Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is Ireland Des Bishop

• 12-12-2016 10:39pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭

How bad is this. He could not make is more obvious he's reading it. Also if your going to describe a show as satirical comedy it's actually got to be funny. John Oliver is the best at this stuff. As usual rte give a show to a man who clearly isn't funny but good old rte throw another show at him.

It's poor enough alright. Kind of a lame hybrid of Charlie Brooker and Russell Howard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dball

after about 5 or 6 seconds i realised it was canned laughter and some audience that were shown regularly - to make you think this was a real time broadcast.

it was badly edited and unfunny as FUK

next pelase

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Checkmate19

Rte should be no longer given license fee money is a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I saw Andrew Maxwell on the ad and that was enough for me to not bother with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Radio5

Tuned in last night. The only mildly funny bit was Colm O'Regan. Lots of shouty, swearing stuff from Dermot Whelan and the host and a random pointless interview with Jim Sheridan. They could cut it back to half an hour for a start, they're spreading what little 'content' they have over way too much time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,801 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Where is the demand for this? Nothing he has made has ever garnered any interest from me ever. His original stand up show from 10 years back was grand, but he was a one show wonder for me and has failed to entertain with anything he produced since. Yet after failed show, after failed show he is allowed to make more shows on RTE.

Honestly, how is he allowed to keep making television shows? Who thinks "We have had loads of Des Bishop fish out of water type shows, do you know what? we should make some more!".

RTE, the home of repeated recycled failure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Checkmate19

I saw Des Bishop live a long time ago and he wasn't funny. Rte have just continued to throw shows at him. Also he's on dancing with the stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭smilerf

Bishop is an unfunny Muppet.. I need untold why he is popular

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Complain all you like but if you pay your licence you're to blame for this sh*t. That clown Des Bishop is part of the rte civil service now so had a job for life. Oh wait clowns are funny, wrong choice of word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Complain all you like but if you pay your licence you're to blame for this sh*t.
    Many pay their licence since its the law, and they are not tightfisted miserable c*nts who want to force others to pay their way. Thieves, I have more respect for the more blatant type of thief though, the sort who do not come up with excuses why they are robbing me -they would straight up admit they are wrong and do not give a damn about others.

It is a really a form of tax evasion, it'd be like some businessman trying to explain more blatant tax evasion by saying he does not like particular politician, so doesn't want to pay his wage -laughably pathetic. People who don't pay should just admit they are misearable bastards, who are in effect robbing from their friends & family who end up paying their way.

The whole protest thing/excuse is utterly embarrassing, especially when 99.9% of them still gladly use the numerous services & facilities the licence fee goes towards -and do not even bother to make any worthwhile complaint about the licence fee in any way shape & form. Many do not even realise how they make use of the services, maybe they are lying to themselves though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Des Bishop would be a good subject for analysis about how an utterly mediocre "talent" can somehow become a fixture in the media landscape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Complain all you like but if you pay your licence you're to blame for this sh*t. That clown Des Bishop is part of the rte civil service now so had a job for life. Oh wait clowns are funny, wrong choice of word.

You could say that if you don't pay the licence fee then your opinion isn't worth a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Why not just save the money and repeat one of his good shows like Des Bishop's Work Experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Des Bishop would be a good subject for analysis about how an utterly mediocre "talent" can somehow become a fixture in the media landscape.

Mediocrity seems to be a prerequisite for a place in the Irish media elite. Maybe there's a consensus not to allow the status quo be upset by any brighter or better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

rubadub wrote:
    Many pay their licence since its the law, and they are not tightfisted miserable c*nts who want to force others to pay their way. Thieves, I have more respect for the more blatant type of thief though, the sort who do not come up with excuses why they are robbing me -they would straight up admit they are wrong and do not give a damn about others.

It is a really a form of tax evasion, it'd be like some businessman trying to explain more blatant tax evasion by saying he does not like particular politician, so doesn't want to pay his wage -laughably pathetic. People who don't pay should just admit they are misearable bastards, who are in effect robbing from their friends & family who end up paying their way.
    When businessmen use clever accounting it's called tax AVOIDANCE. I don't watch RTE, we just have a monitor for which to watch Netflix, mp4 and DVDs. Why the hell should I pay for those gurriers and this useless nonce to keep churning out their bilge? I haven't seen the show but I expect it's as prematurely tired as whichever of his testes are broken.

I concede we watched the Rubberbandits' guide series but we buy merch and go to gigs and donate to them given any opportunity. It's just all the other morons who make up the Irish media whom I find irksome. I'm not going to support them.

