Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Items that will always be worth there money

• 29-11-2016 10:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭

Half thinking of buying a 10x5 double car trailer with ramp and mesh sides. Was looking at buying new for around €3000. Then seen a few second hand for around €2000 which are still in good condition.

I am nearly after convincing myself that if I justified the new trailer, it should always be worth nearly what I paid for it. I would be good to mind machinery by always washing them after use and putting them into a shed.

Do ye ever look at buying an item with the view that it will always be worth the money if you ever needed to sell it again and by getting use out of it in the meantime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Half thinking of buying a 10x5 double car trailer with ramp and mesh sides. Was looking at buying new for around €3000. Then seen a few second hand for around €2000 which are still in good condition.

I am nearly after convincing myself that if I justified the new trailer, it should always be worth nearly what I paid for it. I would be good to mind machinery by always washing them after use and putting them into a shed.

Do ye ever look at buying an item with the view that it will always be worth the money if you ever needed to sell it again and by getting use out of it in the meantime?

Often that way here yes, always regards to very fresh second hand machinery though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You are the kind of lad that should always be buying new. You know what you have with a new yoke and if you mind it it'll still be as good as new in 5 and 10years time. It's only dear the first day when writing the cheque.

But say at purchase price of €3000 with no loan, after 10 years it has cost you a little over 80c a day to cover purchase price. Say around €1/day if you allow for a set of tyres and few small bits over the 10 years. Would you be without it for that? (God l should be in sales :))

I guarantee you its worth at least 2k at that stage with the way you'd have it kept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Needed to trade in the tractor here the last while, and the last year or so it's been the general accepted fact that there aren't really enough clean 2nd hand tractors around (100hp 4wd loader tractors anyways), so I've been looking at new yokes, or the odd clean 2/3yr old. However no matter what way I look at the figures I can't see buying new being worth it, I'd be shelling out the best part of 40k alongside my own yoke. I've just come across a very clean 2010 tractor now and should get away with 15k alongside myown tractor. Far far far better value in my opinion than any new tractor I could have got.

It's all about finding that sweet spot though, in some cases like with that trailer the sweet spot is brand new, with me and the tractor it most certainly was an older tractor than I'd expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

A tractor is a different story alright. Was more talking about new machinery purchases of <€5000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭20silkcut

I gave 2 grand for a second hand 10 foot ifor Williams 2 years ago definitely one of the best purchases I ever made. Aside from the transport of animals I used it for bringing the contents of an entire stand to the ploughing match the last 2 years. I use it for shifting furniture for the mother I use it for collecting up bushes after cutting I use it for transporting a compact tractor I used it as a skip for gutting a house. It has nearly paid its way in 2 years. Great yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭massey265

A saying comes to mind, "the day you buy is the day you sell" buy good and it will always be worth money if you need to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭stanflt

Timmaay wrote: »
    Needed to trade in the tractor here the last while, and the last year or so it's been the general accepted fact that there aren't really enough clean 2nd hand tractors around (100hp 4wd loader tractors anyways), so I've been looking at new yokes, or the odd clean 2/3yr old. However no matter what way I look at the figures I can't see buying new being worth it, I'd be shelling out the best part of 40k alongside my own yoke. I've just come across a very clean 2010 tractor now and should get away with 15k alongside myown tractor. Far far far better value in my opinion than any new tractor I could have got.

It's all about finding that sweet spot though, in some cases like with that trailer the sweet spot is brand new, with me and the tractor it most certainly was an older tractor than I'd expected.

Sounds like great value

Sold this yoke- just shy of 10k hrs and worth 30k- over priced imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,489 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

stanflt wrote: »
    Sounds like great value

Sold this yoke- just shy of 10k hrs and worth 30k- over priced imo

Yes ours is worth more now than when we bought it 16 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,945 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

massey265 wrote: »
    A saying comes to mind, "the day you buy is the day you sell" buy good and it will always be worth money if you need to sell.

It will still depreciate in value. Having said that we all need a trailer or two. I have a 2 wheels trailor that is 6.5'X4', I am always using it. it has mesh sides as well. Bough it second hand over 10 years ago. Carry everything and anything. Spend 300 euro on it about 3 years ago got it painted replaced the mudgards and floor and rewired the lights. It collects barley, bring home timber, coal and turf. The odd load of sand a few concrete blocks now and again. Young lad's can put it behind there car as well as they has not done the trailer test yet.

The beauty of it is no problen hitching or unhitching it or putting it away in a corner. Would not be without it. Have a 8X5 box as well, Only issue with double axle trailers is lience and weight restrictions to tow. Them I know I have the same issue with the two wheel trailer but it getting the use out of the box/double axle trailer to make it pay. You need a 2T rated jeep to tow anything with it. This is really comming to the fore now.

3K for the tariler with the mesh side is a nice spend. I would have a look second hand first. At the end of the day no matter how well you keep it it will still be only worth 2K in 10 years time. In reality you will need a jeep to tow it if anything on it. I can even carry a quad on the two wheel trailer. I seriously look at a good two wheel trailer unless I had a lot of work for the 10X5. Another thing if you buy one buy it with the wheels outside the body rather than underneath. The one with the wheels underneath is a bit high for working with and as well wheels have a habbit of bursting if you have a heavy load.

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I bought a 14ft beaver tail trailer a few yrs back for €1000, I knew I got a good deal when the lad that sold it to me came back to me after 2 months wanting to buy it back:o

I've used it to bring OH's car home when the engine went in it 100 miles away, 12 round bales of straw can be squeezed on to it, it's used in the winter to collect ration. Only problem is you'll never be short of friends when you have a decent trailer.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Timmay did you buy off a dealer or private?
    been looking for a long time and its impossible to justify the price of some 2nd hand stuff.

working full time and 2 small kids so no time to be heading up north for "bargains" so its really limiting my search.
    I was planning trading but old lad is fond of the basic tractor he has so its a straight deal for me.

