Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Family Fleet

• 02-11-2016 12:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭

Thought it might be a nice idea to post our family motors fleets. These are the cars we'll likely have a chance to drive aside from our own.

I've an Abarth 180bhp 2015
    Brother '10 Volvo C30 D4
    Father 2008 Hilux invincible 3.0
    The Mother Toyota Urban Cruiser 1.33 2010
    Sister Audi A5 2.0l I think (haven't seen that one)
    None of us are married yet so partners' cars don't.
    Anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

03 e46 320d (mine)
    99 jap toyota ipsum (as good as mine)
    141 avensis 2.0 d4d (mother)
    04 Peugeot partner 1.9d (auld fellas/farm work horse)
    10 mk6 golf 1.6tdi (sisters)
    Agri spec tdi bora (brothers) straight piped and goes boo but can back it up 180+bhp antichrist hey :P
    Ek4 vti civic (joint venture)
    98 4efe liftback corolla (simply refuses to stop)
    Some other projects but sadly some had to be sold on unfinished
    A scatter of tractors and other farm vehicles too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

'02 525i Sport + '99 528i SE Touring - Mine
    '96 B16A EK Honda Civic + 2016 Peugeot Partner Company Van - Brother
    '16 Renault Clio - Mothers
    '13 Mondeo, soon to be replaced company car - Fathers

Sister is yet to have her own car :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

06 Bmw x5 sport commercial (mine)
    03 vw Passat sport (mine)
    93 Ps13 Silvia (mine)
    90 (I think) Nissan 180sx fitted with a vq35de (350z)engine and gearbox.
    09 Audi A3 sportwagon (mothers)
    04 transit (fathers)
    03 corolla (fathers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

09 Audi A4 2.0tdi (mine)
    142 Vw Golf van 1.6tdi (fathers work vehicle)
    11 Skoda Octavia 1.6tdi (mothers)

My brother refuses to learn to drive :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

coolbeans wrote: »
    Thought it might be a nice idea to post our family motors fleets. These are the cars we'll likely have a chance to drive aside from our own.

Brother '10 Volvo C30 D4
    Anyone else?

Bastard! :D

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Ek4 vti civic (joint venture)

Nice. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

GB 07 Merc C220 CDI (mine)
    GB 08 Mini Cooper S convert (Mrs)
    GB 98 Mazda MX-5 1.8i Berkeley (mk1, ours)

GB 16 B-Max 1.4 (M-i-L)

FR 09 Citroën C5 2.7 Hdi exclusive (Dad's)
    FR 08 Citroën C3 1.4 Hdi convert (Mum's)
    FR 11 Mazda 5 2.0d (Brother's)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

:cool::cool::cool:

I've been seeing a few abarths around recently, I'd love one!

There's only one car in my household, a very practical 325Ci! Although I suspect I may be looking for something small to go along side it soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭GustavoGaviria

2016 Focus ST Wagon
    '90 Quattro Coupe 2.3 20v
    '95 Iveco Daily Camper - to be scrapped

Mother - 2016 Range Rover Evoq
    Bro - Gladis the Vespa
    Sis - KIA Jeep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭codrulz

152 Nissan leaf sve
    2008 Peugeot 207 s
    2007 Peugeot 207 se
    2005 Peugeot 205
    1986 Porsche 944 turbo
    1987 Porsche 9928 s4
    1979 Porsche 911 ('73 rs look with 3.6litre 964 lump)
    1979 Porsche 911sc (73rs look) hardcore stripped track car
    Porsche 924 Race car
    Porsche 924 stock
    Just sold: 1986 Porsche 930 turbo imported from Dubai by us in 2004

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

04 Honda S2000 (mine)
    09 Alfa Mito 1.4 Turbo (girlfriends)
    07 VW Eos 2.0 TFSI (mothers)
    11 Skoda Superb Combi TDI 170 (fathers)
    06 Opel Tigra (sisters)
    36 Fiat 500 Topolino (fathers)
    62 Lotus Elan +2 (fathers - not running at present).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

1991 Merc 190e 1.8 - mine
    1998 Toyota Caldina GTT 2.0t - mine
    2006 Citroen C4 1.4 - the maww
    2007 Pug 407 HDI 1.6- sister
    2006 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.0 crdi - bro in law
    2007 Pug 207 1.4
    2007 Hyundai Tucson 2.0 crdi - brother
    2012 hyundai i10 - SIL, 10k kms since new...

