. But I could not quite get there.

Actually I have the opposite reaction - a great respect for people with it. Mainly because all the people I know or know of with it have been deeply emotional or deeply intelligent. Usually with a great ability for art or lateral thinking and thinking outside the box. Whenever I need a unique perspective on any of lifes foibles and challenges - they are usually where I find it.

And one of the people I love most with it that I have never met is Henry Winkler (the fonz from happy days" who have written a lot about his suffering with it in the days before it was usually diagnosed. So people then thought he was dumb - a waster - or worse. The relief he describes feeling when his "problem" was finally given a name really comes across in his writing.

I would strongly recommend his book "I have never met an idiot on the river" to anyone - not just people who have Dyslexia - and he has written children's books partly aimed at other kids who have it. There is also a wonderful extra long interview with him on you tube from - I think - some Jewish TV Network that is worth a watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

When reading in the likes of online forums and things like that, I try to see what someone is actually saying and don't pay too much attention to spelling errors.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

I have no doubt that your life is tougher than that of someone without dyslexia. Something that most people take for granted, is something you struggle with on a daily basis. And I'm sure you have had your fair share of people putting you down because of it. But I would say, you shouldn't automatically assume everyone is having a go at you. Because they certainly won't be.

I replied to a thread of yours recently where you wanted to complain about a manager for calling your dyslexia a "medical issue", which you took to mean "mental". Which is not what was said. I made an observation, that you yourself had said about your work and you attacked me saying I said you were stupid and asking had I a problem with people with learning difficulties. Which is not what I said.

So, yes, some people might not understand and might give you a hard time. But you seem to think everyone does. They don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Funny I don't notice it much typing, but when writing under pressure I'd have much more tendency to jumble up letters or miss them completly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Fair play for posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i've no issue with it or people with it. how could anyone? no matter how many posts i read, it wouldn't cross my mind to be bothered by spellings. life's way too short for thatm imho. and someone correcting someone else is pretty low as far as i'm concerned.

op, you've achieved a lot while dealing with this learning disability. don't ever let anyone get to you about it.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Empty vessels make the most noise. Sounds like you're doing great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

As above. If we can't understand the posts and there is no explanation of dyslexia people will comment. Writing is about communication after all.

So now we know. Let's move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Fair play to you for posting that OP.

I was able to understand your post completely, so as far I'm concerned your writing and spelling skills are fine considering what you suffer from.

As for the grammar police of boards, my advice is to just feel sorry for them. If their life revolves around looking for spelling mistakes on an internet forum, they really need to take a hard look at their own life before putting anyone else down.

Well done on your achievements. Don't let ignorant fools on this website or elsewhere put you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

I'm guessing the problem some people have with it is that it is hard to determine whether it is actually dyslexia. It's a label that's applied too readily and parents rush to have their child labelled as dyslexic when it could be simply due to the fact they've never looked at a spelling book at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 lorflower086

My 16yr old sin us dyslexic struggling in 5th yr . I'm trying very hard to keep him in school and finish the leaving cert . Hopefully he does as well as you . You should be very proud of yourself and don't put yourself down .

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm guessing the problem some people have with it is that it is hard to determine whether it is actually dyslexia. It's a label that's applied too readily and parents rush to have their child labelled as dyslexic when it could be simply due to the fact they've never looked at a spelling book at home.

It needs to be diagnosed properly.

I work with a couple of people who have medical certs relating to it that they need to provide for exams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

OP - your post looks great.

I get how it is to be an adult with Dyslexia - i have Dyscalculia. Its kind of like Dyslexia with numbers/times/patterns/measurement and spatial reasoning.

I dont bother telling people most of the time though - i just dismiss it as being bad with numbers.

I take solace that people with Dyscalculia normally have a higher IQ than average! Dyslexia alsois thought to be more common in those with a higher IQ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

OP was comparing having their dyslexia being discussed at a work meeting to having their sexual preferences being discussed.

