Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Train "Etiquette"....

• 22-11-2016 2:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭

.... for want of a better word.

I travel each morning up to Dublin and I've noticed that lately there seems to be a glut of "business people" on this train.

Quite frankly they're starting to get on my ****!

A laptop I don't mind - I have a book and a phone for music - but they have papers spread out on the table and refuse to move! One told me he was doing "important work here" - told him he should have finished it before he left like the rest of us!!

This morning there were two people on the outside seats, inside seats empty with what looked like a week's worth of paper spread out on the table. Two or three backpacks in the aisle - and having a very lively meeting. At 6.30am.

When asked to be quiet they said (paraphrasing now) "We paid for tickets so **** off".

Is this widespread or have I just been unlucky to get a bad run of self important gobsh***s on my commute ???!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

It is not too widespread thankfully, still a greater chance of noise and disruption from more undesirable passengers, but the seat blocking is fairly common among the Business group who feel they are entitled to two seats because they want to work or don't want anyone sitting beside them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

I travel each morning up to Dublin and I've noticed that lately there seems to be a glut of "business people" on this train.

A laptop I don't mind - I have a book and a phone for music - but they have papers spread out on the table and refuse to move! One told me he was doing "important work here" - told him he should have finished it before he left like the rest of us!!

This morning there were two people on the outside seats, inside seats empty with what looked like a week's worth of paper spread out on the table. Two or three backpacks in the aisle - and having a very lively meeting. At 6.30am.

When asked to be quiet they said (paraphrasing now) "We paid for tickets so **** off".

Is this widespread or have I just been unlucky to get a bad run of self important gobsh***s on my commute ???!!
    id say its more because your getting involved and being nosy, people in general dont tell strangers to **** off on the train unless their being a pain in the hole. the language used is often representative of how someones approached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

foggy_lad wrote: »
    It is not too widespread thankfully, still a greater chance of noise and disruption from more undesirable passengers, but the seat blocking is fairly common among the Business group who feel they are entitled to two seats because they want to work or don't want anyone sitting beside them.

i travel to cork regularly for work most weeks up and back for 1 or 2 days , always get the train and have to say i'm totaly guilty of hogging , laptops, papers, dialing into 9am meetings the lot ... never been called out for it on a train though that early train to Cork seems to be mostly business folk anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Mortpourvelo

i travel to cork regularly for work most weeks up and back for 1 or 2 days , always get the train and have to say i'm totaly guilty of hogging , laptops, papers, dialing into 9am meetings the lot ... never been called out for it on a train though that early train to Cork seems to be mostly business folk anyway

Well this is a train coming from Limerick and covering three commuter stations.

That behaviour is not on. Oh and earlier poster - the users were asked could they move, they said no, person said "please there are no other seats" - then "no, f**k off".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Participating in conference calls on a public train, apart from being disrespectful to other passengers, surely brings into question confidentiality issues if sensitive company business is being discussed? Let me guess, you'd use a speaker phone in an open plan office even though it's just a 1:1 conversation that no one else needs to hear or you pace up and down the aisle with your headset to let everyone know you're busy and important? Every office has one of them, always male for some reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Been there for a loongg time mate.
    In July 2005, I paid for 1 FIRST CLASS Ticket to Galway return, from Hueston.

So....I board the train....go to the first class carriage.

At my assigned seat, this single business man, middle age thereabouts has occupied the whole table with his laptop and documents.

No I say a word to him. I was 33 at the time.

I imagine if I did challenge him, the mo - fo would give me a lecture as a "young man" and emphasize that he had ofcourse purchased a first class ticket too.

Don't know what he's doing now. Fu<k him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

ongarboy wrote: »
    Participating in conference calls on a public train, apart from being disrespectful to other passengers, surely brings into question confidentiality issues if sensitive company business is being discussed? Let me guess, you'd use a speaker phone in an open plan office even though it's just a 1:1 conversation that no one else needs to hear or you pace up and down the aisle with your headset to let everyone know you're busy and important? Every office has one of them, always male for some reason!

no wouldn't use the auld speaker phone , its not a confidentiality issue tbh most meetings don't tend be discussing customers personal info or company sensitive stuff so your golden there.

i wouldn't give much thought to others on the train tbh like loads of people do it , or take calls from family or friends or have screaming kids with them or music too loud etc cant get bent outta shape by every little thing now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

5rtytry56 wrote: »

At my assigned seat, this single business man, middle age thereabouts has occupied the whole table with his laptop and documents.

