Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CW Heroes vs. Aliens Crossover Event

• 15-11-2016 12:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭

About 2 weeks away now, should be a lot of fun.

Nov 28th: Supergirl
    Nov 29th: The Flash
    Nov 30th: Arrow
    Dec 1st: Legends of Tomorrow

Synopsis: The Invasion crossover will go across all four CW shows starting with Supergirl and continuing into The Flash, Arrow, and DC’s Legends of Tomorrow and will feature the aliens
    The Dominators as its central antagonist. A sinister, technologically-advanced alien race, The Dominators view Earth’s tendency to generate super-powered people as a sign that humans may essentially evolve to be genetically superior. That in mind, they decide to wipe them out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭OCEANIC FIZZY POP NINE

If you don't watch in right order will it be messed up?

Has already happened with that immortal what's his name from legends/arrow, I watched in wrong order and didn't know what was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

It's one continuous story, so watch it in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Haven't watched Supergirl since first episode didn't like it too much have seen every episode of the other three though and am up to date with their story lines can I just watch the one/two supergirl or am I better off delving in over the next few days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

Mr E wrote: »
    Full trailer...

That looks more like a movie trailer than a tv show promo. Cannot wait for this. Are people going to watch the episodes as they air or watch all four in one go ?

As they air for me, new Atom suit back right. I have seen Supergirl is both the prologue and epilogue for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Ok Questions... as I only really watch Arrow, and Legends of Tomorrow started off so pants, I gave up on it...

who is the guy with the fire hanging beside supergirl, and who is the guy beside Diggle?

402286.PNG

Is Bennet back as Deathstroke? if he is, I hope they don´t fcuk it up..

402287.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Ok Questions... as I only really watch Arrow, and Legends of Tomorrow started off so pants, I gave up on it...

who is the guy with the fire hanging beside supergirl, and who is the guy beside Diggle?

Guy on fire is Firestorm, and the guy beside Diggle is Citizen Steel. Firestorm (shoots fire, flies) is one of the Legends of Tomorrow and was also in a few episodes of The Flash. Citizen Steel (turns his body into steel kinda like Colossus from the XMen) is one of the new Legends (only came into this season).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I'm so excited for this, all 4 shows have been on fire this season. From what I've heard, it really only kicks off at the end of Supergirl (as in I don't think the entire Supergirl episode is dedicated to this storyline, but hopefully the bit where she meets everyone in the hangar, is in that first episode).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,564 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I'm not watching the trailer because want to enjoy it all when watching it. Same reason I don't watch trailers for films I want to see.

But I'm looking forward to people's reactions to Supergirl's powers. Like the CW video they did before and Diggle's reaction. He's always speechless when Barry speeds off, so he'll get a bigger surprise with Kara.

First episode down, and Supergirl only has the last two minutes of the episode dedicated to the crossover. There is two times during the episode where something connected to The Flash occurs but you can easily avoid it. Also don't watch the promo for tonight's Flash episode as there are some big episode spoilers.

Yeah good episode, but not much of a crossover. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Well, that was class. A lot happening and just phenomenally epic to have all of the heroes on screen together. Diggle and Mick obviously having some of the best lines in that episode, but some nice moments in there for pretty much everyone.

Really psyched for tomorrow, which is also the 100th episode of Arrow, and heard a bit about the flashback aspect of the episode which sounds brilliant...
    Apparently we'll be seeing an alternate reality in which the Queen's Gambit was never shipwrecked or something like that, and some former cast members will be returning for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

That was better than any of the last few DC movies.

Really liked that episode. Looking forward to Arrow.

Why would Stein go off to his home when he's meant to be training to defeat aliens? It's not like Jax can do much training by himself. I know he wanted to find out what was wrong but you'd think he'd prioritise.

I'm assuming it's down to all his experience that Barry can get thrown off the top of STAR labs by Kara and get up no problem, but Wally gets injured and knocked out cold in his first encounter with Supergirl. Maybe Barry picked up hi falling/jumping off tall buildings uninjured ability from Ollie.

