Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Betting shop staff.

• 14-11-2016 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭

OK I know they can have a fairly varied clientelle coming in and I don't expect a big beaming smile all the time but FFS can you think of any other business where the staff in general are so miserable. They sometimes don't even make eye contact just snap your money and maybe mutter tnks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

OK I know they can have a fairly varied clientelle coming in and I don't expect a big beaming smile all the time but FFS can you think of any other business where the staff in general are so miserable. They sometimes don't even make eye contact just snap your money and maybe mutter tnks.
    That's not been my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

They spend most of the day dealing with people running up a second before a race.

Then listening to abuse if it wins and they didnt get the bet on.

Listening to people give out about how another bookie has better odds on a horse and how its a disgrace like the staff can do anything.

The smell and bookies are mostly filled with degenerates who are looking to pass away time.

They sit listening to abuse most of the day and the smell of piss can understand why der rarely in good form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Nuts102 wrote: »
    They spend most of the day dealing with people running up a second before a race.

Then listening to abuse if it wins and they didnt get the bet on.

Listening to people give out about how another bookie has better odds on a horse and how its a disgrace like the staff can do anything.

The smell and bookies are mostly filled with degenerates who are looking to pass away time.

They sit listening to abuse most of the day and the smell of piss can understand why der rarely in good form.

Most of the clients are sound enough so not being able to deal with the degenerates/assholes is no excuse.
    As for those langballs that put their arm in front of me when I'm at the counter and they're putting in a bet at the last second I simply tell the clerk to do mine first, it's not my fault they leave it late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Its always the lads backing the Virtuals or Roulette that try to skip the queue :pac:

Also I see a lot of Bar One Shops popping up these days. Theres 3 in Limerick City now. The one on William Street is about 3 doors up from Powers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭osullic

Its always the lads backing the Virtuals or Roulette that try to skip the queue :pac:

I hate the lads on virtual running up ever few seconds and also the lads that think they're in a coffee shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Working in a betting shop is more or less a retail environment on steroids, so it's understandable that staff aren't going to be all smiles.

I think staff need to be moved to a different shop after a certain point. I mean if I look at my local Ladbrokes, the two shop managers have been there since not long after I left which was 2007. That is WAY too long to be serving in the one shop and it shows. They're absolutely miserable and passive aggressive to even well behaved punters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

It's a miserable existence and I wouldn't wish it on anyone. I worked in a shop for a few years and my mental health suffered when I was there. Dealing with losers day in day out.

I vividly remember my last week working. I was working Monday to Friday and as every day is exactly the same I bet the women working with me that I could predict who would walk in the door at certain times in the day, what particular people would be wearing and what their conversation topic would be. 20 regular customers names were written down on a sheet of paper and I picked 5. 1 for each day I was working.

I correctly picked what time each person would walk in the door, what they were wearing and what the topic of conversation is. After I got proved right it suddenly dawned on me that I was wasting my life. I was handed €50 on the Friday night & told them I wouldn't be coming back. I quit on the spot.To this day I've never set foot inside a shop and it's 5 years since I quit.

You're giving out about not getting a smile? You should count yourself lucky that there hasn't been a mass shooting in a betting shop committed by a staff member who has finally cracked. Horrible places inhabited by disgusting people one and all.

^ And that kind of attitude is why you were better off quitting when you did. Do you not see the problem in labelling people "disgusting one and all?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Mine wish me the best of luck sometimes when i do 3 numbers in the lottery but the bookie wins always

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I worked in a bookies, 90% of the clientele were there all day every day.

Suck the life out of anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Motivator wrote: »
    It's a miserable existence and I wouldn't wish it on anyone. I worked in a shop for a few years and my mental health suffered when I was there. Dealing with losers day in day out.

I vividly remember my last week working. I was working Monday to Friday and as every day is exactly the same I bet the women working with me that I could predict who would walk in the door at certain times in the day, what particular people would be wearing and what their conversation topic would be. 20 regular customers names were written down on a sheet of paper and I picked 5. 1 for each day I was working.

I correctly picked what time each person would walk in the door, what they were wearing and what the topic of conversation is. After I got proved right it suddenly dawned on me that I was wasting my life. I was handed €50 on the Friday night & told them I wouldn't be coming back. I quit on the spot.To this day I've never set foot inside a shop and it's 5 years since I quit.