I imagine if I did challenge him, the mo - fo would give me a lecture as a "young man" and emphasize that he had ofcourse purchased a first class ticket too.

So, you didn't say anything to him but you were sure what he would have said if you had. :rolleyes:

I found it amusing to be told not long back (when I had a seat and someone getting on at Kildare did not) that "professionals" travelled this route.

Whereas I was travelling from the Midlands in the p**sing down rain for fun and giggles !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I've been guilty of sitting on the outside, though with just a laptop in front of me. But it's not all that often and I have no problem moving my stuff of asked.

You can't always assume someone entirely ignorant just based on an interaction. Not everyone doing work on the train is like that.

I've been guilty of sitting on the outside, though with just a laptop in front of me. But it's not all that often and I have no problem moving my stuff of asked.

You can't always assume someone entirely ignorant just based on an interaction. Not everyone doing work on the train is like that.

True - and most will move, but there are those who will not!

"I'm doing important work here!!"

Hilarious. Tenner says it's Candy Crush or leprechaun porn.

Del.Monte wrote: »
    So, you didn't say anything to him but you were sure what he would have said if you had. :rolleyes:
    Pretty much.

He had a chat with his client/customer/subordinate saying that
    "no, deal is'nt going to be approved....blah blah blah..." negative snotty tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

In London they would of moved his stuff and sat down.

Grow a set.

But telling somone to be quiet is a bit over the top its public transport. If you want quiet take a taxi.

afatbollix wrote: »
    In London they would of moved his stuff and sat down.

Grow a set.

But telling somone to be quiet is a bit over the top its public transport. If you want quiet take a taxi.

Quiet's one thing but these were f**king LOUD!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

If they're that important why haven't they got a chauffeur driven limo to ferry them around?

I remember a guy with a laptop and other equipment telling me and another passenger in a 4 passenger berth to move to one side of the booth so he could fit his stuff on the table. He asked me to plug in his laptop before I moved. I told him I wasn't his secretary, I wasn't moving and to plug it in himself!

More recently 5 months ago I was in a third class carriage going to Dublin from Belfast. My laptop was on the table and plugged in. A middle age woman sat beside me on the same side with her iPad - sorry I don't know which type. I pointed out the free power socket remaining - on the other side. She happily sat on the other side and plugged in her iPad. I think she was Norn' Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

i think I'd be inclined to facetime my Grandson...... should improve their meetings.

More recently 5 months ago I was in a third class carriage going to Dublin from Belfast. My laptop was on the table and plugged in. A middle age woman sat beside me on the same side with her iPad - sorry I don't know which type. I pointed out the free power socket remaining - on the other side. She happily sat on the other side and plugged in her iPad. I think she was Norn' Irish.

You're in a time warp now - there hasn't been 3rd class on the railway for years. I still find your level of detail about the other train journey 11 years ago incredible - it must have left you badly scarred. Imagine if he had actually told you to **** off. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Benefits of being 6 foot 6. They'll ask politely for me to move in, or the person will move in when I tell them to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Quiet's one thing but these were f**king LOUD!!!!

Unless it's a quiet carriage I also would of told you shove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

That behaviour is not on. Oh and earlier poster - the users were asked could they move, they said no, person said "please there are no other seats" - then "no, f**k off".

Someone hogs an outside seat and they won't allow you enter to sit down . I'd walk over him with my size ten working boots to get in . Bloody tickets are dear enough !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭XPS_Zero

Can I ask other frequent train users about two things

1. Is there a que for a train door? I once had to run to make the Rosslare train at Connolly and just got to the first door first carriage as it was pulling in, I was told off as I sat down because others had been waiting longer and I should have let them on first.