He/she doesn't want it to called a disability while at the same time wanting to be accomodated due to their disability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Similarish issues as op growing up, diagnosed late in life unfortunately. Struggled throughout life with it particularly within our educational system, was regularly labelled 'lazy' in school and in employment. Have more or less walked away from our educational system after almost 30 years of trying to succeed in it, and sadly my mind has a sometimes intense appetite for knowledge. Luckily met some amazingly experienced, knowledgeable and caring people within our educational system that advised me very well in how to deal with it, sadly though these people are few and far between. Thankfully our understanding is improving so to is our system but it has a long way to go, our educational system is still letting down a lot of people with these kind of issues and even further exasperating them.

Dyslexia has also caused other complex personal issues and exasperation of some issues. If you suspect your child is dyslexic, please get them tested asap, early intervention is best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

Death to deslexas, smite at the necks of the misspellers. Allan snackbar.. Allan snackbar..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭kaymin

I'd say 95% of the opening post is spelt correctly. So what is it about the remaining 5% that justifies the label dyslexia? My interpretation of the OP is that if someone can't intuitively spell correctly then they have dyslexia.

Taking some examples and giving my view of the error:

sincd
    keyboard error as "e" and "d" are very close by eachother

them selfs
    The correct spelling of themselves is something that is learnt off - it's not intuitive.

deslexa
    I find it incredible the OP isn't aware that deslexa is mis-spelt given he has suffered it throughout his life. It's not an easy word to spell and I needed to double-check my own spelling - that doesn't make me dyslexic though

I just won't people on here
    The difference between won't and want is drilled into many of us in primary school - again the distinction is not intuitive

and we I do I can't sound out missing letters
    I honestly believe those that suffer dyslexia can see the errors in this sentence

So, to my mind, dyslexia is down to poor education, carelessness / laziness and ultimately a failure to proof-read what they have written.

kaymin wrote: »
    I'd say 95% of the opening post is spelt correctly. So what is it about the remaining 5% that justifies the label dyslexia? My interpretation of the OP is that if someone can't intuitively spell correctly then they have dyslexia.

Taking some examples and giving my view of the error:

sincd
    keyboard error as "e" and "d" are very close by eachother

them selfs
    The correct spelling of themselves is something that is learnt off - it's not intuitive.

deslexa
    I find it incredible the OP isn't aware that deslexa is mis-spelt given he has suffered it throughout his life. It's not an easy word to spell and I needed to double-check my own spelling - that doesn't make me dyslexic though

I just won't people on here
    The difference between won't and want is drilled into many of us in primary school - again the distinction is not intuitive

and we I do I can't sound out missing letters
    I honestly believe those that suffer dyslexia can see the errors in this sentence

So, to my mind, dyslexia is down to poor education, carelessness / laziness and ultimately a failure to proof-read what they have written.

sadly many of our educators have a similar view to this regarding these issues, more research required! plenty of info on the interwebs. thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

I have dyslexia. A weird form of it too. At worst it's a mild inconvenience. Stop going on like its some horrible handicap that destroys your life. And use ****ing spell check.

ive seen it cause very complex and serious issues such as mental health issues etc. its doesnt just manifest as reading and writing issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    sadly many of our educators have a similar view to this regarding these issues, more research required! plenty of info on the interwebs. thank you

Having worked with a lot of SEN kids, many of who are dyslexic, there are lots of strageies and interventions that can be put in place in the classroom.

It also requires the students to be on board as well though. Some will have a habit of using it as an excuse to make less of an effort than their peers. Obviously the OP is not an example, but it does happen.

ive seen it cause very complex and serious issues such as mental health issues etc. its doesnt just manifest as reading and writing issues

Bull****. It does not cause mental health issues. If you end up with mental health issues it's because you have mental health issues. Not because you have dyslexia.