The French stuff has been ok through the years, the 407 is only on its second turbo in 4 years. The c4 and 207 break a few cpil springs every year and blow bulbs for sport and each had ecu failures but they kept chugging on regardless until they were replaced. Honestly never really let us down too much to be fair on them.

The hyundais both have done well too (not bothering to mention the i20 as it doesn't get used),they both chewed a few wheel bearings due to oversized tyres and incidentally both had fuel troubles - mainly pipes coming off.., the tucson had a strange egr/intake problem lately that appeared to be a turbo failure but turned out to be a throttle/flap thing getting stuck closed (throttle body in a diesel is new to me)

The Merc hasn't needed anything bar petrol since July (only about 2k miles done), literally nothing required, at all. Drives like a new car, has an almost straight pipe too so it sounds like the cats pyjamas. :D

The Caldina is a money pit, but only because I make it one, its a demanding car but still retains all that 90's toyota reliability and overengineering, if I wasn't completely insane it probably would only need some wear and tear items replaced like bushings and shocks etc as it's got over 250k kms now and stuff is loosening out, but mechanically - she's A1 and still goes like a bat out of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Interesting idea.. here are my bland boxes.

Mother: 2005 Almera ****box + Grande Punto Sporting JTD
    Father: keeps crashing said Almera
    Wife: 2007 SR180 Auris
    Me: 170 Passat Highline
    Brother: Feck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Jack lemmon

162 mk7 golf(mine)
    07 golf(partner)
    09 astra(dad)
    162 insignia(brother)
    151 astra(his wife)
    00 aventis(brother)
    00 carolla(his wife)
    162 Dacia(brother)
    162 pulsar(sister)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

85 Transit (me)
    79 Capri (me)
    151 Focus (her).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Brother '10 Volvo C30 D4
    Anyone else?

Since this thread has taken off a bit I thought I'd give a general commentary on each motor listed and my impressions.

Abarth - I've had it for a year and now I'm getting rid. Loved it but it's damn near impossible to not hoon about the place which means it's hard on fuel and tyres. I've averaged c.28mpg over 10000miles. Not great. Nowt went wrong with it. I'd have another and would have no problem buying another FCA product on that basis.

C30 D4 (5 cylinder 2.0 chipped to 210bhp) Surprisingly quick off the mark. Bit of a sleeper really. No big expenses yet. Good car. Not practical. Rare.

Hilux 3.0l 170bhp. It's a pickup and no amount of leather and bling can make up for that. They're made in Thailand AFAIK and it shows. Quality control has suffered and little things that you wouldn't expect of Toyota let it down like the seat belt socket thing coming off in my hand.
    Also, first gear is far too high for a towing vehicle which means that clutches don't last. That said, and despite my moaning it hasn't given any bother over 100k miles.

Urban Cruiser. The brother and I imported this from the UK earlier this year to replace the mother's Jazz. 2010 and 17k on the clock. I didn't want to like it but it really is a perfect mammy car. Chrome effect alloys with chunky tyres are really practical too and generally win against kerbs and give a very comfy ride which is nice. Love the keyless entry as well as the excellent MPG and the revviness of the 1.33 engine. No faults so far. The quality seems to be markedly better when compared to the Hilux. Made in Japan too AFAIK.

A5. I've yet to drive it. Wouldn't have been my choice for the money tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,978 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Me - facelift E11 Corolla, 1.4 petrol.
    Ms. jou - #1 facelift Mk1 Touran, 1.9 turbodiesel.
    Father - volvo 440, 1.9 turbodiesel.
    Sister - facelift Mk1 Scenic, 1.9 turbodiesel.
    Brother - big van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Cheensbo wrote: »
    <...>
    Sounds so eerily like mine it's untrue, see my 'version' dovetailed into yours:

The French stuff (Father's C5 and Mother's C3) has been ok through the years (both owned from new). C5's had a few minor issues over 7 years, but nothing €€€s (or even €€s). And unsurprising, considering what little love it gets from my Dad. Which is a real shame, because what a motor. It's just missing a star or 4 circles on the grille. C3 has never had any roof/joint leaks issue, surprising considering how widespread this problem is on that model. I swear that thing drives on sniffing the tank instead of drinking from it.

