Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016, how was it for you?

• 03-12-2016 9:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I know globally 2016 has been seen a a bit of a disaster, New World Order etc, a lot of famous faces passed, and I've lost close relations too, but on a very personal level 2016 has been a very positive rebuilding one.
    I'm in my house in my bed, cats close by and I'm very thankful for the position I find myself in. My mental health is great as is my physical one reasonably robust and I have such wonderful friends and family too. I could do with shedding a few(?) kgs, maybe thats a plan for 2017...
    So all in all 2016, not a bad year.

How was it for you boardsies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Grand, so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's been good so far

Made plenty new friends,
    shaked up my life in rather extreme ways...

More content and happy with myself now than I've been in years......and looking forward to 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

It's been good so far

Made plenty new friends,
    shaked up my life in rather extreme ways...

More content and happy with myself now than I've been in years......and looking forward to 2017

that sounds great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Noone close to me died which was a big plus, I lost both parents and 3 aunts last year so it had to get better.
    Bought a house, moved from job A to job B and now back to job A again.
    So overall it's been a hell of a lot better than the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

i had a great year. Two deaths in my extended family, but overall it was very positive. I made huge changes in my life and I'm going into 2017 optimistic and excited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

2016 was a year I will never forget, that's for sure. Lat May, all of June and into early July were the worst weeks of my life when my daughter was very very seriously sick. It all worked out OK though - so it was a happy year overall. Could have been better but she's OK at the mo and that's all that matters really!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Mostly dreadful. A few good things in there though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Hopeful2016

Awful. The worst in my memory. Started the year with health issues, which I thought were going to be the main worry for 2016 but have been blindsided by totally unrelated and unforeseen health problems since August. Face going in to Xmas waiting on test results which will round up months of living from one hospital appointment and test to the next. Have never been so happy to see the back of a year and will only be wishing for good health this Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Laois_Man wrote: »
    2016 was a year I will never forget, that's for sure. Lat May, all of June and into early July were the worst weeks of my life when my daughter was very very seriously sick. It all worked out OK though - so it was a happy year overall. Could have been better but she's OK at the mo and that's all that matters really!

Happy things are ok :)
    Good year for me. All people close to me good, healthy and happy,
    Buying a new car and being financially happy is just a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Still alive...

I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

So far it's been about 11 months 3 days and 21hours 37minutes long

I'm hedging my bets for another 12 monther, why's it always the same?:confused:.....

Mixed bag. First half of the year my form wasn't great. Came out the other side. Feeling good now which doesn't make me afraid of going back to that form.
    I know a lot of changes lifestyle wise need to be made so that I can be happy and healthy in 2017

Bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Good year for me. No major shocks or disasters. Plenty of work done. Learned a lot of new subjects I enjoy, bought and listened to a lot of very enjoyable records. My wallet though is fooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooookd due to that enjoyment

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Finically terrible,

Mind body & health fantastic .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

2016 had a lot of highs..... beautiful times that I wanted to pause or rewind and do again....and lows that I came through and still smiled even if it was only on the outside. If 2017 could just do the highs.....that would be great thanks..... :D

Finically terrible,

Mind body & health fantastic .

my mother always said don't worry about money, I think she's right. (She also goes by the mantra of not spending what you haven't got)

I didnt have a job at the start of this year, things were bleak, but I got through it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Belle E. Flops

3 deaths in the family within the first 3 months which was tough, but since then it has been pretty positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

It's been great so far!
    My daughter was born hale and hearty. I passed a competitive exam which got me into my dream job, which I started in September and I'm mad busy but I'm really enjoying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

It's been mostly tough. A few good things but mostly it's been a difficult year.

However I'm a firm believer the we learn from difficult situations and they help us grow so I determined to not let the **** beat me and use it to my advantage.

I haven't lost anyone close so on that score it's been good and I should be starting a new job in the first quarter of the year, hopefully that will all work out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

It was alright for me, family & friends, although its been a bit odd on the world stage what with Brexit, Trump, etc + sooo many celebrity deaths, like so many more than a 'normal' year ...

Well that's the impression I get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

it was the year where i, like....really realised some stuff....and everyone around me is like...realising stuff. so yeah...like i guess you could say i really realised a lot of stuff this year. i cant wait to realise like a lot more stuff next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Pretty much sums up 2016. A year I would love to forget but never will for all the wrong reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Dreadful. Started off well, I turned 50 last year, and was having a year of me, was meant to run from May to May this year, but that was cut short when my son died suddenly in March. So a few months passed in a blur, but then I started running in July - very slowly at first - to get out and about, and have found a new interest. Am aiming to do the Dublin city marathon now next October, so I guess large parts of 2017 will be spent training for that, and a couple of events on the continent that I'd love to do if I can afford to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Great year. Brexit, Trump and it's looking like more right wing governments across Europe.