Again I've lived all my life with it. It's an inconvenience and it's frustrating. Some people go on like their life is destroyed by it. It's pure attention seeking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Parchment wrote: »
    OP - your post looks great.

I get how it is to be an adult with Dyslexia - i have Dyscalculia. Its kind of like Dyslexia with numbers/times/patterns/measurement and spatial reasoning.

I dont bother telling people most of the time tough - i just dismiss it as being bad with numbers.

I take solace that people with Dyscalculia normally have a higher IQ than average! Dyslexia alsois thought to be more common in those with a higher IQ!

Its very true that we are considered to having a higher IQ. AS i have been tested for it 3 times in my life over the years at different stages to have a up to date report on it. The last IQ test i got was something like 130 i was like how the hell ? haha. As i walk into poles like :P.

I have to tell people in work to explain about spelling mistakes and my deslexa as the last company i worked for refused to get me a software to help me with emailing clients after i asked for it. And i was asked by my manager how is my dyslexia today ?. IS it giving you any issues i wonted to slap him on the spot.
    Similarish issues as op growing up, diagnosed late in life unfortunately. Struggled throughout life with it particularly within our educational system, was regularly labelled 'lazy' in school and in employment. Have more or less walked away from our educational system after almost 30 years of trying to succeed in it, and sadly my mind has a sometimes intense appetite for knowledge. Luckily met some amazingly experienced, knowledgeable and caring people within our educational system that advised me very well in how to deal with it, sadly though these people are few and far between. Thankfully our understanding is improving so to is our system but it has a long way to go, our educational system is still letting down a lot of people with these kind of issues and even further exasperating them.

Dyslexia has also caused other complex personal issues and exasperation of some issues. If you suspect your child is dyslexic, please get them tested asap, early intervention is best.

Like as said teachers allways put me down over the years. But there was small fantastic teachers who did care. My English teacher for the leaving cert i give you a idea i done higher lv and got a B3. Did not know i had Deslexa as the school never told her on to the 1st time i handed up homework to here. And even do i wasn't going to classes in the end she still gave me all the notes that where needed as i was getting good marks.

But the worst for my leaveing was another i told to go F himself was my Biology teacher. I failed every test in it and was giving stuff that was right saying it was wrong. Countless times it got very upsetting to the day i told him to F himself as i am getting things right. Ended up getting wait for it. A A2 in Orandary LV as i was being honest i was not the best at it but once had a proper exam i done crazy good.

Same as my maths teacher i had for my leaving lovely lady she also would give me the notes that where needed when i wasn't going to class and she was my superviser for both my JR and lv cert as i had my own room as i was doing it on tape my exams. She would be telling me you done really well there after my exams and telling me you will get the results and she used to get me coffee and everything for during my exams. Fantastic lady.

I had fantastic teachers but the bad ones out number the good ones sadly :( as my primary school was the shocking years of my life when i did not know iu had dyslexia when and of the teachers told my mum and dad i was slow.

Like Kaymin i am bit upset that you said i am lazy when i have been pushing myself since i was a child to learn how to spell but i just cant learn the stuff its to do with our brain not been able learn parts of stuff any child pycoquist can tell you this.

Notting to do with me mixing up letters on keyboard i can see them mixed up in my brain. Cant learn spellings its imposable for me i keep trying and i still teach myself how to spell.

Like my mind cant learn off SAP EDI that kind of stuff as it confuses it what the meaning really is. I write down all this stuff just to have it in case i need it.

Sadly the wont and so on Delesexa people find this very hard to look at and work out what is right or wrong.

Like since the age of 8 i have been getting english grinds to the age go 16 to help me with it. And over the years after all the reports my spelling never got better. Just my reading and maths skills went crazy high.

Like i give you another ID i find it hard to read outload but i read to myself as find it hard to sound out the words

Like Kaymin i am bit upset that you said i am lazy when i have been pushing myself since i was a child to learn how to spell but i just cant learn the stuff its to do with our brain not been able learn parts of stuff any child pycoquist can tell you this.