Did Bishop is a patronising arsehole!
    Irish people, I have to tell you what Ye are like, and laugh at Ye.
    And if you don't think I'm funny, it's because you are the very generalised fools I'm talking about.
    Not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He's on a lower level of sh1tness to Jason Byrne and Andrew Maxwell who are at the bottom of the barrel of sh1t, how he got this show is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I do not care how you rate someone. But to rate them when you are probably just an angry asshole, then I call it. If you have reason to be angry, then I will watch it.
    (The conversation).
    If i am wrong, then............ okay. I am wrong. For example i dislike jason byrne (No capitals, mentoned a post or two back) comedy. I will not go on. I am drunk and sknny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Suckit wrote: »
    I do not care whether or not you think that I am Des Bishop, but by anything that is worth anything to me, I HATE the idea of everything else (I think i meant "everything that is negative"). You were very quick to reply. I just do not like boards. It is so ridiculously negative. How is your mom? Good weather we are having this December...

At least you have a keen sense of irony... Suckit. You sound like a positive guy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

if it was live it might work but a programme going out with the content literally months old its useless. and what is it with RTE and showing the audience 'laughing' all the time. its pathetic. the editing is sh1te also. just another failure for RTE to add to its list. apart from the odd thing RTE really are useless at making tv. there must be no talent at all in that building even behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    if it was live it might work but a programme going out with the content literally months old its useless. and what is it with RTE and showing the audience 'laughing' all the time. its pathetic. the editing is sh1te also. just another failure for RTE to add to its list. apart from the odd thing RTE really are useless at making tv. there must be no talent at all in that building even behind the scenes.

It's just the comedy department for me.

I think they do most other things well to be fair.

When businessmen use clever accounting it's called tax AVOIDANCE.
    Yes and that is legal, I was very clearly not talking of "clever acounting" I was talking of illegal tax evasion -that is why I used the term.

Paying the TV licence can be legally avoided by doing as you do, not having a TV or receiver. I have no issue with people like you, I would be pretty sure you are in the minority of those household who do not pay the licence. Some years ago they estimated 99% of households should be paying, this may have dropped in recent years as people as people have ditched the TV. So I have no issue with those people, but do have an issue of leaving such a stupid loophole in place to allow this incredibly easy legal avoidance.

BTW I despise the whole idea of the licence fee, I think it should be a subscription service, or at least paid out of normal taxes, the admin fees are ridiculous. By making it a subscription service the salaries of these idiots would be slashed overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

rubadub wrote: »
    Yes and that is legal, I was very clearly not talking of "clever acounting" I was talking of illegal tax evasion -that is why I used the term.

Paying the TV licence can be legally avoided by doing as you do, not having a TV or receiver. I have no issue with people like you, I would be pretty sure you are in the minority of those household who do not pay the licence. Some years ago they estimated 99% of households should be paying, this may have dropped in recent years as people as people have ditched the TV. So I have no issue with those people, but do have an issue of leaving such a stupid loophole in place to allow this incredibly easy legal avoidance.

BTW I despise the whole idea of the licence fee, I think it should be a subscription service, or at least paid out of normal taxes, the admin fees are ridiculous. By making it a subscription service the salaries of these idiots would be slashed overnight.

Very few would want to subscribe to it in fairness. RTE calls itself a service, but it isn't . It is an institution rife with nepotism, pocket stuffers and complete incompetence. They are squandering the money they receive hand over fist and producing nothing of any value. Junk TV. It needs to be killed off imo, and the best way to do that would be for people to withhold the license fee en masse. That would be a legitimate form of protest against something that is not fit for purpose and most definitely isn't a service of any description.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

There's no way the crowd shots are legit.

Very few would want to subscribe to it in fairness.
    ehh, yeah, that's my point -because it is pure crap, so let it die. Your use of the term "in fairness" sounds like you might be disagreeing with my suggestion or think its a bad idea or something, it's not clear to me.

Right now some treat it like an optional subscription service anyway, but it's not, and many are illegally not paying for the service, which they still use, and others are forced to pay. People are already with holding payment en masse, so other law abiding people pay their way.
    In September 2016 the evasion rate was estimated at 13.75%, representing approximately €40m annual lost revenue.

Of course the fcukers hiding behind the curtain like to act like there is no victim :rolleyes: some may genuinely be that stupid that they do not realise it.

If people want to protest they could at the very least contact TD, or protest on the streets like many non payers of the water charges did.

If it did become subscription they would be forced to stop the squandering. In other threads I mentioned Ben Dunne appearing on TV3 and commenting about the utter wastage in RTE compared to them, having all these employees doing stupid tasks behind the scenes which he saw. On TV3 the same lad doing interviews does the sports, or the weather. In RTE they needlessly overpay someone with a degree in metrology or whatever, or have overqualified journalists reading a teleprompter.

