Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

30 Euro

• 02-11-2016 7:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭

Hi all.

I may be odd ; ) but for the day to day driving I tend to put in 30 Euro at a time. Obviously if going on a long my journey, i would fill the tank, but for the normal day to day stuff I just throw in 30 Euro.

This 30 Euro gets me about 140 miles or 10 days. Is that crap ?

I know you may not top up in 30 Euro intervals, but if you do, how far does 30 Euro get you ?

Edit: I'll add my car. 2006 BMW 523i.
    Edit 2 : driving is 70% motorway. 30% traffic/urban. And I have a light right foot.

My car is automatic also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Petrol or Diesel?

My 2litre diesel would get me 420 to 450 km on the equivalent of €30 worth of fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

What car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Bobjims

Hi all.

I may be odd ; ) but for the day to day driving I tend to put in 30 Euro at a time. Obviously if going on a long my journey, i would fill the tank, but for the normal day to day stuff I just throw in 30 Euro.

I know you may not top up in 30 Euro intervals, but if you do, how far does 30 Euro get you ?

Assuming you're paying 1.30/litre, you're using about 10.2 l/100km (28mpg). Not bad for a 523i if all of your driving is urban.

I'm driving a 2.5 petrol and using about 8 l/100km (35mpg) with 70/30 rural/urban driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I get three hundred hectares on a single tank of kerosene.

30 euro for x miles is in no way accurate at all I'm afraid.

Brim it, reset your trip counter, drive for however long you like, brim it again.

The number of litres used to refill is equal to what was used to cover the distance shown on your trip counter. Divide the km by the litres or miles / gallon etc and calculate your consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

I think that's quite good for a 523i. E60 I presume.

It's hard to compare like for like though. I fill the tank on my Audi weekly and see a 600 mile return from that. Tank is 65L so presume I use 60 litres of it. I'm not great at maths but that either works out around 45mpg or 6000mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If you spent €25k on an eco diesel car you would save a good 50% so €15 a time so it would only take you 45 years to begin to break even, worth considering, also gets the chaaapppppeeeeee tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

In 1 or 2 cent coins?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Petrol or Diesel?

My 2litre diesel would get me 420 to 450 km on the equivalent of €30 worth of fuel.

Decent in fairness.

And you have the cheap tax too : )

It's hard to compare like for like though. I fill the tank on my Audi weekly and see a 600 mile return from that. Tank is 65L so presume I use 60 litres of it. I'm not great at maths but that either works out around 45mpg or 6000mpg.

Yep. It's an e60.

Driving is probably 70% motorway, 30 % traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Your e60 will tell you what fuel economy you're getting. And I find BMW's to be pretty okay at calculating it. That's your best bet.

From what you've told us (not too much...) it sounds fine for a 6 cylinder 2.5 liter petrol. I wouldn't be worrying about it anyway.

Cheensbo wrote: »

30 euro for x miles is in no way accurate at all I'm afraid.

Brim it, reset your trip counter, drive for however long you like, brim it again.

The number of litres used to refill is equal to what was used to cover the distance shown on your trip counter. Divide the km by the litres or miles / gallon etc and calculate your consumption.

I know, I know. But just looking for ball park figures.

Bobjims wrote: »
    Assuming you're paying 1.30/litre, you're using about 10.2 l/100km (28mpg). Not bad for a 523i if all of your driving is urban.

I'm driving a 2.5 petrol and using about 8 l/100km (35mpg) with 70/30 rural/urban driving.

What car do you have ?

Presume your Audi is a Diesel ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Presume your Audi is a Diesel ?

1.9TDI PD engine. The best thing to happen bogger Ireland since rural electrification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I know, I know. But just looking for ball park figures.

Some people could get much more mileage from your €30 fill and some might not get out of the petrol station. You've got a nice motor and unless you really need to save money, which buying a new car won't do, don't worry that someone told you that they are getting 3l/100km in their similar car as they are BSing you or making driver more of a chore than it needs to be, if you want to hypermille buy a car that is designed for grannies not drivers.

I went from a 1.4 Corrola to a 2l auto Accord, my fuel bill went up about €20 a fortnight, I refuel at around 1/3 full and brim it. While the Corrola was a perfect car, apart from the know love of oil, it was a soul destroying car. The Accord was a nicer bus, it had aircon, and I drove it. I've since moved to a GS450h and you'll see a grown man crying if I have to go back to a car that gets single digits per 100km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Cheensbo wrote: »

Zagrevev min zlotny dev!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Bobjims

What car do you have ?

Lexus IS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Hi all.

Edit 2 : driving is 70% motorway. 30% traffic/urban. And I have a light right foot.

