Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shouting at the cinema

• 15-12-2016 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭

Is this acceptable at Christmas now?
    I was at a screening last night in the lighthouse cinema of Die Hard.
    One hilarious man took it upon himself to yell out "hilarious" lines at the screen throughout...he was also totally plastered wobbling down the aisle and falling onto people when coming back from the bathroom.

I complained as did other people to the staff they said they had to catch him the act?!?!?...a security guard did a walk by...he was quiet for 15 minutes the security guard then left...back to shouting again.

How exactly is this crap acceptable? Should I have stood up and yelled at him directly? Why did the lighthouse cinema do nothing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

gmisk wrote: »
    How exactly is this crap acceptable?

You complained, other people complained and the cinema staff acknowledged that they'd deal with him if they caught him in the act. So clearly nobody thought it was acceptable. Also, it's got nothing to do with Christmas. It's just one drunk asshole and an ineffective security policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Pickpocket wrote: »
    You complained, other people complained and the cinema staff acknowledged that they'd deal with him if they caught him in the act. So clearly nobody thought it was acceptable. Also, it's got nothing to do with Christmas. It's just one drunk asshole and an ineffective security policy.
    I have been going to the lighthouse cinema for years (from before it closed down and reopened) so hugely disappointing. Never seen anything like it in there before, so maybe as you say nothing to do with Christmas but to do with a drunken idiot out and pissed before Christmas.

What an outrage, you should of called the Guards.
    You would be happy to sit through a film with a drunken idiot shouting in your ear the whole way through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

What an outrage, you should of called the Guards.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

In fairness the Die Hard screening was a bit of a novelty thing for Christmas.

They were encouraging people to dress as John McClane and do their best Alan Rickman falling off a skyscraper impression.

Personally I wouldn't expect the usual cinema etiquette rules to apply. I doubt anyone was there watching Die Hard for the first time. It was just a bit of nostalgic fun for a Christmas cult classic.

Your man sounds like a bit of drunk gobsh1te. Getting security involved was a bit much though.

Live and let live. Yippee Ki yay - It's Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,040 ✭✭✭SteM

Is this acceptable at Christmas now?
    I was at a screening last night in the lighthouse cinema of Die Hard.
    One hilarious man took it upon himself to yell out "hilarious" lines at the screen throughout...he was also totally plastered wobbling down the aisle and falling onto people when coming back from the bathroom.

I complained as did other people to the staff they said they had to catch him the act?!?!?...a security guard did a walk by...he was quiet for 15 minutes the security guard then left...back to shouting again.

How exactly is this crap acceptable? Should I have stood up and yelled at him directly? Why did the lighthouse cinema do nothing?

This is bull****, they just didn't want to have to deal with a drunk lad - bad customer service by the lighthouse tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Redhighking

Your man sounds like a bit of drunk gobsh1te. Getting security involved was a bit much though.

I think in such circumstances its better getting security involved, better option than getting involved vocally yourself. You paid to see Die Hard not Die Hard with drunken fool narrating throughout!

They were encouraging people to dress as John McClane and do their best Alan Rickman falling off a skyscraper impression.

Personally I wouldn't expect the usual cinema etiquette rules to apply. I doubt anyone was there watching Die Hard for the first time. It was just a bit of nostalgic fun for a Christmas cult classic.

Your wrong there I was with someone who was watching it for the first time.
    How was telling staff of this mans behaviour the wrong thing to do?

In my opinion they didn't do what their own terms and conditions say they will.
    http://www.lighthousecinema.ie/terms.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I'd have asked for my money back or a free ticket for another screening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Effects wrote:
    I'd have asked for my money back or a free ticket for another screening.

I would have bought the DVD and watched it at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

The entire cinema experience is becoming more and more off putting. A shame. They're shooting themselves in the foot with lack of reform in the face of online availability and haven't realised it yet. People will just stop going.

Rule no 1 I'd have is people shouldn't be admitted after the film begins.

I would have bought the DVD and watched it at home.

Sometimes it's nice to see an old movie you like on a big screen.
    I love that the Lighthouse does stuff like this. I'd hate to have my evening ruined by a drunken spa though.

Giruilla wrote: »
    The entire cinema experience is becoming more and more off putting. A shame. They're shooting themselves in the foot with lack of reform in the face of online availability and haven't realised it yet. People will just stop going.

Rule no 1 I'd have is people shouldn't be admitted after the film begins.

I was about to disagree with you there, from a business point of view, but then remembered that there's 12 minutes of ads and trailers before the film begins. More than enough time to account for someone being slightly late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Pickpocket wrote:

Agreed buy it can ruin a bloody good movie.