The hyundais Mazdas (our MX-5, owned 16 years as 2nd owners from new, and the brother's Mazda 5, owned 2 years as 2nd owner from new) both have done well too. Our MX-5 has wanted nothing in 16 years. Tyres, filters, oil, sparkies once or twice, and the belts once and that's it. Oh, it was treated to a new roof (with glass rear window) 7 or 8 years ago, but didn't really need it. Original first-factory-fitted everything else (incl. clutch and exhaust). 85kmiles, 71k of which by us (mainly me)...and a good chunk of it sideways or well north of a ton :pac:

The Merc hasn't needed anything bar petrol diesel + 4 tyres + new discs (discs and 2 tyres last week) since July 2012 (only about 43k miles done since), literally nothing required, at all. Drives like a new car , has an almost straight pipe too so it sounds like the cats pyjamas.

The Caldina Cooper S is a money pit, but only because I make it one, its a demanding perma-hooning car (just like the OP's Abarth) but still retains all that 90's Toyota BMW reliability and overengineering, if I wasn't completely insane it probably would only need some wear and tear items replaced like bushings and shocks etc as it's got over 250k kms 58kmilesnow and stuff is loosening out, but mechanically - she's A1 and still goes like a bat out of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Me and my wife have sort of swapped cars, due to it being easier to negotiate the tight confines of parking garages.

Me: 11 Ford Mondeo Titianium X Estate (wife drives this(plenty of space for kid and dog)
    Wife: 05 BMW 320D SE (i drive this to work, easier to park)
    MIL: 152 BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer, lovely spec but awful looking yoke.
    FIL: 10 VW Transporter, surprisingly nice to drive and good bit of poke in it.
    Sister: 05 BMW 118i - nice car to drive too.
    Father: 131 Audi A4 SE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

codrulz wrote:
    152 Nissan leaf sve 2008 Peugeot 207 s 2007 Peugeot 207 se 2005 Peugeot 205 1986 Porsche 944 turbo 1987 Porsche 9928 s4 1979 Porsche 911 ('73 rs look with 3.6litre 964 lump) 1979 Porsche 911sc (73rs look) hardcore stripped track car Porsche 924 Race car Porsche 924 stock Just sold: 1986 Porsche 930 turbo imported from Dubai by us in 2004

Was about to slag you till you cried for having so much cheese & baguettes in your fleet but then I saw your porker range. So, ya want to get married or something?

02 Audi A6 1.9tdi (pd) remapped 170bhp
    04 Toyota Avensis 2.0 D-4D t-spirit
    04 Toyota Corolla Verso 1.6 paddy spec
    95 Nissan Primera SRi 1.6
    87 Porsche 944 lux. 2.5
    (All mine)

Nissan Maxima (father)
    Nissan Almera auto (mother)

Wife works in a dealer & drives whatever trade-in has a bit of rent in the window. Makes for some interesting cars from time to time. Mercedes-Benz CLS was a personal highlight. 1.2 turbo Nissan Juke was her favourite, no accounting for taste.

So, ya want to get married or something?
    sounds like a plan ;)
    mother drives the leaf
    brother drives 207 as does sister (24&25)
    other sister drives the 206 (she's 21)
    good cheap cars imo
    then 944 turbo is mine, Im 17 and my bro owns the 28
    my dad owns the 911's hes own many through the years, his first being a new one back in the 80s in kuwait at the age of 21 hes been hooked ever since. As my brother and I grew up with them and watching him racing most weekends we have developed a keen interest also.

codrulz wrote:
    sounds like a plan mother drives the leaf brother drives 207 as does sister (24&25) other sister drives the 206 (she's 21) good cheap cars imo then 944 turbo is mine, Im 17 and my bro owns the 28 my dad owns the 911's hes own many through the years, his first being a new one back in the 80s in kuwait at the age of 21 hes been hooked ever since. As my brother and I grew up with them and watching him racing most weekends we have developed a keen interest also.

Wahoo! Got me a 17 y/o toy boy!!

