Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What ever happened to Insignia Deodorant?

• 18-12-2016 9:04pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭

Does anyone remember that "Insignia" deodorant from the 80's? Mighty stuff! What ever happened to it? They had a few ads for it too but this is the only one I can find:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=netiuSXifq4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

It was the pits.

*Sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

I thought it was grand. The same company made my favourite, old spice. You can still get that????

Yes...and you can still get Brut too.

God the 80's.

We were spoilt for choice! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

It turned into a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

I had that a while ago... was rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Yes...and you can still get Brut too.

God the 80's.

We were spoilt for choice! :D

Don't forget this one

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=sr_nr_p_76_0?fst=as%3Aoff&rh=n%3A117332031%2Cn%3A118457031%2Cn%3A2790127031%2Ck%3A4711&keywords=4711&ie=UTF8&qid=1482096744

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I remember the ad jingle. "Try Insigniaaa! Create a buzz not a hum". I remember asking my dad what that meant, and fair play to him he tried to give me some kind of explanation as to the difference between a buzz and a hum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

The 80s was some decade for cheap and nasty stinking perfumes/deodorants/aftershaves - with "classy", exotic names (Insignia, Limara, Blue Stratos) and brands (Lentheric - pronounced "launtheric", I watched a documentary about it - it was made up in Britain, means nothing :)) and hilariously melodramatic ads featuring Big Cats happening to walk through a European city at 5am - and human hairstyles to rival that of a lion mane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

I think I had most of THESE

I thought TABAC smelled like the jax in Crumlin shopping centre.

Flimpson wrote: »
    The 80s was some decade for cheap and nasty stinking perfumes/deodorants/aftershaves - with "classy", exotic names (Insignia, Limara, Blue Stratos) and brands (Lentheric - pronounced "launtheric", I watched a documentary about it - it was made up in Britain, means nothing :)) and hilariously melodramatic ads featuring Big Cats happening to walk through a European city at 5am - and human hairstyles to rival that of a lion mane.

****ing hell...Blue Stratos

Forgot about that one!

Ah everything was better in the 80's. That blue Stratos ad is pure class, they dont make em like that anymore.

What about this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rbZr7YoqK0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

This is why old people smell like urine

Your Face wrote: »

Why, cos you cant get Insignia anymore? Or they're not using enough Brut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

More of a hai karate man myself

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hai_Karate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Hands up if you use Right Guard!

Hands down if you don't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Could be worse, could be Lynx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Sure,

best deorodiant around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Your Face wrote: »

My old neighbour Una Ryan smelled like urine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The great thing about deodorant is that it attracts beautiful women to the wearer of it.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

what was the ad with your one on the yacht in a bikini??? ...it was a 1970s commercial..it was my first sexual awakening, pitched a tent in my trousers everytime i saw it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

what was the ad with your one on the yacht in a bikini??? ...it was a 1970s commercial..it was my first sexual awakening, pitched a tent in my trousers everytime i saw it

I remember it so I'd say it's from the early 80's onwards (unless it was recycled from the 70's).

^^^^^^^^^^

love to see it again, and have a **** for old time sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

God, this thread is giving me some mad flashbacks to growing up in the early 90s. (I was born in 88 so technically can't really remember the 80s) My dad used to marinate himself in Old Spice and every time he hugged me, I'd be gassed as my face was shoved into his armpit. Rank stuff. My older brother also used to smoke out the bathroom by overdoing the Brut as a pimply teenager. God, they both smelt so rank. And Lynx. Jaysus, Lynx. I'd walk into the jax after my stepdad got ready in the morning and I'd be suffocating in the Africa fumes.
    He uses Ted Baker nowadays so at least it smells nice but still, WHY do most of the menfolk I know have to use half a can/bottle of the stuff and fumigate the place with aftershave? Less is more, lads!