Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Japan fixes vast Fukuoka City sinkhole in two days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/nov/15/japan-fixes-vast-fukuoka-city-sinkhole-repaired-two-days

Wow. When you look around Dublin City Centre now and it looks like one giant sinkhole, it's amazing what you can do with efficiency and hard work. Why does everything take so long in Ireland?

Whereabouts in Dublin exactly?

I'm heading into town later and don't want to fall in.

Thanks.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

The Japanese don't fúck about, that's why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/nov/15/japan-fixes-vast-fukuoka-city-sinkhole-repaired-two-days

Wow. When you look around Dublin City Centre now and it looks like one giant sinkhole, it's amazing what you can do with efficiency and hard work. Why does everything take so long in Ireland?

Well, you first have to check with your union to see if filling a hole this big is part of your job description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Hiroshima was destroyed in 1945 by a 4000 kg atomic bomb.

Why can't we stop fare evaders on the Luas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Tell 'em to fix Fukushima. It's been 5yrs.

But to be fair, the chaps at Chernobyl are only now getting a shield dropped on the 1986 disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I would not be holding Japanese work practices up as a shining light. But it is impressive that they filled that hole in so fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Winterlong wrote: »
    I would not be holding Japanese work practices up as a shining light.

Sure didn't they deploy Kaizen (改善) 'continuous lean improvement' after WW2 to produce hi-quality products. Where possible I'd tend towards Jap' made goods, whether cars, guitars, cameras and most other white & consumer goods. Great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

They must have pretty good project managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭wawaman

maybe if they had built it right in the first place the sinkhole wouldn't have appeared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Shows how fuucked up our expectations of service are when all we can do when we see proper workmanship is make fun of it.

Well done us !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

_Brian wrote: »
    Shows how fuucked up our expectations of service are when all we can do when we see proper workmanship is make fun of it.

Well done us !

Is that the before or after photo you're referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If it happened here there would have to be first a 2 month survey to see if any wildlife would be impacted by fixing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Would they not stop and lean on a shovel, or gather around and look into the hole for a while?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭westcoast66

I met two council workers last week. One was digging holes while the other was filling them in. They told me that their colleague who plants the trees in the holes was off sick....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Did they not find some Viking artefacts in the hole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I would not be holding Japanese work practices up as a shining light. But it is impressive that they filled that hole in so fast.

Knife goes in, guts come out that's what Osaka seafood concern is all about.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

The Japanese are well known for being a very hard working people and even going as far as working themselves to death which is known as Karoshi.

Interesting article about it here.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/asia-pacific/japanese-employees-working-themselves-to-death-1.2859466

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The Japanese are largely an efficient and industrious people. The Irish are not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

The Japanese are largely an efficient and industrious people. The Irish are not.

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/ireland/productivity

This tells a different tale, with Ireland higher than the Japanese.

Not sure if the statistics are hugely comparable, but to say the Irish are somehow stand out inefficient and not industrious is BS.

But, some people gotta rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I worked in Tokyo with a large electronic brand for a couple of months in 2014. From what I saw they definitely are not efficient. Hardworking - yes.

The have good productivity rates when it comes to manufacturing existing products.
    But it takes them too long to do anything that is not documented in a nice neat process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

Yeah, they're great until you start sniffing around what they were (or weren't) doing in their nuclear industry over the years.
    Fukushima should never have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

jester77 wrote: »
    Well, you first have to check with your union to see if filling a hole this big is part of your job description.

Then the government would set up a working group to draw up a report on the work required. That would take 6 months. Then the OPW would have a second report drawn up with details of the work required. It would then go to tender stage which is another 3 months. The contract would be awarded to a company from Russia or Hungary who would then take 3 months to complete the job at huge expense. The work would be halted several times due to injunctions from concerned nature lovers that the rat faced vole which resides near the sink hole is endangered and additional works would have to be carried out to ensure their safety. Work would finally be completed 18 months behind schedule. The day after the road was re-opened, some company would apply for permission to dig up the street in order to lay fibre optic cable for a new internet company. The application would be granted with objection.

To be fair, that's not actually true. Most things here in terms of road works are extremely efficient compared to what I witness on the continent all the time. A lot of major and disruptive roadworks are done at night here for example. NRA road works always seem efficient and well managed.

As a little anecdote showing how we're not actually inefficient : I rang Cork City Council about a pot hole. They sent me a report immediately with an incident number.
    The pothole was filled the following day.

We're very quick to slag ourselves off though! That's for sure.

You can also do anything if you throw virtually limitless money at it to get it done in a country of 127 million people who occupy quite a small area along the coast and can't be held up with a big sink hole blocking a key route. Ireland has a tendency to penny pinch and make county and city councils struggle for cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

That's impressive. We'd still be deciding which minister was going to create a quango to deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It's the "work through the night" bit that's messed up our efficiency !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

It's because the people that run our country couldn't find their own arse holes with both hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

"Please don't tell the supervisor I have the flu."
    "I've been working with a shattered pelvis for three weeks."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

How long did it take to fix the tiny sinkhole in tramore? For comparison...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

How long did it take to fix the tiny sinkhole in tramore? For comparison...

Have they even fixed it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Rome wasn't built in a day ya know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

vicwatson wrote: »
    Have they even fixed it?

I dont know lol it was 2014 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,107 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

But it takes them too long to do anything that is not documented in a nice neat process.

Yes, but (stereotyping warning) they probably will document stuff as a nice neat logical process to be followed to the letter.

The "Irish" attitude is probably who needs all the timewasting jobsworth crap when sure t'is all common sense! It will be grand and we can bullshít and brazen our way out of it when it goes wrong, the Irish blás and gift of the gab! Such attitudes don't work well when trying to organise anything complex.

The Irish attitude seems to largely for one half of the country to depressively navel gaze, self flagellate and then conclude the country's useless. Meanwhile the other half of the country has got the road finished and is busy actually earning the money that pays for all the fecking navel gazers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

We should call them to make the luas for us