Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fashion advice

• 19-11-2016 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

Hey lads,

New on here so be cool 😀

When it comes to clothes... especially for hitting the town I overthink the **** out of it lol!
    But nah I like to dress good when I'm out I feel more confident then you know.
    Thought it would be cool if we had a thread on here (if there isn't one already) for men's fashion advice?
    So anyways I'm looking some inspiration for a nice shirt to go with my navy chinos, brown shoes and possibly burgundy jacket.
    I was thinking possibly picking up a nice grey jumper also to wear over the shirt.
    Open to any ideas coming my way !
    Cheers lads 👍

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Brown shoes look like you try to camouflage the fact you step in shte regularly.

.....seems to be the common conclusion of the women I know from provincial town ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,436 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

You've alot going on there colour wise with the navy, brown, burgundy and grey. Not sure throwing another colour into the mix would be a good idea.

Burgundy and navy is not a match I am loving tbh although a pic could change my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Burgundy and navy are going to be quite dark together, hard to look past a well-fitting crisp white shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

The problem with most Irish lads is they 'try to look well' but it looks ridiculous like wearing a rotten shirt from the local rural department store.

If you go to NY, London or Dublin, most lads are well fitted jeans ie slim jeans(not rotten boot leg jeans), good casual shoes like nice Nikes/Adidas(the proper pricey casual ones and not runners) and a well fitting t-shirt. There is fashion designers like Marc Jacobs and Riccardo Tisci (head designer of Givenchy) who only wear jeans, nikes and t-shirts even on nights out.

Slapping on a shirt and chinos does not make you fashionable. Looking well in a well fitted t-shirt, jeans and casual shoes does. Go to any decent club in Dublin that isnt pretentious and you will see hardly any/if not no shirts or chinos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

newacc2015 wrote: »
    The problem with most Irish lads is they 'try to look well' but it looks ridiculous like wearing a rotten shirt from the local rural department store.

If you go to NY, London or Dublin, most lads are well fitted jeans ie slim jeans(not rotten boot leg jeans), good casual shoes like nice Nikes/Adidas(the proper pricey casual ones and not runners) and a well fitting t-shirt. There is fashion designers like Marc Jacobs and Riccardo Tisci (head designer of Givenchy) who only wear jeans, nikes and t-shirts even on nights out.

Slapping on a shirt and chinos does not make you fashionable. Looking well in a well fitted t-shirt, jeans and casual shoes does. Go to any decent club in Dublin that isnt pretentious and you will see hardly any/if not no shirts or chinos.

You have a point. Jeans and t-shirts do have their place but I think people are entitled to aspire to more than that and are right to look for alternatives. I've never seen a t-shirt and jeans make a man more handsome than he actually is. I think ordinary looking men might need a bit more than that to stand out.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

A slim puffer jacket underneath an overcoat is a look I'm really liking this winter. Toasty and practical, and I like that it gives a little variety to the usual men's options.

Also loving grandfather collared shirts (or are they called mandarin collars?), particularly with a v-neck tee underneath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

That combination doesn't sound really bad to me but white us really the only colour shirt can go with it.

I don't see why tbh. Could wear almost any colour underneath, depending on the colours of the rest of it.

121211Luke_2005Web.jpg

... although I think he's wearing a gilet there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

The culchie uniform sticks out on nights out.
    Swap the brown shoes for a pair of converse, vans old skools, Cortez or new balance. You could also go with a pair of desert boots from River Island.

Keep it to a max of 3 colours, anything more is a mind **** for the eyes!

Go with slim or skinny jeans but not too skinny it depends on the thickness of your legs.
    Your jeans should end at your shoe, you shouldn't be stepping on them or pulling them down to cover your calves.

Go for round/crew neck jumpers. I tend to wear these on nights out, no particular reason they just suit me.
    River Island, ASOS and Topman are going to be your best friends.

Fit is the most important thing, avoid very bright colours too.

Nightclubs aren't too strict on dress code in most places, so long as your in jeans or chinos (wouldn't recommend the latter) and you look somewhat presentable.

Avoid hair gel. Go with a wax, gum or just something that doesn't harden your hair into a weapon. And wear aftershave/cologne! Lynx won't cut it!
    Check out Male Fashion Advice and Streetwear on Reddit,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

What's the story with younger lads wearing skinny tracksuit bottoms!? Is this a thing now?

The look ridiculously camp!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

Pac1Man wrote: »
    What's the story with younger lads wearing skinny tracksuit bottoms!? Is this a thing now?

They're comfortable as hell, more lads I know where them instead of jeans. And gay/camp lads are known for dressing well.. plus I know lads who got them because their gf bought them for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

newacc2015 wrote: »

Depends on age too i don't think you could get away with that look into your 30's as easily. Whats looks dressy at a certain age starts to look too casual as you age. It gets more so as the decades go by. Think of what it takes a 50 year old man to look appropriately dressed compared to a 20 year old or a 30 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Pac1Man wrote: »

Starting wearing them recently I feel so much better in them then regular ones