Many would subscribe, many believe the licence is good value for money, if the squandering stopped the subscription could possibly remain the same price as the current licence fee, even with low takeup.

A study on it was done before BTW in 2004.
    The associated opinion poll recorded agree:disagree percentages of 54:29 for the statement "Public Broadcasting should be financed by the licence fee."[38] Respondents were asked what level of monthly fee they would be prepared to pay to receive RTÉ if subscription access were hypothetically to replace the licence fee: the annualised mean and median household figures were €180 and €252.60, compared to the then licence fee of €150, with those who frequently watched RTÉ programs most willing to pay.[
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_licensing_in_the_Republic_of_Ireland#Collection_and_evasion

[/B]

It's just the comedy department for me.

I think they do most other things well to be fair.

They have a comedy dept? Who even knew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    They have a comedy dept? Who even knew

They do. It's a complete joke.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

This show looks pants alright but I really enjoyed the series Des did on spending a year in China to learn Chinese. It was a great mix of humour and getting a ground level view of life in various parts of the country.

Bacchus wrote: »
    They do. It's a complete joke.

:o

i dont get it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Radio5

He'll be on the Dancing show after Christmas so they'll be no escaping him even after this series is over...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I love Des Bishop.

Didn't like this show though.

Radio5 wrote: »
    He'll be on the Dancing show after Christmas so they'll be no escaping him even after this series is over...........

his next 4 shows on RTE after dancing will be..

Des Bishop - How i learned to dance
    Des Bishop - How i coped with life after dancing
    Des Bishop - Teaching the Chinese how to dance
    Des Bishop - I forgot the Irish that i learned so im doing it again

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

mdwexford wrote: »
    I love Des Bishop.

Didn't like this show though.

I wouldn't say I love him but I do like him.

The TV reviewer on Moncreiff made a good point that Des is actually quite good at talking to people and would be better suited to a chat show than one where he's reading cue cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I always switch channels when Bishop is on. Can't stand the smug git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

This is dire stuff, just switched it on by accident there. The licence fee going to good use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Watching the repeat now about vaccines. Des took an easy shot at Jenny McCarthy. Why didnt he take a shot at any of the Irish celebs who are anti vaccine? George Hook is anti HPV vaccine despite the science.

No one ever wants to call out Irish celebs for their actions. Its easy to attack british or american celebs. If you do this type of show, you have to have a backbone and expect to make enemies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

rubadub wrote:
    Well, we get the letter in the door to the occupier but don't want to be pursued so never send in our names. Technically that's probably evasion. I just prefer never answering my door to anyone, ever and keeping under the radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Gonna be brave here and say I quite like Des and found most of the show pretty good, especially when he calls out bullsh1t. Didn't know what the bit with Jim Sheridan was about but found it a lot more enjoyable than say the Saturday Night Show or The Cutting Edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Vorenus400 wrote: »
    Watching the repeat now about vaccines. Des took an easy shot at Jenny McCarthy. Why didnt he take a shot at any of the Irish celebs who are anti vaccine? George Hook is anti HPV vaccine despite the science.
    Could be to avoid the awkward moment in the RTÉ canteen the next day... Didn't he mention Rosanna Davidson the week before.

In all seriousness he was giving out about people with influence, what Irish celebrities have that kind of influence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Mediocrity seems to be a prerequisite for a place in the Irish media elite. Maybe there's a consensus not to allow the status quo be upset by any brighter or better.

Certainly I agree that over the years RTE has indulged alot of mediocre comedy.
    Why does Des Bishop feel the need to pepper every other sentence with the F-word? Hasn't he heard of cliche? Or is it the syndrome of the drowning man grasping at straws? The first and greatest test of a comedian is the ability to make people laugh without resorting to crass vulgarity which is neither funny nor witty. Profanity is the crutch of the inarticulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

His show on the minimum wage was good, with a bit of humour involved, but certainly not comedy.

When he tries to make a point, he's not bad. When he tries to be funny, he's really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

feargale wrote: »
    Certainly I agree that over the years RTE has indulged alot of mediocre comedy.
    Why does Des Bishop feel the need to pepper every other sentence with the F-word? Hasn't he heard of cliche? Or is it the syndrome of the drowning man grasping at straws? The first and greatest test of a comedian is the ability to make people laugh without resorting to crass vulgarity which is neither funny nor witty. Profanity is the crutch of the inarticulate.

Couldn't disagree more.