You're giving out about not getting a smile? You should count yourself lucky that there hasn't been a mass shooting in a betting shop committed by a staff member who has finally cracked. Horrible places inhabited by disgusting people one and all.

Ever get any kind of generous tip on a big payout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭nerobert

I work in a bookies and it's great :D

nerobert wrote: »
    I work in a bookies and it's great :D

Do ye have customers :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    ^ And that kind of attitude is why you were better off quitting when you did. Do you not see the problem in labelling people "disgusting one and all?"

No I have absolutely no problem with it. If you dealt with the clientele of a bookies day in day out for 12 hours a day you'd have the same attitude believe me.

Motivator wrote: »
    No I have absolutely no problem with it. If you dealt with the clientele of a bookies day in day out for 12 hours a day you'd have the same attitude believe me.

I've worked in a bookies so I've experience dealing with punters.

Most are just regular customers who don't cause trouble, and the stuff you're talking about such as being losers or wearing the same clothes every day was inconsequential to me. You're there to do a job, if people make that easy for you then why would you take it out on them just because the select few are pricks?

And it is the select few. A couple of drunken lads which doesn't necessarily mean they're going to be necessarily difficult. A few scum bags who are actively trying to scam you but who will quickly piss off once you show you're not a mark.

But as I said originally, it will eventually take its toll. That's why either actively looking for a new job or a change of shop would be of benefit to both staff and customer after a few years. I especially can't see why someone who has been a manager for years would have trouble changing jobs at least within the retail sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Ever get any kind of generous tip on a big payout?

I tip in my local bookies if I get a good win and they in turn give me the odd bit of info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Also I see a lot of Bar One Shops popping up these days. Theres 3 in Limerick City now. The one on William Street is about 3 doors up from Powers..

New Bar One in Kildare town too taking over the last of the 2 Ladbrokes shops that were in the town. They were putting up free sandwiches/cake tea & coffee last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

ziggy wrote: »
    My wife started working in a bookies earlier this year and by and large enjoys it.

She has a bit of craic with the customers and she gets some nice tips from customers who have won big on occasion.

You do get the odd asshole moaning when they lose or are too late getting a bet on too though.

I hope she tells you when someone wants to put big money on dundalk :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

ziggy wrote: »

People betting at Dundalk are the last people to be taking note of :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Can't for the life of me see why recreational punters would frequent a Bar One if theres a Powers, or even one of the others in the town. Like a lot of independents they're using the same odds feed with horrible high overrounds. However other independents like Bruce betting will at least give something back like special offers that are huge arbs with the exchange. The Bar One offers are generally "enhanced" trebles that don't even add up to a competitors regular price or money back second on a 17 runner field theyve priced to 140%.

Last year, the day of A Toi Phils first maiden run, he and the second fav got taken out at the first bend by a rouge horse. I was in a packed new Barone shop. No word of any moneyback. Went across to an empty Powers and they were refunding on the first and second fav, both singles and voiding multiples affected (which was the mug bet of the day with A Toi Phil and a couple of other odds on shots). A lot of people don't like moneyback gimmicks, but the recreational shop punters are going to generally do their brains regardless. They should at least give themselves a sporting chance of by getting the odd bit of value or offers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Can't for the life of me see why recreational punters would frequent a Bar One if theres a Powers, or even one of the others in the town. Like a lot of independents they're using the same odds feed with horrible high overrounds. However other independents like Bruce betting will at least give something back like special offers that are huge arbs with the exchange. The Bar One offers are generally "enhanced" trebles that don't even add up to a competitors regular price or money back second on a 17 runner field theyve priced to 140%.

Last year, the day of A Toi Phils first maiden run, he and the second fav got taken out at the first bend by a rouge horse. I was in a packed new Barone shop. No word of any moneyback. Went across to an empty Powers and they were refunding on the first and second fav, both singles and voiding multiples affected (which was the mug bet of the day with A Toi Phil and a couple of other odds on shots). A lot of people don't like moneyback gimmicks, but the recreational shop punters are going to generally do their brains regardless. They should at least give themselves a sporting chance of by getting the odd bit of value or offers

The problem is most punters have no concept of value whatsoever.