Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW Golf 1.2 Tsi Trendline

• 14-11-2016 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭

Looking at getting a new car in the new year as I want to upgrade the car I have. I currently have a vw polo 1.2 2004 and had it for four years now but want a "newer" car.
    The golf im looking at is 2014 reg valued at 13,000 with bill griffin motors. It's automatic, has 28" alloys, low road tax of 200 euro, NCT till may 2018 and start/stop technology.
    I'll be taking a loan from my credit union to finance the car so will be repaying 500 euro back each month until the loan is payed off.
    I get payed 1500-1550 a month so do you think this is do able as my last loan was 350 a month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Looking at getting a new car in the new year as I want to upgrade the car I have. I currently have a vw polo 1.2 2004 and had it for four years now but want a "newer" car.
    The golf im looking at is 2014 reg valued at 13,000 with bill griffin motors. It's automatic, has 28" alloys, low road tax of 200 euro, NCT till may 2018 and start/stop technology.
    I'll be taking a loan from my credit union to finance the car so will be repaying 500 euro back each month until the loan is payed off.
    I get payed 1500-1550 a month so do you think this is do able as my last loan was 350 a month?

Jaysus that's a huge chunk of your wages. Are you living rent free?

These have quite a lot to go wrong. Not saying it will but it's a turbocharged engine and a very advanced complicated gearbox and big wheels. All being sold from a dealer with a minimalist attitude to customer service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Even if that's net pay you can't afford it unless you live like a hobbit. It's too much money for a car like that. I'm assuming it's some insane APR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

That seems very cheap for that car too, no? What kind of warranty are they offering?

Have you a link to itthe?

http://m.billgriffinmotors.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=1625934&r=

1 owner car. Slightly odd spec? Seems cheap.

I wouldn't go near it, personally.

It's a bit of a sow. Trendline is the lowest spec available in one of these, typical VW Calcutta spec. If it didn't have the GTi rep wheels you, wouldn't look at it twice. That combined with the R Line badges and no R Lines stuff on the car speak volumes about how the previous owner may have "used" it imo.

Having said that €13k is awful cheap, you could still pay €16-18k in a dealer for the same car, easy. I know B.G. does cheap but if I was financing €13k, i'd want more than a 6 month warranty on it.

You'd be better going to a dealer and getting a slightly more expensive one with a verified history and longer warranty, doing slightly smaller repayments over what may be a longer period of time.

33% of your income for that pantomime horse would be nuts. Even if you are at home, rent free, you could spend €500 per month on a much nicer car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

There's a fair bit of mileage on it considering it's a petrol car in a post engine size era, too.

But it looks like a GTI-R.

on the face of it though, it's not that badly specced. Has a decent looking radio etc, has 7 speed DSG box, has the frilly bits on the outside.

That's the lowest spec head unit they come with, a composition colour, basically just a colour screen on a fairly basic stereo unit it's rare to even see that a mk7, most are composition media, with bluetooth, app connect etc.

Entirely standard bodywork too, just a load of ebay R Line badges. Not even front fogs, that car should have 15" plastic hub caps from the factory.

Doesn't even have a multi function wheel.

Desperate yoke :pac:

But a Golf R doesn't have fogs!

Thought the radio must have been decent because it had a screen!

Yeah, the composition units with 6 buttons are no craic, they just have a screen for the sake of it.

The ones with 8 buttons are the one you want. They have nav, app connect, car net, trip computer etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭RobTheLad

I've noticed that with a lot of cars he sells, he puts on nice set of alloys to a poor spec , high mileage car. My mother was interested in a car he had at the start of the year, went with her to look at it. He has a lot of stacks of alloy wheels around the place, and then some of them were on poverty spec Astra's, Insignia's, A3's etc

If you didn't need an auto for some reason and had to go the finance route this probably has a better Apr from vw finance meaning despite the price difference the overall cost is similar.

It's not a golf but it's close and will have a proper warranty.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/SEAT/Leon/4750161393509137656/advert?channel=CARS

Without some toys the interior is a bit meh but rock solid.

You'd pay maybe €3k more for a similar model at a dealer and still get a 2 year used car warranty with it.

You wouldn't see €3k going on this car if there was a major gearbox fault etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Have you taken it for a test-drive? Are you certain it has 28" wheels? Seems a huge size rim for a Golf and even though I'm not an expert, wouldn't 28" wheels be totally over the top for a Golf? What sort of ride would you get with them? I'd go carefully here before deciding to buy this car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unless they are fitted to Ben Hur's chariot then they are 18" rather 28".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

28" wheels !!:eek:

73848d5a97ef1aec028ff67e5a25b4c6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭lcstress2012

tippman1 wrote: »
    Have you taken it for a test-drive? Are you certain it has 28" wheels? Seems a huge size rim for a Golf and even though I'm not an expert, wouldn't 28" wheels be totally over the top for a Golf? What sort of ride would you get with them? I'd go carefully here before deciding to buy this car.
    Sorry that was a typo I mean 18!