Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yieeeelded so much PlahShah - Christmas ads you HATE

• 20-11-2016 3:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭

God I hate that feckin ad. "Dan's Stores". The fella in it looks about 30, his wife looks about 55, and the whole idea of Dunnes being a wannabee M&S just p1sses me off.

Another one is the Aldi/Lidl one, with a crappy, almost branchless tree that looks like it came from one of their shops. Both good ads for putting people off shopping in those places.

What do the rest of yiz think?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZyV7Dw_tC8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

This one used to make my blood boil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

The smug head on yerman:mad::mad::mad:

Hated the John Lewis "Man on the Moon" ad from last year. Complete schmaltz overload. And so many scientific inaccuracies!! :pac: I prefer Buster the Boxer, or the one with the bear and the hare a few years ago. Animals are much cuter than old people or pretentious children.

Not a fan of the Sainsbury's one with James Corden this year. Fair enough if it raises money for charity but the ad/song itself are just really meh. And way too damn long.

On the plus side the Guinness ad, Coca Cola ad, the old Corn Flakes ad and the Budweiser one with the clydesdale horses are all classics. The current Aldi one with the carrot is cute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

The current Aldi one with the carrot is cute.
    Reminds me too much of Sausage Party to be cute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I like the dog looking at the ham though, in that Dunnes ad. So I'll give it 4/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭galvo_clare

God I hate that feckin ad. "Dan's Stores". The fella in it looks about 30, his wife looks about 55, and the whole idea of Dunnes being a wannabee M&S just p1sses me off.

Another one is the Aldi/Lidl one, with a crappy, almost branchless tree that looks like it came from one of their shops. Both good ads for putting people off shopping in those places.

Isn't yer one his mother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

At least we don't get this on Irish TV, but apart from the normal manipulative schmaltz, it's really patronising to old people. What I take from it is that grandparents are befuddled toys for our amusement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

That's the one with the guy perving on young girls, then looking through people's windows? Yeah, creepy dude.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Isn't yer one his mother?

Is she? How the hell is the viewer supposed to know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Marks and Spencers' ad that's been running for at least two weeks now:

'It's not too late to order your shopping for Christmas delivery'

Why the holy fúck are they running this ad in November? How much bloody notice do they need to put your grocery order together????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

The Tesco ad with the letters, and it's on every ad break.