Effects wrote: »
    I love that the Lighthouse does stuff like this. I'd hate to have my evening ruined by a drunken spa though.
    That's it exactly I have been at plenty of classic screenings in the lighthouse and the crowd have always been terrific, its just shame that as you put it one drunken spa can ruin a lot of peoples enjoyment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Your wrong there I was with someone who was watching it for the first time.
    How was telling staff of this mans behaviour the wrong thing to do?

In my opinion they didn't do what their own terms and conditions say they will.
    http://www.lighthousecinema.ie/terms.php

As the previous poster said, this was a special showing, advertised on their website as such. You could have gone to the other showings. Not the best screening to see this for the first time. These people did not show up to the other screenings in such a fashion (I would imagine). This particular screening was a very specialized showing. In the same way there are showings of other iconic movies which encourage fancy dress, participation, having a drink etc. In this particular case you had stumbled along to the wrong screening.
    I went to a "Parent and child" screening of a movie by accident, not noticing it on the site when booking (My own fault, info was there). The lights were up and the room was warmer than usual and volume was lower. I left a few mins in as I realised what was going on. But this was MY fault. This was NOT a screening meant for the typical viewer.

Had your experience happened during a REGULAR showing then you would have been right to inform staff (I have done this on occasion) and should have expected him to be ejected from the cinema.

As the previous poster said, this was a special showing, advertised on their website as such. You could have gone to the other showings. Not the best screening to see this for the first time. These people did not show up to the other screenings in such a fashion (I would imagine). This particular screening was a very specialized showing. In the same way there are showings of other iconic movies which encourage fancy dress, participation, having a drink etc. In this particular case you had stumbled along to the wrong screening.
    I went to a "Parent and child" screening of a movie by accident, not noticing it on the site when booking (My own fault, info was there). The lights were up and the room was warmer than usual and volume was lower. I left a few mins in as I realised what was going on. But this was MY fault. This was NOT a screening meant for the typical viewer.

Had your experience happened during a REGULAR showing then you would have been right to inform staff (I have done this on occasion) and should have expected him to be ejected from the cinema.

As the previous poster said, this was a special showing, advertised on their website as such. You could have gone to the other showings.
    Can you tell me where is the indicator for this on the lighthouse website? for this screening?
    http://www.lighthousecinema.ie/newsarticle.php?sec=NEWS&_aid=7332

What other screening should I have gone to then of this film?

I know some of the other screenings had a theme and party but purposely booked this one.
    http://www.dailyedge.ie/light-house-cinema-die-hard-3077111-Nov2016/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

As the previous poster said, this was a special showing, advertised on their website as such. You could have gone to the other showings.
    Can you tell me where is the indicator for this on the lighthouse website? for this screening?
    http://www.lighthousecinema.ie/newsarticle.php?sec=NEWS&_aid=7332

What other screening should I have gone to then of this film?

I know some of the other screenings had a theme and party but purposely booked this one.
    http://www.dailyedge.ie/light-house-cinema-die-hard-3077111-Nov2016/

Oh well, if this WAS a regular screening then, yeah, you were well within your rights to call staff and he should have been ejected from the cinema totally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Agreed buy it can ruin a bloody good movie.

Absolutely and I'd have been the first person to inform the staff about his behaviour. It's the height of rudeness. However there's no point in blaming it on Christmas.

I think you are getting confused...this was supposed to be a regular screening of Die Hard, some of the screenings had a theme party etc but this wasn't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,151 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

For the most part I've actually felt the cinema going experience in Ireland isn't all that bad. I always hear stories of people in America cheering during certain parts of the movie and such, and even saw a clip from inside a screening where the entire room stood up and applauded for Aquaman when he came on screen in BvS, so compared to that nonsense I think we're okay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

maybe he thought sure everyone has seen Die Hard at this stage, who cares if i act the eejit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Effects wrote: »

Aye, I was only a babe when Bram Stoker's Dracula was released so obviously didn't have a chance to see it on the big screen. I certainly wouldn't pass up the opportunity to see it in that format and yes, I would find it irritating if someone was making a show of themselves even though I've seen it a million times.

Mind you I wouldn't complain to staff in such a situation. Most of them are kids and it isn't their job to act the bouncer. I have and will again tell these muppets in no uncertain terms to shut the **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I can't understand this nonsense about it not mattering because it was a special showing or being an old film. Who cares how old it is. The only points that matter are that some ass holes ruined the film for other viewers.

Would the same thing happen at a gig for some band. Everybody at it has probably heard the songs dozens of times. I don't think anyone would defend ass hole ruining a gig by shouting and roaring over music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Bloody hell, I remember I was caught for that once too. Thankfully the management just gave me a voucher to the value of the two tickets with a comment "we were wondering why there was no kid with you".
    I'd have happily walked out wounded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Was this him?

latest?cb=20140228012916

If you feel the cinema experience is being ruined, then you're just going to the wrong cinemas.

