Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night before wedding advice

• 17-11-2016 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

Hello,
    In two minds about whether to stay at my family home on the night before wedding or stay at the venue where the wedding is being held. Either option is equally viable as I live <1hour from the venue. Any tips or advice on what you did/what your plans are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Unz88 wrote: »
    Hello,
    In two minds about whether to stay at my family home on the night before wedding or stay at the venue where the wedding is being held. Either option is equally viable as I live <1hour from the venue. Any tips or advice on what you did/what your plans are?

My fiance is staying in the hotel the night before with her mam and 3 bridesmaids they have hairdressers , makeup artists , nail tech's etc coming to the hotel the morning of the wedding and all getting ready together in the bridal suite. Me and the lads have rented a house on the hotel grounds together the night before are playing 18 holes golf in the morning and then getting ready together.

were getting married in Kerry though so miles from where were both from in Dublin and Kildare. but one of the reasons we looked at going so faraway was for her to avoid having to get ready in Kildare , her mams house is tiny so there woulda been no comfort in it for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

I'm half thinking of getting ready in either the hotel or my own house (rental), my mam and dads house is small, we *could* make it work, but one of my sisters and my mam aren't on speaking terms so small proximity may not be ideal.. Only thing is my house is about 30 mins east from church, mams house is about 5 mins west from church, and hotel is about 25 mins from it same direction as mams! I don't want to put more expense on my family, its a Christmas wedding as it is! Also don't want my "getting ready" photos in our rental house, its grand but its not the cosiest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

We plan to book a room in the hotel the night before. We'll both stay there, have breakfast/ brunch together with our bridal parties and then split to get ready apart before a first look before the ceremony.

We could stay in the house but I like waking up knowing I don't have to worry about weather or traffic or anything like that trying to get into the city centre for the wedding from our house in the burbs!

mcgiggles wrote: »
    I'm half thinking of getting ready in either the hotel or my own house (rental), my mam and dads house is small, we *could* make it work, but one of my sisters and my mam aren't on speaking terms so small proximity may not be ideal.. Only thing is my house is about 30 mins east from church, mams house is about 5 mins west from church, and hotel is about 25 mins from it same direction as mams! I don't want to put more expense on my family, its a Christmas wedding as it is! Also don't want my "getting ready" photos in our rental house, its grand but its not the cosiest!

I thionk if you want the nice photos the hotels the way to go we have the photographer with us for the fist hour and a half were out on the course , then he's heading back to the hotel to picture the girls getting ready, then to the house we have rented to get pics f the lads getting ready too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭GingerLily

I'll be staying with my partner at the venue the night before the wedding, I can't imagine not waking up beside him at such an important moment in my life.

I like the idea of being at the venue because then we'll be able to deal with things that happen at the venue. And also well have settled in the night before and will have less to worry about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

We got married in my wifes hometown, so she stayed in the family home. I stayed in the hotel and it was one of the best parts of the weekend - a lot of people on my side of the invites stayed there too, and the night before was great. Its easy to lose track of people on the day so it was great to catch up with everyone the day before, and even introduce people who wouldnt otherwise have known each other, so they enjoyed the next day better too.

Most hotels will throw that in for free too Id imagine - mine did.

GingerLily wrote: »
    I'll be staying with my partner at the venue the night before the wedding, I can't imagine not waking up beside him at such an important moment in my life.

That's a really lovely sentiment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

GingerLily wrote: »

We stayed in our home together the night before too, got ready together just the two of us the following morning, with the make-up artist and photographer coming to our place. Any other way would have seemed unnatural to us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

I just had a brainwave (for my predicament) but it may help others :) I decided to look up airbnb and see if there was anything around that would sleep my family the night before that would be cheaper than the hotel.. and closer to the town I found a place that would sleep all of us (7or8) for the price of 2 hotel rooms and you have the whole house, its actually closer for my hair and makeup people to come to from where they are and the grounds are stunning for photos! My parents new house is a little 2 bed cottage, and there just wouldn't be the space to get ready not to mind for 5 girls to stay along with them :) I'm delighted now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Malari wrote: »
    We stayed in our home together the night before too, got ready together just the two of us the following morning, with the make-up artist and photographer coming to our place. Any other way would have seemed unnatural to us :)

I was planning on staying at the venue with my fiance and getting ready together. I'm with you on this one! Everyone else thinks it's daft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

paulers06 wrote: »
    I was planning on staying at the venue with my fiance and getting ready together. I'm with you on this one! Everyone else thinks it's daft!

It's not daft, it's just a bit different. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭GingerLily

paulers06 wrote: »

I am happy to have a few hours seperated, I guess it gives us both time to realise what about the happen and should make the surprise seeing each other at the ceremony that bit more special ......... but it's totally a personal thing, if it's unnatural for you to be seperated in the morning/lead up then don't do that!

It's YOUR day do it YOUR way, screw outdated traditions!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Jentle Grenade

Staying together the night before is a lot more common now I think. We're going to stay together the night before our wedding too and I know a few couples who've done the same in the last few months. We're getting married locally so staying in our own home and we have some relatives from abroad staying with us. I had to float the idea of getting ready separately yesterday to my wife to be, went down like a lead balloon...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

We stayed in the hotel the night before and it was great. Fun to have a few drinks with anyone who was there and then we didn't have to drive an hour in the morning.

If you're getting make up or anything done just be sure to ask for a room with plenty of light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

I stayed at home and my OH stayed in the hotel. A lot of our friends were staying in a different hotel close by, so we met anyone that fancied it there the night before. We left about midnight, practiced our vows and OH dropped me at my parents place and he went to the hotel. Was good fun and some of the guests wouldn't have known many people got to know some other friends and family and enjoyed the wedding a lot more because they knew more people. My boss's and his wife wouldn't have known anyone else at the wedding but got to know some of my OH's college lads the night before, had a great craic with them and are still in touch. Was nice for the people the that traveled to meet other people. Nice for us to have some casual time with them as well. It wasn't an official thing just told people we would be there if they fancied it, did something similar the day after.
    Going out the night before meant my parents house was quiet which was nice for them. I loved getting ready at home and the photographer got some lovely shots, its an old farm house, she really made it looks lovely. Was just something lovely about my last morning at home with my family before married life. Also liked the idea of seeing the look on my OH's face when he saw me at the church. Its a really personal thing, can totally understand wanting to spend he whole day with your OH it is a long time before you see them on a day thats about you as a couple. If i were to change anything about our day it would be to get married a bit earlier. (I was not impressed that a ton of the guests were late and I was on time so had to leave and come back after 10 mins!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

We kind of had the best of both. We got legally married the day before our wedding, so on the marriage day we woke up and got ready together. That was really lovely. That evening we went home with our respective parents. I stayed in my parents' house and he stayed in the hotel with his folks. We only saw each other again when I walked down the aisle in my wedding dress!