Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homelessness in Dublin City

• 16-12-2016 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭

Was in the city yesterday and I was quite surprised to see how many people were sitting on the streets in sleeping bags with cups out. I remember being there a while back and my girlfriend had warned me about giving money to them as a large portion would end up buying drugs as opposed to going to a hostel or buying food, (they'd more than likely just steal what they wanted to eat). It's kind of shocking that there's so many left on the streets, and even more so that people who can't pay for enough food to survive that they might end up stealing are forced to pay for a hostel to keep safe and warm.

Surely the government should have a scheme in place for homeless people to placed in a hostel or somewhere for them to sleep, I can't imagine sleeping on the street in Dublin or anywhere would be very safe. Probably unrelated to the above but while walking down O'Connell street an obvious drug addict was lying in a sleeping bag and another came over and attacked him with crutches. Properly came down on him two good forced slaps with the crutch in the legs, then he was forced up to leave the spot because a bouncer in the hotel (I think it was a hotel) came out and had them all leave.

At Busaras a gentlemen was looking for change for a hostel, I could genuinely believe he was just looking for €5 or whatever to get a safe sleeping space but looks can be deceiving also.

Would you give money to someone begging or would you be concerned it went to a drug addict to feed their habit or would you care? I suppose they'll feed it one way or the other but id rather see my euro bring a genuine person 1/5th closer to getting somewhere to sleep for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Surely the government should have a scheme in place for homeless people to placed in a hostel or somewhere for them to sleep,
    They probably do. I wouldn't be surprised to hear many of the "beggars" are professionals that would be out there begging whether they had a home or not.

Begging is just a side effect of large cities. Dublin isn't the worst I've seen for it. In Vilnius Lithuania they had professional beggars that would stop you in the street because they knew you were foreign and start showing you deformities, injuries, none of them looked like junkies, and would just shock a foreigner into giving something.

In barcelona women would grab you and want you to pay them for sex or give them anything just to let you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Buy them a coffee/Sanger.

Genuine cases will thank you.

The phoney ones will trade it for a can/skag.

Both cases, feel good you tried.

My dad says that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

Buy them a coffee/Sanger.

Genuine cases will thank you.

The phoney ones will trade it for a can/skag.

Both cases, feel good you tried.

My dad says that's all that matters.

I would often consider that, but you can't sleep on a sandwich.. it's sad that there's so many chancers it's a battle to decide whether or not to help those who may actually need it. Or perhaps just me.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I would often consider that, but you can't sleep on a sandwich.. it's sad that there's so many chancers it's a battle to decide whether or not to help those who may actually need it. Or perhaps just me.

There are actually enough beds for all those sleeping on the street

Stheno wrote: »
    There are actually enough beds for all those sleeping on the street

Yes but the sandwich won't buy them a night in the hostel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Just because they have a sleeping bag doesn't mean they are sleeping rough. There are hostel places for pretty much all of the homeless. The ones that sleep rough are the ones that cannot go a night without drink or drugs, or don't want to be in a shelter because of the trouble makers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

There's almost 4,400 Homeless according to the Governments records.

The Homelessness figures are at the highest level since they started being recorded.
    Here's the latest chart I made:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101770543#post101770543

The Government Special Rapporteur on Child Protection has said that Homeless children who are placed in emergency accommodation are "having their rights breached":
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101707037#post101707037

He was working off of figures for 2015. Since then the numbers have risen by at least an additional 600.

I have seen no figures or indications that there are enough places for all the rough sleepers.
    I have seen evidence of record high numbers of homeless.
    I do not think there are enough spaces available for all the rough sleepers.

I have seen no figures or government data at all from anyone who says otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think the homeless figures are misleading.

Just because someone is homeless, i.e. not able to afford/evicted etc. from their flat/house doesn't mean they don't have somewhere to sleep, e.g. hotels and hostels.

Most of those on the streets are perennials. They do not like hostels and prefer the nomadic life in a street doorway. Jonathon Corry was one of them. Perpetual help offered, and refused.

I do not give to beggars on the street ever. We are a very generous nation WRT those experiencing hard times, the SW payouts are not too bad in comparison to the UK, and there is rent allowance/hostels etc. A young woman was interviewed on some radio program recently who was sleeping rough. She said she made about E50 a day with her paper cup but would still not use hostels. I'd say it's double or treble that these days with people out at the Xmas party and towns are full.