There was no que as you would for a bus, just a scrum of people in the vague area of where the doors might be when it stopped
    I have to wonder why there would be as it was the trains first stop thus there were ample seats so I wasn't depriving anyone of anything. I also didn't coinciously shove past anyone I ran up to the train with some other people on my right the door ended up closer to me I got on when it opened

I replied to the man I'd never known a que for a train living beside a rail station my entire life and he easily got a seat (in front of me) so wasn't put out

2. Another time on a different train when I'd already been waiting there ages the doors opened I waited for the others to exit then stepped on. By the comment under her breath to her friend the older (not old) woman to my left felt it was ungentlemanly for a young person to not let an older person on first. Why does 1.5 second delay in boarding the train count as some kind of grave social faux pas?

I understand shoving past somone, not surrendering your seat for somone sick pregnant or senior but do we now have age based ques stacked for boarding now? I've often let other people on ahead of me as a courtesy if there was a huge number trying to get through one door, especially if they are older and say there's a freezing wind or rain battering us but this was none of that, only about four of us heading for that door

Am I a complete douchebag? Partial douchebag? Or is some of this asking too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

People are thick. Stupid. Self absorbed. I hate listening to someone waffling on their phone on the train or a bus. Nobody needs to hear your conversation. Have a bit of manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I see UCDVet is moving up in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

mfceiling wrote: »
    People are thick. Stupid. Self absorbed. I hate listening to someone waffling on their phone on the train or a bus. Nobody needs to hear your conversation. Have a bit of manners.

Was over in France for the Euros. If you want to take a call you have to leave the carriage. The do so many thing right over there

XPS_Zero wrote: »
    2. Another time on a different train when I'd already been waiting there ages the doors opened I waited for the others to exit then stepped on. By the comment under her breath to her friend the older (not old) woman to my left felt it was ungentlemanly for a young person to not let an older person on first.

I understand shoving past somone, not surrendering your seat for somone sick pregnant or senior but do we now have age based ques stacked for boarding now?

Am I a complete douchebag? Partial douchebag?

2. a) you answered your own question: yes.
    b) italics: no. you're just nudder train passenger or whatever they're called on the trains.

Does anybody else think it's rude to bring a bag of stinking takeaway food onto a train and stink out the entire carriage? I won't name the establishment that sells the food but the curry chips are very popular and much of the foods smells like it has been eaten before.

I suspect the same takeaway food is the reason for the weird stains on IE train seats.

Disgusting.

The fast food outlet in question is in the station I gather. ;)

Yes :D

The station is full of junk food outlets. Even one of the bookshops started selling junk to keep up. Prof Donal O'Shea would have apoplexy if he ever had to go to that particular train station. It's fuelling the obesity crisis big time!

Get rid of the fast food outlet and put in a dry cleaners instead. A dry cleaners at the station would be very handy for sorting out the stains you get on clothing from the filthy seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Not widespread, if they are hogging seats ask them to produce a ticket for the seat, shouldn't be long moving in.
    Does anybody else think it's rude to bring a bag of stinking takeaway food onto a train and stink out the entire carriage? I won't name the establishment that sells the food but the curry chips are very popular and much of the foods smells like it has been eaten before.

I suspect the same takeaway food is the reason for the weird stains on IE train seats.

Disgusting.

I agree however I and I'm sure others who hate it are also guilty of it as I am from time to time.
    ______

One of my many problems with people on trains is people (ladies mostly) taking shoes off and putting feet on seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Not widespread, if they are hogging seats ask them to produce a ticket for the seat, shouldn't be long moving in.

I agree however I and I'm sure others who hate it are also guilty of it as I am from time to time.
    ______

One of my many problems with people on trains is people (ladies mostly) taking shoes off and putting feet on seats.

This ^^^ it boils my p!ss.

Another bug bearer of mine is when the bag opens and out comes pouches and bags of makeup, and the transformation begins..... Really, there's no need for it, do your feckin makeup before you leave the house FFS.

On one occassion some old bint applied copious amounts of hairspray and perfume right opposite me; I had to move the stench was so strong.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,895 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i was once on a bus where a passenger was clipping his toenails. i hadn't realised what the noise was until i was disembarking. told the bus driver, but i didn't see if he did anything about it.