I don't mean to upset you but I think the label is often used to justify a lack of effort. As an example, I pointed out that deslexa was the incorrect way to spell dyslexia but you continue to use the incorrect spelling - I don't think that this has anything to do with dyslexia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

This brings me to a story where I had to take ty students for a few hours in my old job and show then what I do.

What is it you do?

I suffered from dyslexia myself (finding it difficult to tell a "b" from a "d" for instance until I was about 11). My spelling, punctuation, and grammar were all behind for a long while. Misreading words (e.g. reading reign as region) was very frustrating, and likewise had the lace-tying problem.

I found reading a lot really helped, and writing too, to boot. Even just writing ver batim what it is you are reading helps massively. Read for enjoyment (as in, books you actively enjoy reading) as this won't make it a chore. Being able to pronounce words correctly is really important: without this you have to remember how to spell every word individually, instead of being able to "say it in your mind" and work out the spelling from that. Moreover, a lot of words may only have a subtle difference in the way they are said (manor and manner) but may have really different meanings. Spell-checkers aren't able to fix those sort of errors. Despite a very low start, I put a lot of wok in, and eventually became one of the best students at English in my school. Subsequently I got a 1.1 in English at university (I actually enjoyed it at that stage - I wasn't just proving a point :D).

I get the impression you work in software development? That's a great choice, as it has some of the most open ended employment options imaginable without any specific need for literary proficiency. Inspiring others to not be limited by what is expected of them, but instead have their horizon defined by their own motivation is a great thing to do.

I don't mean to upset you but I think the label is often used to justify a lack of effort. As an example, I pointed out that deslexa was the incorrect way to spell dyslexia but you continue to use the incorrect spelling - I don't think that this has anything to do with dyslexia.

Exactly. Anyone with dyslexia learns how to spell the word. Anyone typing on boards has spell checker telling them it's wrong. Purposely and consistently misspelling the word is like a blind person purposely walking into walls to get attention.

Mine is very mild something that is not often realised is that it affects other parts of you life as well, I couldn't tell the difference between left and right until I was an adult. I find reversing a car difficult because I find it difficult to make the connection between turning the steering wheel and what way the car will turn. I still get opssits mixed up I might think a fork was a knife or a knife a fork I have to look at them for a while and concentrate this doesn't happen all the time.

On the other hand it had made me more resourceful I have learned ton's of stuff off by heart in a curious way it has been good for me but I would still love to be able to spell :D

Well sadly i wold consider that another insult to my learning debility again.

As said i have tried for years to learn how to spell that word deleixa and i cant learn how to do. I have tried countless times

And with the spell checker i still cant work out if a word is right to wrong as i wont know what the right word is sadly as i cant spell it.

As people like Kaymin are the ones who have the issues with people who have Deslexa

As i do work in IT. In the software fixing end. I basically love what i am doing and have pushed myself to be the best i can be in my role. AS my deluxa. has never stopped me in my job. I have worked myself up form IT help desk. To a Lead off a team in 18 months. As push myself to learn everything i can as i love computers and computers where always my get away from homework as i would have been put town for failing it by the teachers.

AS look i might have learning disability i have never let it stop me in my life and at times i do fell like crap that i cant spell and it does affect my life on a daily bases.

This is why i wish people who put it down can have a option to have it for a day and see how it effects your life.

AS some of the words smarted people and founders of comnpnays ESP in IT have dyslexia. Look up who has it you be shocked.

As people like Kaymin are the ones who have the issues with people who have Deslexa

I don't have an issue with people that have dyslexia. You won't find deslexa in the dictionary so you clearly don't even try to use the spellchecker when you know you should and you know it would help you

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

And with the spell checker i still cant work out if a word is right to wrong as i wont know what the right word is sadly as i cant spell it.

