Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parthenaise dispersal sale Mountrath tonight

• 08-12-2016 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭

Anybody going? Will be interesting to see what prices are made since the society have had no sales up to now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I might go. There's a special weanling sale on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Might see you there so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Did either of ye bring anything home ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Over 3k for cows with calves at foot. Young calves at that. Saw one tank of a springer, very nice but to much muscle to get a calf out IMO make €2850.

Young bulls 450kg roughly very young go for €2500. Very small bulls. Very Nice stock bull 1200kg I think went for €2750 very nice bull.

The less fancy stock made normal money and a few of the bulling heifers were a good buy at around €1200/1400

But by fcuk parthenaise make a lim look very quiet. Pure nutters. How anyone will calve them or work with them I don't know.

Bullocks wrote: »

Offloaded three weanling bulls! Empty trailer coming home :-)

Bullocks wrote: »

Came home with an older cow with an August born heifer calf at foot for 2400

Stars had a big bearing on pice on the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

But by fcuk parthenaise make a lim look very quiet. Pure nutters. How anyone will calve them or work with them I don't know.

Funny you mention that. I have a couple of PT weanlings heifers kept for breeding and they are fierce nervous. They certainly dont like to be cornered but once left alone they seem to be ok.

There was 3 tramps there alright but the rest were grand. Out of 60 odd lots that isnt to bad. There was one lady that should have been on a hook though.

I have to say that my parthenaise crossbreds are the quietest weanlings around the place. I had one lad that I was able to pare his foot as he lay down.

Don't know if its due to the cross or due to the particular bull

There was 3 tramps there alright but the rest were grand. Out of 60 odd lots that isnt to bad. There was one lady that should have been on a hook though.

I have to say that my parthenaise crossbreds are the quietest weanlings around the place. I had one lad that I was able to pare his foot as he lay down.

Don't know if its due to the cross or due to the particular bull

I felt the same, although I didn't see the cows go through the ring I looked at them outside and saw a nice few being loaded. They were no worse than a lot of herds I've seen.
    The one penned on her own away from the rest was dangerous. I dunno how anyone could look at her.
    The maiden heifers, young bulls, and mature bull I saw in the ring and they were all fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Maybe its time the marts stopped these dangerous breeding cows going through. At the mart during the week and there was one char cow charging and head-butting the gate when people passed by. Saw her selling and they kept the cow before her back in the ring to keep her quiet. All I'm thinking is some poor devil bought her thinking he was getting a good deal. Maybe an old fella sitting up the back. An accident waiting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

Have to agree with u there Patsy there's enough farm accidents every year,the only place for a mad yoke like that is in the factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Maybe its time the marts stopped these dangerous breeding cows going through. At the mart during the week and there was one char cow charging and head-butting the gate when people passed by. Saw her selling and they kept the cow before her back in the ring to keep her quiet. All I'm thinking is some poor devil bought her thinking he was getting a good deal. Maybe an old fella sitting up the back. An accident waiting to happen.

At least you have a chance to know she was wild. A older neighbour bought 3 heifers at a mart and you could rub them in the pen. He only buys quiet ones but the next day you couldn't get within 50 yards of them. Took months for them to settle enough and then it took about 10 lads to round them up into the shed and off to factory. Vet told him them must have been sedated on the mart day.

I have 6 partanaise at present from BZB and Hurricane Gonzo. Gonzo calves are pets and the three BZB cows are quiet but are from quiet cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

You might be lucky with the bull bass I'd say. That one by herself didn't go into the ring the mart wouldn't allow her in. I know one of the lads in the mart and he said when he was sorting them that a few of them were pure loopers.

A few more parts went in after the main sale that were flighty but one real nutter. I had to laugh as the auctioneer said after the hammer went down that "she's a grand one if you can catch her on the way out"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Offloaded three weanling bulls! Empty trailer coming home :-)

Better than spending money any day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

I don't know lads I have 5 pedigree part cows mixed in through the rest and they are a complete joy to work with, they wont even move out of the way of the hand scraper. I have no problem with them after calving either. Maybe if I moved them off the farm into a mart environment they would lose the run of themselves, not sure...