MF dealer nearest to me has this for 33K...crazy to me

https://nfm.ie/used-products/tractors/2006-massey-ferguson-5445-with-q30-loader

other than that its John Deere or Landini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Dozer try for a late model 390T 95/96 will be under 20000 and an extra 10HP

IMO alot second hand trailers could be worth SFA once guards enforce the rules

Dozer1 wrote: »
    Timmay did you buy off a dealer or private?
    been looking for a long time and its impossible to justify the price of some 2nd hand stuff.

working full time and 2 small kids so no time to be heading up north for "bargains" so its really limiting my search.
    I was planning trading but old lad is fond of the basic tractor he has so its a straight deal for me.

MF dealer nearest to me has this for 33K...crazy to me

https://nfm.ie/used-products/tractors/2006-massey-ferguson-5445-with-q30-loader

other than that its John Deere or Landini

No deal done yet, I definitely need to look at the tractor and make sure it's definitely what I want 1stly, but anyways off a reasonably local dealer. I did price up afew Northern dealers and a large Landini dealer out west, they were very competitive on straight prices but very little interest in myown tractor.

On that mf, 33k if it's including vat it actually isn't too far off the mark, although them photos aren't near good enough to tell how well looked after it is, I've seen some utter wrecks with 4600 abused hours and other utterly mint tractors that clearly weren't worked hard for the hours on it. You'd think that dealer would go to the effort of giving the tractor some sort of wash and take a dozen or so photos before they bother to advertise it. You will pay a premium of 7/8k for an mf that age over a similar Landini/case etc, however the mf should hold its value and be easier to resell. My dad would have liked an mf but the dealers were looking for likes of 28k alongside our own tractor for a 2012 mf, or 44k for a new one, now that's mental money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Ideally looking for electronic shuttle knees aren't the best so that rules out alot of the 1990's stuff.
    To add to the list of items holding value I've a 2nd hand Nugent 12x6 and 8x5 aerlite cattle trailer worth every penny I paid for them. Moved house twice with them lawn mowers log splitter power washer the lot end up in them.
    You have great piece of mind when you have the right gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Builders trailer. Bought it 8 years ago second hand replaced the floor boards and sides last year. does everything hay, meal, straw, gravel, sand, blocks timber, turf even the odd silage bale.
    A good sharp knife. Everyone should have a pocket knife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Who's going to buy a secondhand pocket knife?

Now patsy you know as well as I do. There is a customer out there for everything. A fool born everyday.
    By the way I have one for sale if your interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

barnaman wrote: »
    Dozer try for a late model 390T 95/96 will be under 20000 and an extra 10HP

IMO alot second hand trailers could be worth SFA once guards enforce the rules
    When are these rules going to be enforced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

I.d always ask what are you going to use it for and how often will you use it?
    If it is only occasional use and you find 90% of what you would be carrying would fit in a smaller trailer you really have to think why?
    If you need it everyday for something and you need it that size then it is a no brainer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

20silkcut wrote: »
    I gave 2 grand for a second hand 10 foot ifor Williams 2 years ago definitely one of the best purchases I ever made. Aside from the transport of animals I used it for bringing the contents of an entire stand to the ploughing match the last 2 years. I use it for shifting furniture for the mother I use it for collecting up bushes after cutting I use it for transporting a compact tractor I used it as a skip for gutting a house. It has nearly paid its way in 2 years. Great yoke.

Did same. Couldnt agree more. Will transport 60m2 of insulation. Collect rubbish from jobs. And youd hardly know your pulling it. Just keep it washed after cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Just goes to show, buy a ifor or other quality brand trailer and you'll get a lifetime out of them. Even after 10 years you'll nearly get your money back. The auld fellow here bought a ifor horse box for around £3500 pounds 15 years ago and sold it for €2500 there last year. Thing still looked new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

No deal done yet, I definitely need to look at the tractor and make sure it's definitely what I want 1stly, but anyways off a reasonably local dealer. I did price up afew Northern dealers and a large Landini dealer out west, they were very competitive on straight prices but very little interest in myown tractor.

On that mf, 33k if it's including vat it actually isn't too far off the mark, although them photos aren't near good enough to tell how well looked after it is, I've seen some utter wrecks with 4600 abused hours and other utterly mint tractors that clearly weren't worked hard for the hours on it. You'd think that dealer would go to the effort of giving the tractor some sort of wash and take a dozen or so photos before they bother to advertise it. You will pay a premium of 7/8k for an mf that age over a similar Landini/case etc, however the mf should hold its value and be easier to resell. My dad would have liked an mf but the dealers were looking for likes of 28k alongside our own tractor for a 2012 mf, or 44k for a new one, now that's mental money...
    5 years @ 6k a year for second hand v 7 years @ 6.5k a year for new.

Those figures are more or less the same I was given earlier this year so I went for new where I have a warranty and a fresh tractor.

5 years @ 6k a year for second hand v 7 years @ 6.5k a year for new.

Those figures are more or less the same I was given earlier this year so I went for new where I have a warranty and a fresh tractor.

3yrs at 5k alot easier to swallow! Early Xmas present for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Did Reggie sell?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭White Clover

Well wear timmay! Christ the dairy lads are all creaming it!! that's 5,members on here off the top of my head who have all bought new rigs this year........ Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭mayota

Well wear T.