Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All my fault or what?

• 11-11-2016 8:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭

Hey Chaps. Coming out the car park opposite the cinema in Balbriggan is rather tight as it's a single lane one direction road. Coming out tonight there was a Toyota Auris parked on double yellow lines which made getting out rather difficult as it's parked where the car needs to swing around.
    Coming out I clipped the rear left of our car off of the exit as I didn't have all the room I needed. I feel it's my fault but the missus feels the Auris was at fault for parking on double yellows?

Any opinion and eh does anyone know a good bodywork shop that could fill and repaint the rear passenger door on an E90?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Hey Chaps. Coming out the car park opposite the cinema in Balbriggan is rather tight as it's a single lane one direction road. Coming out tonight there was a Toyota Auris parked on double yellow lines which made getting out rather difficult as it's parked where the car needs to swing around. Coming out I clipped the rear left of the car as I didn't have all the room I needed. I feel it's my fault but the missus feels the Auris was at fault for parking on double yellows?

The gf is dead right . My uncle parked on double yellow years ago and someone ran into him and was told by the guards it was his fault . Another incident my mates mother was driving thru the local town and it's narrow and someone opened their as she was passing . Destroyed her car and the other car . The other car was double yellow lines and my mates mother was in the clear and put in a claim against other party .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

You can legally be stopped on double yellow lines, just not parked, was he parked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Walter2016

dev100 wrote: »
    The gf is dead right . My uncle parked on double yellow years ago and someone ran into him and was told by the guards it was his fault . Another incident my mates mother was driving thru the local town and it's narrow and someone opened their as she was passing . Destroyed her car and the other car . The other car was double yellow lines and my mates mother was in the clear and put in a claim against other party .

Bull on first part.

Second part it was the opening of door without looking not the parking on double yellow that meant the person was deemed to be at fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Walter2016 wrote: »
    Bull on first part.

How can you possibly say that without knowing the circumstances. Remember, "Parking vehicle in a dangerous position" is 3 penalty points too.

Two wrongs don't make a right - something many motorists don't seem to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

You can legally be stopped on double yellow lines, just not parked, was he parked?

He was in collecting his Thai food.

So just been to the local station and 100% my fault. He may have been in the way but I was responsible for the motion of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Collided with a stationary vehicle.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Agreed, but if you park your car on a blind bend with no lights, and someone hits it, a high proportion of the blame would let with the parked car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Walter2016 wrote:
    Bull on first part.

Walter2016 wrote:
    Second part it was the opening of door without looking not the parking on double yellow that meant the person was deemed to be at fault.

Nope the uncle s insurance had to pay for the damages to the other car . I always remember him saying it about double yellow lines.

2nd part you as a driver are meant to drive with dew care and attention too . The guards were called and the first thing he said was you're on double yellow lines. He didn't entertain any other story after that and I was standing there watching the going on at the time.

dev100 wrote: »
    Nope the uncle s insurance had to pay for the damages to the other car . I always remember him saying it about double yellow lines.

2nd part you as a driver are meant to drive with dew care and attention too . The guards were called and the first thing he said was you're on double yellow lines. He didn't entertain any other story after that and I was standing there watching the going on at the time.

On the first case, there was probably another issue.

On the second part, it was the opening of the door which the other driver could not have forseen that meant that person was at fault.

Gardai only give opinion - they are not always right.

Agreed, but if you park your car on a blind bend with no lights, and someone hits it, a high proportion of the blame would let with the parked car

Totally different scenario. Someone that stupid deserves full blame and should never be allowed in charge of a vehicle

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

He was in collecting his Thai food.

So just been to the local station and 100% my fault. He may have been in the way but I was responsible for the motion of the car.

Could he be a delivery guy? These are the most ignorant drivers I find, parking and blocking on footpaths is their worst offense. Lazy feckers don't give a ****e.

What I am about to say won't go down well, if he is a delivery guy it should be 50:50 as he would have known the risks and that this was inevitably going to happen and likely pissing a lot of people off for a very long time and huge chance he doesn't even have proper insurance