Was trying to think if there was anyone else there who didn't know Arrow's identity. Iris was the only one who voiced it. Think all the Legends who didn't know found out from future Arrow. Though I don't think Mick knew Barry's identity since Snart said he wouldn't tell. Though he does now.

Imagine you weren't aware of teh crossover and only watch Arrow or Legends, you'd be missing at least a third of the story. At least only watching Supergirl or The Flash, you would see the "To be continued in..." bit

CastorTroy wrote: »

Why would Stein go off to his home when he's meant to be training to defeat aliens? It's not like Jax can do much training by himself. I know he wanted to find out what was wrong but you'd think he'd prioritise.

I'm assuming it's down to all his experience that Barry can get thrown off the top of STAR labs by Kara and get up no problem, but Wally gets injured and knocked out cold in his first encounter with Supergirl. Maybe Barry picked up hi falling/jumping off tall buildings uninjured ability from Ollie.

Was trying to think if there was anyone else there who didn't know Arrow's identity. Iris was the only one who voiced it. Think all the Legends who didn't know found out from future Arrow. Though I don't think Mick knew Barry's identity since Snart said he wouldn't tell. Though he does now.

Imagine you weren't aware of teh crossover and only watch Arrow or Legends, you'd be missing at least a third of the story. At least only watching Supergirl or The Flash, you would see the "To be continued in..." bit

I think it was
    Flashpoint hitting him those flashes he was getting was history changing..I think he didn't have a daughter in his timeline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

That was better than any of the last few DC movies.

It's actually embarrassing that this is true but it really is.

Green Arrow*

So f**king good. Absolutely loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Enjoying it too but not so much the aliens themselves, remind me of the ones from Voyager, species 4872

When Lyla looked over her shoulder while talking to The Flash at the Alien craft crash site to look at a man I was half expecting to see Smoking Man standing there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Taltos wrote: »
    Enjoying it too but not so much the aliens themselves, remind me of the ones from Voyager, species 4872

Species 4872 sound about half as cool as species 8472. :D

I enjoyed that even more than last night (although I imagine this might not be the general concensus) because Arrow is still my favourite of all 4 shows and that was a fantastic celebration for the 100th episode.

Good to get former cast members back in some capacity and I thought it was good to focus mainly on Arrow characters (I guess in the case of Sara and Ray, Legends characters that got their start on Arrow) and to give Flash and Supergirl a bit of a back seat for the episode - presumably everyone will be back together again for Legends tomorrow anyway.

They covered both angles really well - it worked well in the overall crossover story and it was a great idea for a 100th episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I'm surprised they had so little of the crossover in Supergirl considering both arrow and flash had full episodes for the storyline. Having not watched Arrow in a long time I was surprised at how many new characters they have introduced and so many bad costumes too! Aliens looked very dumb but enjoyable storyline.

Only disappointment was them barely referencing Walter. They wasted him to be honest

I'm surprised they had so little of the crossover in Supergirl considering both arrow and flash had full episodes for the storyline. Having not watched Arrow in a long time I was surprised at how many new characters they have introduced and so many bad costumes too! Aliens looked very dumb but enjoyable storyline.

Was reading an interview with a Supergirl producer and they said the reason for the small tie in was because this was Supergirl's fall finale while the other 3 shows have another episode after this. Don't know why they didn;t plan it out another way since they knew they were doing it and all shows are on the CW, but that's what they said.

Another good episode. It wasn't until Sara said who was all trapped there that I realised it was all Arrow people. Convenient but great way to do the 100th episode.
    I like how Supergirl is just smiling at everyone being impressed with her powers. Like last night when she just casually said she could see the president.

Speaking of the president, anyone else find it strange at how there hasn't been much of a reaction to the president being killed?

