Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security on the Dart

• 09-12-2016 9:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

So, this mornings (7.20 am) dart journey from Shankill to town, I had the pleasure of sharing the last carriage with 6 lads who were clearly off their nuts.
    If you ask yourself how I know they were off their nuts, it's because they openly discussed smoking crack before getting on the dart.  They took a 4 seater each and made it as uncomfortable as possible for other passengers to sit down. They openly discussed the price of a bag of crack (€15 in case you are wondering) they then had a detailed discussion how someone stole some hash from them and then the highlight of the trip was when 2 of the group went to the space in between the carriages and had a smoke. One of the group was also discussing if should put his head through the glass as his crack was wearing off and he needed a joint!!!!! While there was no specific incidents there were several occasions where people moved carriage to avoid something kicking off
    While I appreciate most anti social behaviour is in the evenings / night time surely every dart should have a security team no matter what time to ensure the safety of all passengers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Did you report the incident to CIE staff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Montiii

Yeah, tweet within 5 mins of getting on the dart - no reply and again at Connolly when both myself and the gentlemen got off.

Said they would look into it!!!!

Edit to add, no chance was I calling anyone while they were within earshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Write a letter or email and also if you feel it is necessary contact gardai especially at the time if possible.

This sort of behaviour should not be tolerated and I would have no problems making this aware to them las I do in my job also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

More than likely trying to put on the hard men act. Most people like this are full of hot air.
    Quiet as mice when on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

More than likely trying to put on the hard men act. Most people like this are full of hot air.
    Quiet as mice when on their own.
    You would'nt want to find out the hard way that you got that wrong.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

And that's exactly what these people thrive on. Stand up to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Why put yourself in unnecessary risk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Montiii wrote: »
    So, this mornings (7.20 am) dart journey from Shankill to town, I had the pleasure of sharing the last carriage with 6 lads who were clearly off their nuts.
    If you ask yourself how I know they were off their nuts, it's because they openly discussed smoking crack before getting on the dart.  They took a 4 seater each and made it as uncomfortable as possible for other passengers to sit down. They openly discussed the price of a bag of crack (€15 in case you are wondering) they then had a detailed discussion how someone stole some hash from them and then the highlight of the trip was when 2 of the group went to the space in between the carriages and had a smoke. One of the group was also discussing if should put his head through the glass as his crack was wearing off and he needed a joint!!!!! While there was no specific incidents there were several occasions where people moved carriage to avoid something kicking off
    While I appreciate most anti social behaviour is in the evenings / night time surely every dart should have a security team no matter what time to ensure the safety of all passengers

So 1 journey had a few antisocial people on board and you want security on every train! How many security personnel do you want on each train, because for safety they have to be able to out number the people that they are dealing with, so for them 4 lads you'd need at least 8 security and since there's more than one carriage you'll need the same in each carriage. Then we'll need them on the buses as I've often smelt smoking on buses, so another 8 security on each bus. Pretty soon public transport will be so full of security that passengers won't be able to get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

A patrolling transport police would be enough to satisfy most. Given proper legal powers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Yes, a roving transport police would be welcome.

On a slightly different point, is there a reason that many of those employed by the present private security company look like they sleep under the arches in their uniforms? Even though they are dealing with the detritus of society there's no reason why they have to look like a larger version of same. I'm not doubting their ability to do the job but their appearance is quite off-putting to this member of the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭sporty56

About four years ago I emailed IR suggesting that a text number be displayed on trains to report antisocial behaviour discretely. I got two phone calls from gents in Connolly saying it was an excellent idea and they expected relevant decision makers to have it implemented quickly. No signs yet !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Yes, a roving transport police would be welcome.

On a slightly different point, is there a reason that many of those employed by the present private security company look like they sleep under the arches in their uniforms? Even though they are dealing with the detritus of society there's no reason why they have to look like a larger version of same. I'm not doubting their ability to do the job but their appearance is quite off-putting to this member of the public.
    Keeping theirs heads down and who could blame them. Inlaw they even though they are security they cannot legally touch a person; otherwise they could be done for assault.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,154 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

roundymac wrote: »
    Keeping theirs heads down and who could blame them. Inlaw they even though they are security they cannot legally touch a person; otherwise they could be done for assault.

Unless they are Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

This is why I avoid Dublin like the plague, unless absolutely necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yew_tree

It is a wider problem in this country as society is light on law and order in general. I was on a train at Penn Station in NYC recently getting ready to head back to Newark Airport. A junkie came on board shouting and being a general menace. Within minutes two port authority cops landed, asked him to step of the train to which he got thick, then they just grabbed him and pulled him off the train, a no nonsense approach.

I couldn't see that happening here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Rashers72

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Rashers72 wrote: »

17.05 to Sligo also had problems, reported passengers caught hold of him and kept him until they arrived!

4 in one day must be a record!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Jem72

The Sligo line incident was some colourful local giving racist abuse. Unfortunately for him he had the bad luck to pick a carriage where two off-duty gardai were travelling.

This was resolved no thanks to Irish Rail since this was in the back half of the train where no staff member had access during the journey. Well done to the guards involved - they handled it with such professionalism that they got a round of applause after the individual was removed from the train.

"The spokesperson such incidents are highly unusual for Iarnród Eireann, particularly for one day, and were entirely unrelated." (SIC)
    Indeed