Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thesis

• 05-12-2016 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭

I have to write a thesis for my diploma at Trinners.

I've drawn a complete blank and am considering resorting to plagiarism. :eek:

All suggestions for a topic are most welcome.

For some reason I fear I may be leaving my tail dangerously exposed for a dose of "internet sodomy"...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

For some reason I fear I may be leaving my tail dangerously exposed for a dose of "internet sodomy"...:eek:

Write "Trinners" on the cover .. you'll get a guaranteed first class honours.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

And you're asking after hours? Wow you really are desperate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Why Trinners is for Winners and UCD is for Useless Culchie Dummies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Why Trinners is for Winners and UCD is for Useless Culchie Dummies.

And if you're in DIT you always Do It Tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's only plagiarism if you copy one person. If you copy loads of people, that's technically research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Transgressing the Boundaries: Towards a Transformative Hermeneutics of Quantum Gravity

or

Atomic Energy will have been made available to a single source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

You didn't mention your field! Is it the upper or the lower one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

How about "Do Woodpeckers Get Headaches?"

I would have thought yes, but who knows? You should find out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

It might be helpful if you gave some sort of info for your degree subject...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

'magine bring a woodpecker on a Sunday morning after a hape of pints on a Saturday night watching the rugby. And a shot, for the laugh. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Racism against black cats.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

#blackcatsmatter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

It might be helpful if you gave some sort of info for your degree subject...
    It's in the field of Engineering.

If I were to simply write: "Oh! Oh, how I yearn to cleanse this great seat of learning, so ravaged She has been by the ills of Papism" I imagine I'll automatically pass.

And I would have thought no.

Evidently, OP, this needs addressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If I were to simply write: "Oh! Oh, how I yearn to cleanse this great seat of learning, so ravaged She has been by the ills of Papism" I imagine I'll automatically pass.

Racsim against feline engineers of colour.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

dfeo wrote: »
    And if you're in DIT you always Do It Tomorrow

NCAD - Nobody Can Actually Draw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

I was pretty much in the same boat.... looking for a topic. Here's what worked for me.

There should be a thesis library in your dept. Go in and start reading previous years Theses (or check out a title list first). Another good idea is to get an interlibrary card and go to another similar engineering faculty in a different college.

1. You'll hit on an area that you find interesting.
    2. You'll see what's been done already.
    3. You'll start to come across the most appropriate and relevant references.

Look and see if your supervisor or any other faculty staff have any publications.

Keep your expectations very low... and keep repeating the mantra "I just need to pass, I just need to pass, 40% will do me grand". For a masters thesis you will generally not discover anything new (that's PhD level), your supervisor and corrector will have seen it all. It's just to see if you can construct an argument (which is what thesis means) and attack it with research and critical thinking.

Just keep reading and typing, at the moment it doesn't matter how crap it is, just type and get used to typing a lot.. read a journal article or book, copy and paste the reference into a word doc and jot down a few thoughts in a second column.

What's your deadline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

https://pdos.csail.mit.edu/archive/scigen/

This is for science papers, true, but if you just find some common word in the document, and replace all instances thereof with the word "Engineering", you should be grand.

-Ficheall, PhD, BSc, Dip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Trinners is doing diplomas? What's next? The Summa Cum Laude certificate with oak leaf cluster?

I feel a right hissy fit coming on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Don't copy anything whatever you do - didn't they announce they use scanning software soecifically against other thesis in libraries soecifically against that a few years back - 4 years ia a long time to come out expelled & unemployable.

Do you have a tutor or allocated thesis tutor yet? Go to them & ask for help - that's what they're paid for! Your tutor ( if allocated) will have an interest or soeciality in a particular research field and may steer you in the direction they are expert or interested in .

Or - you could figure out an industry or area you migjt soecifically want to work in ( or whrre there is lots of peer reviewed literature about) & choose there - tidal technologies, bioengineering, Pharma, Food Research , whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

If you quote and reference the stuff you're copying in a footnote etc., you can use somebody else's material but it won't be plagiarism.

So copy all you want once you don't try to pass someone else's work off as your own.

In that way, it's easy to pad out a meagre outline into a whole thesis of mediocre waffle.

