Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"He was a Character"

• 19-12-2016 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭

Random enough thread but something that dawned on me over the weekend whilst having a pint with some older gentlemen was how they recalled old "characters" that had left the area or passed away.

The thing i noticed was all these apparent characters were pretty much wastes of space,below i have the 4 categories that generally consisted of said characters(often a character was more than one of these by the way)

Chronic gambler:
    These would be spending their last few bob on a greyhound in Youghal prior to xmas rather than getting a turkey for the families dinner and would end up going to the mother in laws for Christmas dinner or getting a lend of a few pound of a friend and never pay it back.

Raging alcoholic:
    Would spend most if not every day in the pub getting full to the brim with drink before wandering around the town drunk and shouting random comments as people went about their business and did a bit of shopping or worked etc. meanwhile his children are up in the house freezing and starving.

Lazy layabout:
    The lad that wouldn't work on batteries, always had an excuse why he was unemployed, was given opportunites numbers of times when lads had gotten him a bit of work on a site only for him to not turn up for work 2 days later "ah jays lad i done in me shoulder i'll not be able"

The Violent lad:
    Ah he might be violent on occassion but he's a lovely lad "usually" and full of the craic a real "character".
    Forget about the half dozen charges of assault or the time he left a man needing a full new set of teeth because he dared spill a pint on him. Sure he once helped you move your furniture into your new house and he has quite a witty retort at times so certainly a character and not a deranged loonatic :rolleyes:

Are these kind of characters commonplace? Do we Irish idolise gob****es this much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Good point. Well presented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Sure don't we all be getting nostalgic about the good old days and the characters, once there dead and gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Which one are you posturingpat?

I say lazy layabout, posting poo threads in AH at teatime myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    Which one are you posturingpat?

I say lazy layabout, posting poo threads in AH at teatime myself.

None unfortunately, not character material it would seem :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

It is a nice term to replace another term for these people which also starts with the letter 'C'.

I think you left out the tossers, toerags, and douchbag character types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

It's the diplomatic way of saying he was an arsehole without disrespecting the dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

yes, look at "Characters" like Bang-Bang and Johnny Fortycoats who were obviously seriously mentally ill

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Jimmy Saville. The ultimate 'character'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Character: Someone who generates stories. Not necessarily good. Good to know of these people for the purpose of conversation, horrific to actually hang out with. Pub near my home place is a character haven. Impossible to be in that pub sober for more than 5 minutes. Full of head reckers, possible violence or just plain old odd balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I remember a distant cousin of my father paying a visit one summer, years ago. He was a "character" to the core! Kind of fella who would have everyone in a pub rolling in the aisles 10 minutes after walking in and already have the barman on his Christmas card list.

He also never had a steady job in 30 odd years and got through a bottle of gin on most days of the week :D

Calling someone a "character" means they're the kind of guy who'd dip his balls in your pint when you go to the bathroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Calling someone a "character" means they're the kind of guy who'd dip his balls in your pint when you go to the bathroom.

What's not funny about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

What's not funny about that?

I want to see another "character" kick his legs out while he's hovering over the glass.

Sounds like my mates. Bring your pint with you. Never leave anything that means anything to you in plain sight or let them know if something means anything to you. Example:
    GF disliked a blue hoody of mine and told my mates to get rid of it in the pub. Mates took it to the toilet and I don't know what happened after that.
    Or
    Got a make your own digital watch one x mass. Made it and was proud as punch. They realized this and Que me waking up the next day to find my watch in the shower with a **** on top of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

fizzypish wrote: »
    Sounds like my mates. Bring your pint with you. Never leave anything that means anything to you in plain sight or let them know if something means anything to you. Example:
    GF disliked a blue hoody of mine and told my mates to get rid of it in the pub. Mates took it to the toilet and I don't know what happened after that.
    Or
    Got a make your own digital watch one x mass. Made it and was proud as punch. They realized this and Que me waking up the next day to find my watch in the shower with a **** on top of it.

I think you mates are less in the character category and more in the cúnt category.

gramar wrote: »
    I think you mates are less in the character category and more in the cúnt category.

Lol. At times yes but the advantage of having friends like this is you develop a thick skin. Good people though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Good people though.

Your standards seem pretty low :D

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Your standards seem pretty low :D

Nope. Just cos we **** with each other doesn't mean we don't have each others back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Lol. At times yes but the advantage of having friends like this is you develop a thick skin. Good people though.

This. And most people's "friends" would dissappear or even throw them under the bus if something genuinely nasty kicked off.
    That won't happen with yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Nope. Just cos we **** with each other doesn't mean we don't have each others back.

Call me old fashioned, but anyone who shíts in my shower is getting a good kicking! Your friends sound like proper dicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Chronic gambler: - anyone I know who gambles also works so they could be in debt, but they're surviving

Raging alcoholic: - Its too expensive to be a 'going out' alcoholic these days, all my mates might be drinking a bottle of vodka a night to take the edge off, but if they do I don't see it.

Lazy layabout: - I don't know any unemployed people really, and I certainly wouldn't hang out with them, sure what would we do? sit in the park?

The Violent lad: - I know lads who'd get a bit lairy on a night out, maybe one or two borderline gobsh!tes who'd throw a box if hammered, but I know no one who'd actually hurt anyone else, probably because he'd get pulled off before he did any damage.

Are these kind of characters commonplace? Do we Irish idolise gob****es this much? -So I don't know any of these people really, maybe the cracks start to show when people get a bit older, or they're more visible in small towns. I don't know any young lads in Dublin like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Que me waking up the next day to find my watch in the shower with a **** on top of it.

That's just funny though, particularly if it was a rotten watch and you were really proud of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

If the characters in your local pub all have negative traits I'd suggest changing venue.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Gone off boards a few years but I wonder what a poster like OldHippy would write in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

I don't mind the odd harmless character, they inject a bit of life into the mundane! I would never call someone a waste of space though, I think that's the lowest of the low insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You have each others backs?

Are yiz drug dealers or just gob****es?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    Gone off boards a few years but I wonder what a poster like OldHippy would write in this thread.

Apparently he had to be humanely destroyed the day after the US election :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Raging alcoholic:
    Would spend most if not every day in the pub getting full to the brim with drink before wandering around the town drunk and shouting random comments as people went about their business and did a bit of shopping or worked etc. meanwhile his children are up in the house freezing and starving.

Sounds a bit like my old father-in-law only he'd have a few pints and jump into a truck and speed home. He was a "character" or a "gas fella." He didn't pay tax, drew the dole and got his wages into his hand. I don't like to speak ill of the dead but he was a pox bottle of the highest order and a waste of blood and organs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

He was a character is code for he was a drunken prick that made a fool of himself every time he left the house and would entertain the patrons in the local pub by singing old songs and talking ****e. Every town has them, when they alive they're known as wino's and bums. When they die, they're known as "characters"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

A chancer, up to any scam or scheme to make a few pound, often found in FF circles, especially the Galway tent.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.