On spellchecker on tablets/phones etc the word in the middle is usually the correct spelling, or the word the spell checker thinks you want to type.

When I type 'deslexa' I get 3 options

Deslexa Dyslexia Sexless

The word in the middle is the correct one.

I don't have an issue with people that have dyslexia. You won't find deslexa in the dictionary so you clearly don't even try to use the spellchecker when you know you should and you know it would help you

But what you don't seem to understand even if you look it up you might still transcript it wrong and not realise plus at times you are not sure what the correct word will look like so even spell checker will not help do you understand that? of course there are lazy people and lazy people with dyslexia, however dyslexia is not a form of ..can't be bothered its not laziness.

See i would still consider this a insult as i tried to explain my forum of deslexa as no two forums of it are the same as no two people are the same in this world. AS i told you i cant sound out words and i have been trying to teach myself for years to but it cant be thought sadly.

Like Kaymin i will do think you have a issue with people who have deselecxa as i would love for you to say this stuff to my face as you are hiding behind a keyboard saying this stuff and i will bet you wont to my face.

AS quite a few of my girlfriends friends kids have it and they do straagle in school with it and i do talk to them about it and tell them to can do anything in there life you just need to find the right thing and everything will be ok and tell them it has never stopped me from my life.

Its just people like who are the ones who insult people who have it as we have our learning disability i am proud of it. I have photograph mem off been able to code in SAP and being able to read EDI files. And being able to read computer code and pin point where the mistakes are as its something you have to push yourself to learn.

AS in my eyes even if you have a disability you can do anything you wont and the only person who stops you is yourself as anyone can rule the world if they wont to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Nobody is insulting you TrustedApple, you are just taking any opposition to your view very personally.

You are right, not everyone will be able to empathise with what you have to go through.

Suggesting how to use spell checker is not insulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Exactly. Anyone with dyslexia learns how to spell the word. Anyone typing on boards has spell checker telling them it's wrong. Purposely and consistently misspelling the word is like a blind person purposely walking into walls to get attention.

It's like a person with no legs refusing to use a wheelchair and then looking for sympathy because they have to drag themselves along the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭alan1963

See i would still consider this a insult as i tried to explain my forum of deslexa as no two forums of it are the same as no two people are the same in this world. AS i told you i cant sound out words and i have been trying to teach myself for years to but it cant be thought sadly.

Like Kaymin i will do think you have a issue with people who have deselecxa as i would love for you to say this stuff to my face as you are hiding behind a keyboard saying this stuff and i will bet you wont to my face.

In the post I quote above you have spelled the word dyslexia wrongly in two different ways, even though it is correctly spelled in the post that you yourself quoted, when you type words incorrectly on the computer a red wiggly line appears under the word to tell you its incorrectly spelled.
    I put it to you sir that you are spelling word incorrectly on purpose, or at least carelessly to emphasize your dyslexia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

I have worked with several people with dyslexia. Some are very intelligent people, who have worked extra hard to overcome some difficulties associated with dyslexia.

I have also worked with one really, really stupid person with dyslexia. Incredibly stupid woman. She used her dyslexia as an excuse and was always 'thinking outside the box' or, in other words, trying to dodge work, pass the buck and explain her laziness. Ironically, her manager had dyslexia, so the conversations were hilarious. Essentially, the conversations went like this: I didn't do it the standard, agreed, required way cos I am dyslexic and it is too hard for me, so I did this instead. Manager: I am giving you 20 minutes to undo that and do it correctly. If it isn't done, we will need to have a serious conversation.

OP, people's issue is not with dyslexia, I suspect that it is with you. Looking over your old posts, you made an effort to spell correctly and that seems to have stopped recently. You have a few posts about work issues which hint at it not being about your inability to spell but your overall attitude. You are entirely too defensive and aggressive. You accused Big Bag of Chips of calling you stupid, which she definitely did not do. There is no need to be that nasty.