Some poor unfortunates do fall through the cracks alright. These are mostly older folk who maybe cannot understand the SW system.

There are supports out there, multiple charities, Government rent allowance scheme, hostels and so on.

I don't think anyone should need to sleep on the streets, but many choose to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I happen to work around Busaras. One of my colleagues took pity on a beggar outside who asked her for money so he could get a sandwich. She went of and got a sandwich, gave it to him and got a black eye for her troubles.

No joke; she was on her way to a First Aid course when it happened :)

I happen to work around Busaras. One of my colleagues took pity on a beggar outside who asked her for money so he could get a sandwich. She went of and got a sandwich, gave it to him and got a black eye for her troubles.

I shouldn't laugh....

On the other hand I was crossing the Luas bridge there at Heuston a couple of weeks back. An old lad was just standing there looking lost and cold. I went across to the Spar and bought him a few hot rolls and tea. He was very happy to get them. Once he took them and started eating I gave him some money aswell.

There are just too many people out there with a blanket over their shoulders and a cup in their hand. They cannot all be genuine. I don't think they all are.

But it's up to you and me whether we want to give them money or not. I just don't anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

That was handy, as it turned out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I don't think anyone should need to sleep on the streets, but many choose to.

I remember being absolutely furious at the movie Ironweed, Jack Nicholson and Meryl Streep in 1987, a movie about a romance between homeless people, when it turned out that both of them were homeless because of their own choices. I was 23.

Now I'm a bit more than twice that, and I am afraid it is often true.

As the old saying goes, if you are not a socialist at age 20 you have no heart, if you are not conservative at age 40 you have no brain, and if you are not King of the Forest at age 60 you have no courage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Did she say anything to provoke him accidentally? Obviously not implying she caused it in any way but Im just curious as to how it escalated to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

In London there was a guy who sat under an ATM everyday up to 7pm begging for money, he would then roll up his sleeping bag walk round the corner & get in his BMW.
    Never ever give money to roma women with a sleeping child...WHY?? Because the child will have been drugged, usually heroin. Before people say how do you know yadda yadda yadda....well how many small children sleep all day??
    I never give money to anyone begging, buy some food yes, buy a tin of dog food if they have a dog yes

God if I had seen that I'd strangle the little bollix. Sorry I know it's not the way to deal with it but scumbags like that would make you sick tbh
    wakka12 wrote: »
    Did she say anything to provoke him accidentally? Obviously not implying she caused it in any way but Im just curious as to how it escalated to that!

Because he wanted a heroin sandwich not a ham sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

If you're really concerned about homelessness join a crew that goes around helping them and talking to them. If you're already doing this then what else can you do.

So many people moaning that the government should do something (without suggesting what that something is) without taking some initiative themselves. If you feel so strongly about it get out there and do something yourself.

eet fuk wrote: »
    If you're really concerned about homelessness join a crew that goes around helping them and talking to them. If you're already doing this then what else can you do.

So many people moaning that the government should do something (without suggesting what that something is) without taking some initiative themselves. If you feel so strongly about it get out there and do something.

I'd love to volunteer in Dublin to help out but I'm living in Wexford and I'm not travelling up and down on the bus everyday or every week to deal with it. It's not up to me to deal with, we elect a government to help us all out and for them to be seemlingy doing nothing but moaning about the crisis it's not good enough.

Also the social welfare won't pay anyone who doesn't have a permanent address so if you were working and lost your house because you lost your job unless you're living somewhere you can't apply for JSA or JSB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Haithabu

my girlfriend had warned me about giving money to them as a large portion would end up buying drugs as opposed to going to a hostel or buying food, (they'd more than likely just steal what they wanted to eat).
    They would not buy drugs because you give them money but because they are addicted. If noone gives them money to buy drugs then they might steal in order to get drugs.

Anyway, whatever they do with the money is their business. I have no right to give them a condition on what to do with the money. The moment I hand it over it is theirs.

And obviously, each of them is an individual. I can't say that a larger portion are potential drug users or potential thieves. Each of them has their own character and their own story. Likely a sad story. I feel sorry for them.

And I was also surprised how many there are.

I shouldn't laugh....