Take that, liberals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

The s1ttiest sh1t that ever sh@t sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Very very hard. Family and health problems have caused severe stress which have recently been made even worse by an unpleasant individual who just can't leave things alone and move on from the past.
    Sadly I can't see next year being any better as my partner's father was diagnosed with a serious illness a couple of months ago. He's elderly and I don't think he seems inclined to fight it and I have an awful feeling that we may lose him in 2017 😢

Saipanne wrote: »
    Great year. Brexit, Trump and it's looking like more right wing governments across Europe.

Take that, liberals!

Mother Merkel will save us 😝

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Absolutely awful. In April I was told an old illness had resurfaced. My mum had heart surgery in June. My dad had brain surgery that month and was diagnosed with stage 3 brain cancer had passed away in July. I lost my job in October and now have to have a pretty major surgery In January so it has been pretty ****ty.

Good things I have the most wonderful friends who have been there for me through all of this, a really old friend who I thought I had lost for good came back into my life. We also had a lovely family wedding as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

It's been a year of drastic change, that's for sure, if you'd told me on January 1st that things would be the way they are now a year later I genuinely wouldn't have believed you or thought it even possible.

But I'm very happy! Lots of new things and new experiences and new people, here's to that continuing in 2017 :)

Brilliant generally, only low point was a family member being diagnosed with kidney disease. Common enough in Yorkshire Terriers apparently but still tough to take. Medication is doing it's thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭spud82

****. Lost my business, my home, got really sick and two surgeries. So basically a **** of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

A bit blah for me. No major changes, which I'm a bit frustrated about. (But I'm not complaining, as nothing much bad happened and I'm very grateful for that).

It's given me the kick up the arse I needed to shake things up a bit and hopefully move forward in the next year though. Roll on 2017 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭noaddedsugar

Financially it has been the best in a long time. Our children are doing great. I'm setting up a business that I am really excited about. Then few weeks ago my husband got seriously ill, I got a call out of the blue from the hospital telling me he was in resus and to get there asap. Thankfully he is doing better but it is going to be a long road ahead with lots of tests and medications. So what I thought was going to be one of our best years yet has turned into one where right now I am not sure how I feel. I think I am still in shock tbh at just how quickly life can be turned upside down and how if my husband hadn't have gone to hospital when he did we could be facing a very different future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

It's been ok. Like others here health issues are surfacing and as I age the inevitable starts: your world just narrows. I'm content most days to stay at home and I'm grateful I have my own place and can do that. I've been feeling just burned out and used up and I want to winter well. Lots of rest and lots of silence. We'll see what the Spring brings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

Good I guess, I got a Leaving Cert no one expected (Teachers came up to me afterwards saying I must of put in a lot of work outside of school and that they had no idea I would come out with the points I got). Got into my first choice college. Made a lot of new friends who took to nicknaming me in the second week.. every party since then people have been asking who is '...' or asking how I got the nickname , met some girls too, lost my v card..
    On a less positive note, I've struggled to stay positive, even though things are going good I've a habit of looking at the negative or waiting for it to arrive but I'm working on changing it and a lot of people think I'm confident.
    Overall, good. I'm happy with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Better than 2015. Was diagnosed as terminally ill last year. Still am, obviously, but the shockwaves have worn off and the maintenance treatment I'm on is working really well. I feel great. When I was diagnosed, seeing 2017 was an uncertainty, now seeing 2018 is very likely.

Just got married too. :)

Sent a big fuck you email yesterday to a terrible boss I had a few years ago who really affected my confidence badly and had a negative effect on my mental health. It really marred my last few healthy years and I am very angry towards her because of that. I don't have to worry about work references now so could let loose. Was very cathartic and satisfying.

So at the moment, I'm pretty content. 2016 was not too bad at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Kinda **** tbh.
    Workwise going around in circles.
    Probably do something completely different next year and be ****ing amazing.

Dumb ****ers just didn't recognise genius when they saw it.
    Ha.

/I may be a tiny bit drunk

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Pretty shyte

Have had chronic back pain the whole year (have had back pains on and off for years but never on this level). Diagnosed in March with ankylosing spondylitis and so far, the immuno-suppressant meds aren't working as expected to alleviate pain and help me function normally. Add in a clatter of anti-inflammatories and paracetamols to try help me cope on a daily basis, doubt that's helping the oul' liver!

