Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying the boss a christmas present

• 20-12-2016 4:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭

Is this the done thing?

I had never heard of it until today.

I can understand if you work directly for one person, getting them a token, bottle of wine of whatever. But all the office chipping in to buy the boss a present seems totally alien to me.

What's the AH consensus?

I won't be buying my boss a pressie regardless of the outcome btw :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

AH this must be some new thing, never have I bought anything for the boss for Christmas.... sure not like the boss gets me anything ffs haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Depends on how long you're going out. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

It wouldn't happen in a million years in my place of work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I firmly believe subordinates (hate that word) should not buy their managers anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

a lot of people who go around calling people boss are getting a christmas bonus :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

We do :(
    Cost me 20 quid this year, and that's the lowest it's ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

New in my job.

Manager got me a bottle of wine.

she got the other 5 or six people on the team (mainly admin ladies) a little present too.

One of the Admin ladies got her a present back.

Now I look like a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Glenster wrote: »
    New in my job.

One of the Admin ladies got her a present back.

QUOTE]

Note...one of the admin ladies. Not everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I saw it mentioned on another thread and was surprised. I could understand buying a small token if the boss had paid for a meal out for everyone or something like that. But in the situation I saw, staff were putting twenty euro each in to a collection for their Manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Two words - lick, arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

I work in a small private company and we always chip in a tenner each for the owner/manager....it used to be 20 during the good ol times, and I begrudged giving that much! Don't really mind giving the tenner now.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I buy my boss a present because we are good friends, I don't really think of her as a boss really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Parchment wrote: »
    I firmly believe subordinates (hate that word)
    Yeah Minions is much better and in vogue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I'd never expect anything from my staff. I used to put my hand in my pocket at the Christmas party in leaner times, but the free bar this year meant it was unnecessary.

I like my boss but I'd never consider buying him anything. I never even realised it was a thing.

stimpson wrote: »
    I never even realised it was a thing.
    It's not a thing, it's the consumers blinded by Christmas fever buying trying to get you to buy more stuff. Don't listen to them, they're junkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Two words - lick, arse.

I think we're talking a box of Roses or something, that's going a bit far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Same people probably brought their teachers in an apple every week.

Why would you break your back all year for someone and then reward THEM for it at the end of the year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Never heard of it.

We do a kris kindle at work. I got the boss in the draw.

He has four kids so I got him a pack of condoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's the Boss that should be buying the present for the staff surely! And that is what I have seen.

Would never buy anything for a boss. It smacks of ass licking and is gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

No its bad enough participating in the kris kringle with the other shower of bastards without giving something to the even bigger bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

YES!! You will all buy me a Christmas gift!!

Muahahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!

p.s. I'm the boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Thread title had me thinking we were having a whipround in AH to get Springsteen a box of Quality Street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Never heard of this.

Can't see it taking off to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I would have gotten on quite well with my old boss, we'd talk about personal things and my birthday/valentines/Xmas would always be acknowledged with a gift so in turn I'd get her a lipstick from Mac or a bottle of her fav foundation or a bottle of wine or some stuff from lush. Something small, wouldn't spend more than 50 and only because I'd have considered her a friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

So your boss gets a gift purely by dint of owning your company or managing you? Sounds like craven nonsense. Never experienced it in any workplace I've ever worked in.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

A friend of mine was my boss at one stage, and we used to exchange gifts as friends - just something small. I've never heard of there being a whip around for the boss 'just because'. In fact, in my experience it used to be the opposite, we'd all get something small at Christmas from the company. If I was the boss, there's no way I'd allow my staff to be collecting money to get me something at Christmas, especially considering when I was an employee, the boss's salary was about twice or three times what the majority of us were earning.

I've bought my boss and his wife gifts, I'm close to them both and I was closer again to my boss before him. They gave me a hat and scarf his wife knitted me last week as I was heading somewhere very cold for a couple of days. I got him some cigars and her a voucher for a craft shop. I'm fond of them both, and they're very good to me.

If I worked with a greater complement of people in a more impersonal environment and had no personal relationship with my boss, I don't think I'd be buying gifts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Lux23 wrote: »
    I buy my boss a present because we are good friends, I don't really think of her as a boss really.
    That's Marriage for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

We've all chipped in for a new chair for the boss.IT is xmas I suppose, even for bosses.

While i'm here, does anybody know the correct way to wire a plug?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Bought the boss a gift one Christmas alright.

Got him a set of those night vision goggles for dancing in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

only brown-nosers buy the boss a gift

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Christmas is expensive enough without having to go buy your manager a present. Pure lickarse stuff imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

I make my boss plenty of money all year round. I would not be happy if I was expected to chip in for a present for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭CantonasCollar

Where I work it would always be a case of the office manager buying the workers a case of beer / bottle of wine. The 2 guys above her would at best buy a tin of Roses for the office. These aren't some distant managers we see once a quarter, these are guys we see on a daily basis and for whom we do all the crap they can't be arsed with.

I am lucky enough to have only 1 member of staff, she gets some cash on the day of the Xmas doo to get herself a few drinks.

This year a colleague will get a bottle of wine too. We were well and truly dropped in it from a great height this year for a 6 week period. She and I got the worst of it, with herself covering for my portion whilst the rest of the office sat on their backsides during my day off each week looking after the kids. Usually I wouldn't think of getting a colleague at the same level a gift but there is no way management will recognise her efforts, so a bottle of wine is the least I can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

The Boss is the highest paid person in the workplace ,so it makes no sense
    For lower paid employees to be buying him/her a present .
    The boss may get a bonus which ordinary employee,s will never get.
    see irish charitys, the boss, ceo,s were found to be getting large pensions ,100k plus as well as large salarys and a large expense account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Here was me thinking this thread was about what present to buy the wife.

riclad wrote: »
    The Boss is the highest paid person in the workplace ,so it makes no sense
    That's not necessarily true. Skilled labour or people on commission could potentially make more depending on how the boss pays himself.