There are just too many people out there with a blanket over their shoulders and a cup in their hand. They cannot all be genuine. I don't think they all are.

But it's up to you and me whether we want to give them money or not. I just don't anymore.

Trust me on this. They always do be short of €1 for the bus home that Bus Eireann really ought to charge a euro less :rolleyes:

Also the social welfare won't pay anyone who doesn't have a permanent address so if you were working and lost your house because you lost your job unless you're living somewhere you can't apply for JSA or JSB.

Welfare actually has units that deal specifically with payments for homeless people.

Haithabu wrote: »
    They would not buy drugs because you give them money but because they are addicted. If noone gives them money to buy drugs then they might steal in order to get drugs.

Anyway, whatever they do with the money is their business. I have no right to give them a condition on what to do with the money. The moment I hand it over it is theirs.

And obviously, each of them is an individual. I can't say that a larger portion are potential drug users or potential thieves. Each of them has their own character and their own story. Likely a sad story. I feel sorry for them.

Obviously I can't stipulate "now Jonny don't go buying any herion there now good boy" but I can and will choose not to hand over money to someone I suspect is looking to just get a proper sleep with proper shelter. They'll steal one way or the other, if they make €50 they won't spend half on food and half on drugs they'll spend €50 on drugs and step the food.

You're right, but if we knew for sure that most spent it on drugs then that should have an impact on how often we give money tbh. I give them money because I don't like to stereotype all homeless as drug users. But if I found out somehow that all used the money for drugs, Id be much less likely to give money. And I think it should make everyone less likely to give them money..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I was recently at Connolly station waiting for a train that wouldn't be boarding for over an hour. A young man politely excused himself and said he was 3.50 short for a hostel. He seemed genuine and I gave him a €5 note plus over €3 in change. He was thankful and headed off. A while later I was outside for a smoke and he was working his way through the crowd at the luas stop. About 30 minutes later I'm sitting again and he comes over, excuses himself and says he's €3 short for a hostel bed. I said I'd given him more than €8 less than an hour earlier and he replied 'oh I was so hungry I had to buy food".

I always give the benefit of the doubt and luckily can afford to give a few euro but he ruined my trust.

Slydice wrote: »
    There's almost 4,400 Homeless according to the Governments records.

The Homelessness figures are at the highest level since they started being recorded.
    Here's the latest chart I made:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101770543#post101770543

The Government Special Rapporteur on Child Protection has said that Homeless children who are placed in emergency accommodation are "having their rights breached":
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101707037#post101707037

He was working off of figures for 2015. Since then the numbers have risen by at least an additional 600.

I have seen no figures or indications that there are enough places for all the rough sleepers.
    I have seen evidence of record high numbers of homeless.
    I do not think there are enough spaces available for all the rough sleepers.

I have seen no figures or government data at all from anyone who says otherwise.

There is a huge difference between being homeless and sleeping rough. This is an interesting article
    http://www.dublincity.ie/emergency-expansion-230-bed-spaces-and-winter-rough-sleeping-count-announced
    "Dublin City Council details emergency accommodation expansion of 230 quality beds spaces and confirms the official winter Rough Sleeping Count at 142 persons in Dublin.

Dublin City Council and the Dublin Region Homeless Executive (DRHE) today (November 30th) released detail on new facilities to meet demand for homeless emergency accommodation and to tackle rough sleeping.

Emergency accommodation provision for adults in Dublin is being expanded by a minimum of 230 quality bed spaces from November 28th and in full by December 9th 2016."

He asked for money for a sandwich, not for a sandwich. Giving him a sandwich is an insult because your colleague implied that he is either lying or not capable of buying a sandwich himself.

Your colleague could have asked him if he would like her to buy one for him, at least he would have had the choice of sandwich then which your colleague did not give him either. Maybe he was a muslim and the sandwich was a BLT.

Violence is obviously never a solution so that beggar was completely wrong in what he did.

Trust me on this. They always do be short of €1 for the bus home that Bus Eireann really ought to charge a euro less :rolleyes:

When someone says that to me, as in, I need a few euro for the bus/train/hostel, I'd love to say OK, where's your bus, I'll pay the fare for you, or where's your hostel and I'll pay it.

F"ck off might be the answer to that one!

I will not give money anymore. There are supports out there paid for through general taxation, too many to mention. Sob stories from the Charideeees do not melt my heart anymore. They should all consolidate anyway, why are there so many homeless charideeeees?