Meanwhile, my mother is terminally ill, after having surgery done earlier this year to remove cancer in her bowel, but it progressed to her pelvis. On the upside, she was given about a fortnight, but is still with us 3 months later. Writing is still on the cards, just nobody knows when...

Fcuk 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

It's been great so far!
    My daughter was born hale and hearty. I passed a competitive exam which got me into my dream job, which I started in September and I'm mad busy but I'm really enjoying it.

Pretty similar for me. Coasted through the first half of the year in a haze of apathy but around May/June found out my OH was pregnant and applied for a promotion in work. Got the role and found out she was having a girl which rounded out the family nicely. Last few weeks of the pregnancy were a nightmare for her, involving trips back an forth to doctors and hospitals but she had the baby last week and both of them are healthy.

byte wrote: »
    Pretty shyte

Have had chronic back pain the whole year (have had back pains on and off for years but never on this level). Diagnosed in March with ankylosing spondylitis and so far, the immuno-suppressant meds aren't working as expected to alleviate pain and help me function normally. Add in a clatter of anti-inflammatories and paracetamols to try help me cope on a daily basis, doubt that's helping the oul' liver!

Meanwhile, my mother is terminally ill, after having surgery done earlier this year to remove cancer in her bowel, but it progressed to her pelvis. On the upside, she was given about a fortnight, but is still with us 3 months later. Writing is still on the cards, just nobody knows when...

Fcuk 2016

I'm so sorry. Both about your mother and the chronic pain. Before I was diagnosed, I was practically mainlining painkillers to no effect. It's a frustrating business.

byte

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    I'm so sorry. Both about your mother and the chronic pain. Before I was diagnosed, I was practically mainlining painkillers to no effect. It's a frustrating business.
    Thanks for that! Do you have AS, may I ask? Or another chronic condition?

TBH, I'm trying to come to terms with my condition and failing. Hopefully next year, they'll switch me to a biologic jab that'll work!

Thanks for that! Do you have AS, may I ask? Or another chronic condition?

TBH, I'm trying to come to terms with my condition and failing. Hopefully next year, they'll switch me to a biologic jab that'll work!

Well, no, I have actually have cancer. But before I was diagnosed, we didn't know what was causing the pain and several chronic conditions were mentioned. I was eating painkillers like sweeties!

I really hope you find a way to control the pain. Chronic pain grinds you down. It really affects life quality.

Anyone else find that "2017" is one of those years that shakes you up, like "how the hell can it possibly be "that far into the future"" ... I got that in 2010, 2011 and then it died away until now. "Twenty-seventeen" sounds really futuristic to me. Also, that there is only 3 more years left of the 2010's, really don't intuitively feel that 7 years have passed since 2010. It will be much easier for future historians to create a mental image of the 2010s than the 2000s I'd say - the fashions and social-media/technology-related stuff will look so "of this era" in a couple of decades.

byte

Well, no, I have actually have cancer. But before I was diagnosed, we didn't know what was causing the pain and several chronic conditions were mentioned. I was eating painkillers like sweeties!

I really hope you find a way to control the pain. Chronic pain grinds you down. It really affects life quality.
    Sh1t, sorry to hear that. :( Makes my woes pale in significance to yours. I hope it's under control.

It is for the time being. :) I don't think it means other illness pale into insignificance. Chronic illnesses can be tough to endure and can really affect the quality of life of the sufferer. They shouldn't be underestimated, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Sorry to hear about that Jamie man, you sound strong enough with a good mindset you will beat the thing by the sounds of it. A good friend of mine was also similarly sick, got through it and beat the thing with the exact same mindset you are showing. Fair play

Make America Get Out of Here

byte

It is for the time being. :)

Long may it continue! :)

Sorry, I hadn't noticed your earlier post on it until I just scrolled back there. Congrats on your marriage by the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭CaptainR

For me it was a lot smoother than 15, I had an unwanted house move in 15 that did turn out better than expected to be honest but still the stress of it wasnt great for me or my family.

I've had good craic this year with the lads. Went to a few road races with my dad which is always nice. Got the new house looking good. Have a part time job on the weekend that pays good. Got my first big bike which to a motorcyclist is a milestone.

Most people in the world would take our hands off for the offer of our worst years so when a year has gone good according to yourself then you'd really want to thank the gods that you've been so lucky.