Communication is very important, but I find it difficult to believe that someone who works in IT doesn't understand how the spell check function on phones.

On this thread you spelled it correctly every single time...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057684575

I'm not doubting your condition for a second, I guess I just can't pretend to understand it and why a word that you can spell every time one day is impossible the next, maybe it's like seeing it for the first time each time. Either way fair play to you for getting on with it.

And i was asked by my manager how is my dyslexia today ?. IS it giving you any issues i wonted to slap him on the spot.

Going by your posting history here, it seems a fair question. As another poster pointed out, spelling and grammar in your posts from months ago seem to be much better than your more recent posts. And a few days ago you spelt "dyslexia" perfectly, multiple times. Today it's beyond your grasp. So maybe your managers have noticed a drop in the standard of your work? Now, it may be to do with your dyslexia, or it may be to do with carelessness.

People can be careless without having dyslexia, so I'm sure people with dyslexia can also be careless. I think your managers have every right, and in fact should talk to you if they see a drop in standard in your work and written correspondence. The same way you would expect management to speak to a colleague if their standard dropped.

You say you just want to be treated the same as everyone else. In a work place, you will be.

AS quite a few of my girlfriends friends kids have it and they do straagle in school with it and i do talk to them about it and tell them to can do anything in there life you just need to find the right thing and everything will be ok and tell them it has never stopped me from my life.

Its just people like who are the ones who insult people who have it as we have our learning disability i am proud of it. I have photograph mem off been able to code in SAP and being able to read EDI files. And being able to read computer code and pin point where the mistakes are as its something you have to push yourself to learn.

AS in my eyes even if you have a disability you can do anything you wont and the only person who stops you is yourself as anyone can rule the world if they wont to

I'm not sure where all this is coming from. I'd have no problem suggesting you use spell-checker and google to your face. I already suggest it to people. I use it myself. I think everyone should use it.

I agree with everything else in your post except where you think I've insulted you. Why ask the question in the opening post if you don't want to hear the answer? Maybe the truth hurts. Anyway, I've little patience for 'pity-me' people so I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I'm not bothered about other peoples spelling. I'm interested in what they're actually saying. I think grammar nazis are projecting some kind of insecurity of their own.

Dyslexics tend to have certain strengths that make up for the weakness in reading or writing.

I'm not bothered about other peoples spelling. I'm interested in what they're actually saying. I think grammar nazis are projecting some kind of insecurity of their own.

Dyslexics tend to have certain strengths that make up for the weakness in reading or writing.

memory issues are also common with dyslexics as well, amongst other things

Yep. And OP mentioned an issue with shoelaces.

Funnily enough, my friend is severely dyslexic and severely touchy about it, but mocks me for my pronunciation of two words in particular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

So how much info should we be putting into our sig to let people know ? People are not psychic.

Sadly i said this before to people i should not have to basically hand out cards EG Saying in my sig that i have it as i should not have shut out load that i have deleslexa.

My memory issues are so strange i forgot basic things like did i get milk and gos blank when the girlfriend said i had to get it town to me.

While i can remember a complex EDI fix and write a file routeing in less then a hour i do wonder about myself at times

The joys of deslexa.

Sadly i said this before to people i should not have to basically hand out cards EG Saying in my sig that i have it as i should not have shut out load that i have deleslexa.

My memory issues are so strange i forgot basic things like did i get milk and gos blank when the girlfriend said i had to get it town to me.

While i can remember a complex EDI fix and write a file routeing in less then a hour i do wonder about myself at times

The joys of deslexa.

Do you ever find to hard to process what people are saying to you? I mean in face to face conversation, not in text form.

My dyslexic friend kind of gets overloaded and can't take things in.

Dyslexa would not be a bad name for a girl! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mod

Let's nip this in the bud. There is no need for this keyboard warrior nonsense. Posters are discussing the issue with you, in a civil manner. If you can't do the same, you'll be asked to stop posting in the thread.