I'd get something similar from my 2005 e60 523i for that sort of motorway/urban mix if I had a light right foot.
    I'm usually a bit heavier on the accelerator though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭RWD

2.5 petrol + automatic,you'd be lucky to get 25-30 mpg unfortunately :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

If you really want to save money you could just get rid of the car altogether since you're only doing 14 miles a day!

At that mileage I wouldn't give a fook about mpg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

My car gets 16 furlongs on a viking horn full of fuel. Is that good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Hi all.

Why? Why?! WHY?!

You will not save any money by filling only by €30... Actually it costs you more in time and effort than the savings achieved by not carrying a full tank of fuel around...

So WHYYYYY???!!?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

grogi wrote: »
    Why? Why?! WHY?!

You will not save any money by filling only by €30... Actually it costs you more in time and effort than the savings achieved by not carrying a full tank of fuel around...

So WHYYYYY???!!?!?!

*...... waits for the less weight, better handling excuse from someone.

Why? Why?! WHY?!

So WHYYYYY???!!?!?!

Sure I never mentioned anything about saving money.

I'm just looking for what other people get from their 30 Euro.

Whether I full up with 30 or 70, it's neither here nor there.

marketty wrote: »
    If you really want to save money you could just get rid of the car altogether since you're only doing 14 miles a day!

At that mileage I wouldn't give a fook about mpg!

Have you tried cycling 14 miles a day ( and before it's said - public transport not an option for me)

Sure I never mentioned anything about saving money.

Whether I full up with 30 or 70, it's neither here nor there.

I am genuinely curious - why are you doing something absolutely insensible?! And the follow-up question - why not €32?

€30 gives me 450km motorway...

I am genuinely curious - why are you doing something absolutely insensible?! And the follow-up question - why not €32?

€30 gives me 450km motorway...

I still don't see why you are so shocked by me topping my up by 30 Euro. It's hardly off the wall complete madness what I'm doing, but you seem to think it's just complete madness......whatever.

Grand, fair play. Good mileage.

I still don't see why you are so shocked by me topping my up by 30 Euro. It's hardly off the wall complete madness what I'm doing, but you seem to think it's just complete madness......whatever.

Grand, fair play. Good mileage.

I am not shocked - I genuinely want to know what is driving you to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I get around 55mpg in my 02 yaris according to the on board display

Why do some people go to the gym on certain days. Why do some people have a cup of coffee at a certain time of the day etc.

Just something I always do.
    I top up my car with 30 Euro, simple as, hardly that hard to believe.

I'm not thinking I'm going to save money this way etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

€50 gets me roughly 400km

2.0i (petrol) Subaru Legacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Have you tried cycling 14 miles a day ( and before it's said - public transport not an option for me)

I have, it's hardly a killer. But I'm not saying get rid of the car, just with those low miles I wouldn't care about fuel use. I'd have a nice big petrol yoke and enjoy driving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

I got 21 miles on the warning light few months ago.threw a tenner in and got 97 miles before light came on so rough guide 30 quid would get me 310 miles .

1.4 focus 90% national RDS 10% urban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

My previous 325 was probably similar for €30 worth of petrol, about 28mpg. My current BMW though, I spend about €30 a month on fuel and do almost 3000km per month for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

s.welstead wrote: »
    My current BMW though, I spend about €30 a month on fuel and do almost 3000km per month for that.

Somethings not right with your maths!!

I don't think so... BMW sells not only Is and ds. :]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Ahhhhhhhhh........it's a milk float!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

How embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Well with petrol at €1.49 at my local filling station, I'd say €30 would get me feck all distance really. :mad:

Most of the time I just fill on a Saturday when they have their discount day, no matter how full/empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

MojoMaker wrote: »
    How embarrassing.

It would leave the average Irish car for dust at the traffic light GP - how's 1.4tdi going for all the haters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Meep meep
    latest?cb=20120219164218

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Id look a the figure, E30 for 10 days is nothing. Its like me, I drive a 2.5L. I do so little mileage, my ideal next car is an S500. What does fuel cost matter, when you are doing virtually no mileage? its the best reason to go out and get a ridiculous car. Of course you will be done on the motor tax on the older system, but if Im going to be done on a 3.5L I'd feel a lot better about driving a 5.5L etc and paying the same rip off rate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Maybe he uses his debit touch card, which has a €30 limit?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Maybe he uses his debit touch card, which has a €30 limit?

I would even be happy with "thirty is my happy number". Never mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

28951640.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

i top up by €30 every time. I no it means more frequent visits but its always been that way. I think its from my collage days when that's all i could afford and it just stuck with me. Also your carrying less weight so in my head better mpg's :)