Deank wrote: »
    Another bug bearer of mine is when the bag opens and out comes pouches and bags of makeup, and the transformation begins..... Really, there's no need for it, do your feckin makeup before you leave the house FFS.

Perhaps the people putting makeup on in the train get up at 6am to catch it and are making the most of their time on the train.[/QUOTE]
    On one occassion I some old bint apply copious amounts of hairspray and perfume right opposite me; I had to move the stench was so strong.

Maybe that was her intention. Somebody who spent years in London and was a regular tube traveller told me that it was a common practice for women to spray a cloud of perfume around them to dissuade stinky fellow travellers.

I agree that it is rude to spray perfume and hairspray in somebody's face (not your own) but it is even ruder to get onto public transport smelling like a polecat. One passenger on my train line can be smelt from the other end of the carriage. It's a combination of BO, cigarette smoke and a coat that has never been washed since it left the shop he bought it in. He has that coat a number of years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Jamie2k9 wrote: »

Ladies' feet don't stink...or so they have us believe.

Think it's far worse feet on seats with shoes on, esp. with the amount of errant dogs fouling the country.

Teens sharing their tinny music with everyone within earshot is another one, headphones have been invented, use them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

520d2cc8154a7.jpeg

Very tasteful - I'll have that image in my head now as I head for bed. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Bowlardo wrote: »
    Was over in France for the Euros. If you want to take a call you have to leave the carriage. The do so many thing right over there

They do so many things wrong over there too. If you go to Germany, they have no problem given out to you for speaking too loud on the train or eating on it. Yet they would go through you for a shortcut and not apologise. Does that mean Germans have better manners as they dont eat on trains or speak loudly on them? No because the other 99% of the time you spend dealing with them in supermarkets and on the street is a nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Very tasteful - I'll have that image in my head now as I head for bed. :D

It's a real Queensland rail promotion that has been hijacked by the internet. There's a lot of them :D

i was once on a bus where a passenger was clipping his toenails. i hadn't realised what the noise was until i was disembarking. told the bus driver, but i didn't see if he did anything about it.

I thought seeing someone putting on nail polish once was bad - that's disgusting!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I have to admit I enjoy it when the train makes a sudden jerk or brake just as your wan is applying her mascara and it ends up in her ear....ouch!!:D

ongarboy wrote: »
    I have to admit I enjoy it when the train makes a sudden jerk or brake just as your wan is applying her mascara and it ends up in her ear....ouch!!:D

It's not just me!!!!!! ;)

Emme wrote: »

Disgusting.

I travel on the train twice a week going to Cork. I have been guilty of bringing a smokey bacon burger onto the train but it was because there was no other option open to me. The food they sell on the train is way over priced and very unsatisfying. Not that the burger from said establishment isn't much better. In modern ireland "hot food" on the train is soggy, microwaved stodge.

There used to be an actual dining car where people could go and eat if they wanted to, and about 30 years ago they served a fantastic steak.

Blur were right. Modern life is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

There used to be an actual dining car where people could go and eat if they wanted to, and about 30 years ago they served a fantastic steak.

absolutely. but as you know, the modern railway is about bottom of the barrel at high prices. funnily enough it's the same in the uk, and even funnier, we have had for the past decade or so managers from that exact railway. if rail cannot compete on speed or price then the on board environment must be of a high quality so that people at least get something for their money. but shur what would a rail user like me know. CIE knows best.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Can the last person through the door at each stop in the morning (now that it's bloody freezing again), please hit the button to close the door instead of leaving it open for another half a minute or so? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

There used to be an actual dining car where people could go and eat if they wanted to

And a proper (but small) bar that served beer, spirits, packs of Tayto and especially over the holiday periods would have some eclectic characters "home from England" only too willing to chat, a bit like a proper pub.

n97 mini wrote: »
    And a proper (but small) bar that served beer, spirits, packs of Tayto and especially over the holiday periods would have some eclectic characters "home from England" only too willing to chat, a bit like a proper pub.

Like the one on the Enterprise or better again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

I haven't been on the refurbished Enterprise, but the old one was more like a deserted Spar than a proper bar.