I hope you are not looking for top marks, with this level of advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

s4uv3 wrote: »
    'magine bring a woodpecker on a Sunday morning after a hape of pints on a Saturday night watching the rugby. And a shot, for the laugh. :eek:

Woodpeckers may be stupid, but they're not stupid enough to watch rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Something along the line of 'The Industrial IoT & the 4th IR's effect on H+''.

Because by 2030 20, the only Engineers there will be left, might be the ones taking direction from the 'AI auto-bots', feeding off their own collective supreme cloud consciousness.

Of course 'random, chaos-driven, non-logical' creative human thinking may still be of some slight use, depending on how far Deepmind & Co progress...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

I Thin you are taking the peesis.. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I would go with something people wouldn't bother reading about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Why Trinnars is bettar than other places"

There, you have a title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Engineering you say eh!

Here's a title for ya

' how perpetual motion works '

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Here's a title for ya

how perpetual motion works in Space

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Doesn't matter what the course is, engineering, computing, biological science, mathematics, medicine, do it on the cinematic works of Sam Peckinpah.

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Woodpeckers may be stupid, but they're not stupid enough to watch rugby.

So how about..

How stupid does a woodpecker have to be to get so drunk that they wake up the following morning with a blinding headache, a six pack of empty hunky dory packets on the ground and The fields of Athenry playing on loop on their mobile?

Research question #2: how the fcuk can a woodpecker get registered for a mobile phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Students.

Bag of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The correlation of Far-Left Politics and Mental Health Issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

“Academic Dishonesty in Contemporary Engineering Diploma Programs: A Case Study”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Analytic and Algebraic Topology of Locally Euclidean Metrization of Infinitely Differentiable Riemannian Manifold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Hmmm. Here's a kinda serious answer. I come from an electronics back ground and I always though it would be interesting to do a thesis on IED's from a detonator POV or explosives if it suits your style of engineering more. I've never looked into it but I'm 90% certain I could make a detonator with an old mobile phone, a battery and a few transistors. Before anyone screams terrorist at me, it is at least an interesting topic and if your interested in your thesis you may do better. Probably should leave it off of the internet though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

"Why Engineering is not a science." And then just litter it with quotes from The Big Bang Theory.
    "Engineering. Where the noble semiskilled laborers execute the vision of those who think and dream. Hello, Oompa-Loompas of science."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Watch some of those Russian "Trust Me, I'm An Engineer" videos: plenty of inspiration in there for literature review and case studies. Call it something like "Vernacular Engineering in the Former Soviet Union, 1991-2010". Be sure to include "vernacular" in the title, which is academic shorthand for "amateur bodge job" - your thesis advisor will appreciate that. ;)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

If it's engineering you're sorted. You can talk about Sandwich Engineers. Waste Collection Engineers. Why Thomas the tank doesn't have ears? You're only limited by your imagination.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

MarkR wrote: »
    If it's engineering you're sorted. You can talk about Sandwich Engineers. Waste Collection Engineers. Why Thomas the tank doesn't have ears? You're only limited by your imagination.

Or the Aerodynamics of a Cow

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Dr Jakub

'Homosexual bathhouses in the Post Truth era'

Guaranteed First. Will require a lot of primary research though.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Dr Jakub wrote: »
    'Homosexual bathhouses in the Post Truth era'

Guaranteed First. Will require a lot of primary research though.

You spelled "fist" wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

That reminds me of a story I once read about a plane carrying cattle that ran into some mechanical trouble far out to sea. Realising that they were in serious difficulty, they were forced to lighten the plane by lowering the ramp and dumping their cargo. Not the nicest story, but the image of a herd of cattle falling from the back of a plane has stuck with me.

mikhail wrote: »
    That reminds me of a story I once read about a plane carrying cattle that ran into some mechanical trouble far out to sea. Realising that they were in serious difficulty, they were forced to lighten the plane by lowering the ramp and dumping their cargo. Not the nicest story, but the image of a herd of cattle falling from the back of a plane has stuck with me.
    Weirdest bit of that story is that it started off as an insurance claim from a Japanese trawler

http://www.snopes.com/critters/farce/cowtao.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

mikhail wrote: »
    Analytic and Algebraic Topology of Locally Euclidean Metrization of Infinitely Differentiable Riemannian Manifold.
    Knew I recognised the title, but had to google to remind me from where. Nice :)