Ah yes, each has a CEO, staff, offices, Government grants. Jesus sometimes I just shake my head in wonder.

He asked for money for a sandwich, not for a sandwich. Giving him a sandwich is an insult because your colleague implied that he is either lying or not capable of buying a sandwich himself.

Your colleague could have asked him if he would like her to buy one for him, at least he would have had the choice of sandwich then which your colleague did not give him either. Maybe he was a muslim and the sandwich was a BLT.

Violence is obviously never a solution so that beggar was completely wrong in what he did.

And then you politely decline you don't go and punch someone in the fcuking face for Christ sake

"Money for sandwich please"

"Here I bought you one"

*intercom plays* "STONE COLD STUNNER HE JUST DONE GAVE HER A STONE COLD STUNNER MY GOD MY GOD!!" Cop on to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭machalla

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    That was handy, as it turned out :D

Poor woman. No good deed will ever go unpunished it seems. Better to work through the actual homeless charities who know the scammers and try to help the ones who actually need the help.

I see the Romanian gypsies arriving for their shift every day at 9am and leaving about 5am every day near work. A group of them that I see regularly live very nearby in a house a few streets away, I've seen them several times on my lunchtime walks. To the casual eye they would look destitute.

wakka12 wrote: »
    You're right, but if we knew for sure that most spent it on drugs then that should have an impact on how often we give money tbh. I give them money because I don't like to stereotype all homeless as drug users. But if I found out somehow that all used the money for drugs, Id be much less likely to give money. And I think it should make everyone less likely to give them money..
    Not really because if someone needs their drugs than that is what they will try to get. If they have the money then they will buy it. If they do not have have the money then they will get the money somehow. It's not that they switch off their addiction because noone gave them the money that day.

I remember a sad story I heard earlier this year. I think it was in Waterford where a 90+ year old man or woman was killed in a burglary. Shocking. Why would anyone do that ? I can't imagine that drugs did not play a role here. Someone who needs drugs will do anything to get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I was recently at Connolly station waiting for a train that wouldn't be boarding for over an hour. A young man politely excused himself and said he was 3.50 short for a hostel. He seemed genuine and I gave him a €5 note plus over €3 in change. He was thankful and headed off. A while later I was outside for a smoke and he was working his way through the crowd at the luas stop. About 30 minutes later I'm sitting again and he comes over, excuses himself and says he's €3 short for a hostel bed. I said I'd given him more than €8 less than an hour earlier and he replied 'oh I was so hungry I had to buy food".

I always give the benefit of the doubt and luckily can afford to give a few euro but he ruined my trust.

Connolly station and that is the worst area for it in fairness in the city I always think.

Not really because if someone needs their drugs than that is what they will try to get. If they have the money then they will buy it. If they do not have have the money then they will get the money somehow. It's not that they switch off their addiction because noone gave them the money that day.

I remember a sad story I heard earlier this year. I think it was in Waterford where a 90+ year old man or woman was killed in a burglary. Shocking. Why would anyone do that ? I can't imagine that drugs did not play a role here. Someone who needs drugs will do anything to get them.

While you make a strong point I still don't think feeding a drugs habit is ever the 'right ' thing to do. It really shouldn't be up to us anyway, this is an important issue that should be out of our hands in the thoughts of the government who can solve this through some restricted forms of legalisation, better rehabilitation and better security measures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭reddevilfan

I know a guy who was on the focus Ireland add for homeless people!! There was a Facebook page about him because he was far from being homeless and has a lovely 2 bed flat in marrowbone lane.

I see him most nights in temple bar / graft on st area, I was told that he has latched onto an elderly man who lost his wife recently and cons him out of lots of money. 2 weeks ago he brought a man in to act like a landlord demanding money and pocketed €400 of this guy....

Utter Sc"" his name is James and his surname rhymes with pixels and is a coin in the USA not dime or cent and the food on burgers pickles

( I won't give full name to avoid someone giving out but I believe name and shame )

My own sister died on the streets.... She could of came home but wanted drugs more....

It's the addiction that forces people to do this....

I advise to buy a sandwich / cup of tea or both..... Do not offer change this Christmas

The money these get can kill them and I don't want this on my mind so I buy them food instead