If you go see a screening of a movie, in which you're encouraged to dress up as characters and get involved in that way, then it's somewhat expected that there would be some degree of shouting and people really getting into it. And it just adds to the whole experience.

Regular movie screenings? Absolutely not.

But the one that the OP mentions doesn't seem like a regular one, so that's different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Lighthouse have Grindhouse which the audience is REALLY interactive for. And that audience extends to other movies which are iconic, cheesy or fun. I'd class Die Hard like that. It's being shown to most people for the umpteenth time so getting to make jokes, cheer boo and hiss is what I'd expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

The only reason to go to the cinema is if there's a film festival or other special screening on. Otherwise just cuddle up on the couch to watch films and have your friends over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I was watching a video of the last few minutes of Rogue One, that iconic scene, and half the audience actually stood up and starting clapping and cheering! I'd be so pissed off if that happened during my first viewing of the movie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

philstar wrote: »
    maybe he thought sure everyone has seen Die Hard at this stage, who cares if i act the eejit

He might have been so drunk he thought he was in the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I can't understand this nonsense about it not mattering because it was a special showing or being an old film. Who cares how old it is. The only points that matter are that some ass holes ruined the film for other viewers.

Would the same thing happen at a gig for some band. Everybody at it has probably heard the songs dozens of times. I don't think anyone would defend ass hole ruining a gig by shouting and roaring over music

Special showing does matter tbf, if I was going to Rocky Horror Picture Show or The Room, I'd sort of expect the audience to be interactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

titan18 wrote: »
    Special showing does matter tbf, if I was going to Rocky Horror Picture Show or The Room, I'd sort of expect the audience to be interactive.

its not the effin panto. sit down, shut up and watch the movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Cinema should have asked piss head to leave. You wouldnt get away with it in many other places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭wezzopalooza

The Grindhouse showings in the Lighthouse are great fun, saw Rocky 4 there recently and the crowd was fantastic, cheering and clapping in the right places. The original 35mm film and thumping sound also added to the fun, and pretty much drowned out any other noise anyway. A great example of a classic screening, where the audience participation was part of the experience :)

But I agree, overly loud obnoxious asses will grate on the nerves very quickly no matter what the setting or how many times you've seen the movie. Seems to me if they get a laugh from people at first they just keep it up and keep it up. An "interactive" audience experience shouldn't amount to an annoying experience hijacked by people who got hammered before the screening. Luckily it's a rare enough occurrence in the Lighthouse, as their classic screenings usually bring out respectful and knowledgeable film-goers in my experience. They've definitely found a nice profitable little niche with all their classic screenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Keplar240B wrote: »
    Was this him?

latest?cb=20140228012916

who's he ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

its not the effin panto. sit down, shut up and watch the movie

I dunno, if no one throws a plastic spoon watching The Room, it'd be much less entertaining

If you feel the cinema experience is being ruined, then you're just going to the wrong cinemas.

If you go see a screening of a movie, in which you're encouraged to dress up as characters and get involved in that way, then it's somewhat expected that there would be some degree of shouting and people really getting into it. And it just adds to the whole experience.

Regular movie screenings? Absolutely not.

But the one that the OP mentions doesn't seem like a regular one, so that's different.
    As I already posted.... It was a regular screening...not a themed party one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

The Grindhouse showings in the Lighthouse are great fun, saw Rocky 4 there recently and the crowd was fantastic, cheering and clapping in the right places. The original 35mm film and thumping sound also added to the fun, and pretty much drowned out any other noise anyway. A great example of a classic screening, where the audience participation was part of the experience :)

But I agree, overly loud obnoxious asses will grate on the nerves very quickly no matter what the setting or how many times you've seen the movie. Seems to me if they get a laugh from people at first they just keep it up and keep it up. An "interactive" audience experience shouldn't amount to an annoying experience hijacked by people who got hammered before the screening. Luckily it's a rare enough occurrence in the Lighthouse, as their classic screenings usually bring out respectful and knowledgeable film-goers in my experience. They've definitely found a nice profitable little niche with all their classic screenings.

I was at that too and it was absolutely magnificent. Such craic! My mate and I were near the back and stood up hand on heart for the Soviet anthem :D

There's very occasionally someone who goes too far, but in general it's all well timed, appropriate craic and banter while still being appreciative of the movie.

Just as a follow up to this.
    I sent an email to lighthouse cinema and they apologized saying they should have removed the guy and it was a failing on their part, and they gave me two free cinema tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

fryup wrote: »
    who's he ??

Clay .... Bill Clay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

fryup wrote: »
    who's he ??

John McClane's nemesis.