Lads, I don't know about anyone else, but for me this whole crossover has just been phenomenal television and puts the recent DC big screen attempts to absolute shame. As much as the action and fight sequences were epic and great to watch, I think the real winning element to these four shows is that all the characters just have a f**kload of heart, and sure sometimes they can drive us nuts, but ultimately the characters and the portrayal of these characters is just what makes it. I definitely teared up a couple of times over the past 3 nights, and I will re-watch this crossover countless times in the future, because it just ticked all the boxes.

Not to mention all the Easter Eggs and References we got over the past few nights, which have also been fantastic. Two of them in particular tonight had me fist pumping the air in excitement - Felicity while speaking gibberish as a side effect of the waverider trip saying "Darmok and Jalad at Tanagra" which for those of you unfamiliar is a repeated phrase from one of the greatest ever episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generation. The other Easter Egg I loved was during the celebrations at the end when Ray said that Kara reminded him of his cousin, because of course Brandon Routh played Superman in Superman Returns.

Obviously the two biggest gamechangers to come out of the crossover being Supergirl can now easily move between worlds and they all have means to contact each other, so future crossovers can now feature more Supergirl cast and vice versa for characters going over there, and then of course we now have our Central City Hangar and Group Base of Operations ***cough cough*** Hall of Justice ***cough cough***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭sanna

I had a chuckle when Thea and Merlyn were talking about Tommy being a Doctor and how he couldnt get away from the Hospital in Chicago!

Mr E wrote: »
    So f**king good. Absolutely loved it.

x10 for the LoT episode.

What a great piece of TV.
    Lads, I don't know about anyone else, but for me this whole crossover has just been phenomenal television and puts the recent DC big screen attempts to absolute shame. As much as the action and fight sequences were epic and great to watch, I think the real winning element to these four shows is that all the characters just have a f**kload of heart, and sure sometimes they can drive us nuts, but ultimately the characters and the portrayal of these characters is just what makes it. I definitely teared up a couple of times over the past 3 nights, and I will re-watch this crossover countless times in the future, because it just ticked all the boxes

You said it better than I ever could. I'm drained after watching it (in a good way). I know people put cable TV on a pedestal, but this was clever, entertaining, action packed and so full of heart that it has set a very high benchmark that other Network TV shows can only dream to aspire to.

The future is bright for the CW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I agree that the epidodes have been mostly very good ( supergirl being a bit lame for a mid season finale) and that comes from the history developed within all the shows. They do though all lack iconic villains especially supergirl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

Absolutely outstanding crossover storyline.

My favourite part is when the Atom said Kara looked like his cousin, I had a good chuckle to myself.

You can tell they are having so much fun making these shows.

Absolutely outstanding crossover storyline.

My favourite part is when the Atom said Kara looked like his cousin, I had a good chuckle to myself.

You can tell they are having so much fun making these shows.
    Yeah saw this on the Arrow instagram, Amell's reaction is the best

https://www.instagram.com/p/BNc2jiPj64k/

Supergirl was very underused but that's understandably really as she is way to powerful compared to the other heroes.

So thinking about it not bring her onto the main earth timeline was probably a good thing.

Supergirl was very underused by that's understandably really as she is way to powerful compared to the other heroes.

So thinking about it not bring her onto the main earth timeline was probably a good thing.

Yeah she is better off staying in her universe and just have people from the Arrowverse visit her instead of the other way round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Agree with all that folks here said already. Loved the Star Trek reference; Atom's you look like my cousin etc. stuff.
    You can definitely get the impression that these people are a lot happier in the jobs/roles on these CW shows than the ones acting in the the much less likeable DC Extended Universe of the movies. ("Whooosh, gasp Enchantressssssss"....... )

Oh, yes I noticed something in the shows that may be or may not be gematria.

Main casts of Arrow, Flash, and Legends come from Earth 1 universe.

Zoom/Hunter Zolomon, Jay Garrick, and good Harry Wells and daughter Jessie Quick come from Earth 2 universe.

H.R. Wells comes from Earth 19 universe.

