Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New laptop advice

Options
  • 04-11-2016 2:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭

My 14" Dell Inspiron 6400 laptop is on its last legs it has become very slow, screen brightness is very poor and is constantly prompting me that i have no disc space left. As I have no knowledge of computers I have over the last few years got a repair shop to do the necessary maintanence they have now advised that I would be better of replacing it. I use it mainly for browsing the web,emails,storing photograghs and watching horse racing on via the bookmakers sites. My main requirements would be something fast and with a lot of storage space all advice appreciated.

Comments

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

That's a very old laptop. I'd bet it's 10 years old at this point. Not too bad!

How much money do you have to spend?

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭machu

Yes it has served me well I was thinking it must be 10 or maybe even 11 years old. I rarely remove it from its desk so it hasn't had a lot of hardship. I would like to purchase something reliable that wouldn't have to be replaced after a few years. Pricewise I would be hopeing I would be able to get something suitable for around the 800 euro mark.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Does it have to be a laptop at all? Would a desktop be better?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

Does it have to be a laptop at all? Would a desktop be better?
    You mention storing photos. I presume you have a backup solution?