Supergirl as now confirmed in the crossover shows comes from Earth 38 universe.

1 x 2 x 19 = 38

Half Life 3 confirmed.
    λ
    :cool:

duridian wrote: »
    Agree with all that folks here said already. Loved the Star Trek reference; Atom's you look like my cousin etc. stuff.
    You can definitely get the impression that these people are a lot happier in the jobs/roles on these CW shows than the ones acting in the the much less likeable DC Extended Universe of the movies. ("Whooosh, gasp Enchantressssssss"....... )

Oh, yes I noticed something in the shows that may be or may not be gematria.

Main casts of Arrow, Flash, and Legends come from Earth 1 universe.

Zoom/Hunter Zolomon, Jay Garrick, and good Harry Wells and daughter Jessie Quick come from Earth 2 universe.

H.R. Wells comes from Earth 19 universe.

Supergirl as now confirmed in the crossover shows comes from Earth 38 universe.

1 x 2 x 19 = 38

Half Life 3 confirmed.
    λ
    :cool:

I thought Jay Garrick was from Earth 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

You're right.

Wait, Earth-3.... Half-Life 3...

giphy.gif

THEY BOTH HAVE A 3 IN THEM!

Oops, sorry, you're right. But anyway such direct numbering must mean Half Life 3 is imminent. :-D

Ahem... Seriously though, it's kind of interesting that they jumped the numbers up to those figures, and that H.R. Wells 19 is a factor of Kara's 38. I wonder if there is a reason ?

Seeing the Queen family again made me think they missed a trick with Flashpoint. Olivers dad and Barry's dad would pass for cousins. Meryln is sorely missed too, guy is hate inspiration personified.

Nice interview with producers Marc Guggenheim and Andrew Kreisberg about the crossover.

http://variety.com/2016/tv/news/arrow-flash-supergirl-legends-of-tomorrow-crossover-spoilers-invasion-1201931686/
    Variety: What were some of the scenes that you wanted to get in to the episodes that were left on the cutting room floor?

Kreisberg: There was a little exchange between Sara (Caity Lotz) and Kara (Melissa Benoist) where Sara says “hey, do you want to get a drink when this is all over,” and Kara says, “I think you wanna meet my sister.”

It’s those little moments that were left on the cutting room floor. It’s amazing how many of them we were actually able to keep, because these episodes came in wildly over so it tended to be those little jokey moments that fell by the wayside.

Now I want to see a Director's cut - the little moments of humour in the crossover made it all the more enjoyable. :o

If anyone else was wondering what the song playing was while Oliver and Barry were drinking in the bar, here you go...

Was disappointed that Sara didn't at least attempt to chat Kara up. Though I did read tthat bit earlier about Sara asking her out.

And did Vixen take on the elephant powers followed by doing roundhouse kicks?
    They really need to give Jax more to do. In this episode, outside Firestorm, his role was pretty much to rush into the scene making a declaration.

Overall I enjoyed the crossover. Though still not sure why the dominators were attacking. MiB said it was Flashpoint, Cisco said it was because they saved the alien. And when did the MiB negotiate the peace treaty? When he was torturing the alien?

Was disappointed that Sara didn't at least attempt to chat Kara up. Though I did read tthat bit earlier about Sara asking her out.

Maybe they'll eventually have a crossover where Kara brings Alex along.
    I suspect the bit you read earlier had partially got the jist of Mick's "Call me." comment to Kara and somehow it got out that it was Sara instead of Mick that asked her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I thought the event was done well. Easter eggs and jokes and character interacting with each other were my high points. Though like.. the story was grand too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

As someone who only watches The Flash I have to say that was very enjoyable and not as confusing as I expected - although the Arrow episode did rely a bit much on backstory I think whereas Legends was just progressing/resolving the invasion nicely.

Looks like they've also resolved the Barry/Cisco issues which would have had me confused had I not seen this. I might go back and watch Legends but wouldn't be convinced by Arrow or Supergirl though.