Porkers in the blood can be a damn expensive hobby, cheaper than coke or H but an early death is equally likely. ðŸ˜

Wahoo! Got me a 17 y/o toy boy!!

Porkers in the blood can be a damn expensive hobby, cheaper than coke or H but an early death is equally likely. ðŸ˜

Haha!
    Not sure it's much cheaper with the thirst of the 928 and 44 turbo 😳 And the sc track car is a 3.4 290bhp that gets a conservative 8mpg haha

codrulz wrote:
    ...And the sc track car is a 3.4 290bhp that gets a conservative 8mpg haha

*nursing a semi...

Hahahaha yeah my dad did a full rebuild with everything you can imagine trick talk of getting it up to 310!!then the other 911 is getting some stuff done. Was stripped to its shell resprayed and got loads of welding and stiffening done and a 3.6 twin plug is going in!! It is also being kept bare very similar to Chris Harris' one he had a couple of years ago! Same colour and everything

****s sake lad, will ya stop with the talk of stripping & stiffening. Gonna blow me gasket

Hahah funny you say that, 928 has blown gasket before and 930 blew a piston lol ;)
    So is your 44 the first Porsche you've had?

codrulz wrote:
    Hahah funny you say that, 928 has blown gasket before and 930 blew a piston lol So is your 44 the first Porsche you've had?

Yea. Came close to buying a boxter a while back but I have a wife. Sad face.

Ah always the voice of 'reason' all they do is curtail dreams aha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

We own a lot of cars but not all are on the road at the moment. I'm going to just make a list of the cars that are currently tested and insured by some means. The others are not really road suitable at the moment.

2004 Alfa Romeo 156 1.9JTD. My daily hack.

2001 Alfa Romeo 166 2.5 V6. Mine, Just resprayed and waiting for my weekly milage to go down so I can justify driving it again.

2001 Fiat Punto 1.2 8V. My sisters and probably the most abused car in the fleet :D Her idea of minding a car is putting petrol in.

2013 Kia Ceed 1.something (1.6?) Diesel. Mothers car. Definitely the second most abused. Went 70,000km between services last time :rolleyes: being replaced in January probably.

2013 Kia Optima 1.7 diesel. Dads company car. This is the car that we all drive the most.

2002 (I think) Toyota MR2. Dads car for when someone takes the optima before he gets to it :D

2001 Mercedes CLK320. This car belongs to me/166man/QV. I think you all know it at this stage!

That's the list of "ready to drive" cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

04 BMW 520i (me)
    99 Golf 1.6 (me)
    06 Volvo V50 2.0D (Mother's car)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Full fleet... I've cut down, most are running :)

00 C220 CDI
    98 C220 CDI (test/experiment vehicle)
    95 C220 DIESEL :cool:
    01 E320 CDI
    98 C180
    85 280SE (see a trend here?)
    98 406 D-Turbo
    00 Seicento
    98 Seicento (both 1.1)
    94 Tempra
    80 X1/9
    01 Daily van
    01 156
    00 Corolla (Lyons green blend humpy edition)
    03 S40
    89 300ZX TT
    89 525i
    98 535i (yes, it's a V8)
    01 330d (yes, it's a hape of sh*te)
    74 Land Rover S3
    76 IH574 (love a good spin to the shops and back in it, tramping across fields and ditches)

But there's still too much sh*te :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Pics should be obligatory on this thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

bear1 wrote: »
    Pics should be obligatory on this thread :D

Can you hold on till Monday till I get pics of the rest...!

00 C220 CDI + 300ZX

Humpy + 98 Seicento

406 D-Turbo :cool:

89 525i + 330d sneaking in

98 535i

2003 S40

Tempra, Daily van and 280SE

95 C220 Diesel and again

98 C180

00 Seicento in here somewhere

More to come... I miss my 97 C200 so much :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Musketeer4

Myself - 2004 Nissan Almera, 1.5L
    Bought 2 yrs ago with 107k mls for €900 with a blown clutch, fitted a new one at a cost of about €250. 140k mls now and going strong. Happy out with it. Cheap reliable motoring. Roof and bonnet are fcuked after some apes jumped on it one night but, meh, it still does the job just fine. I've no intention of changing until it breaks down.

Mother - 2007 Passat 2.0 TDI. Had some injector trouble and electric handbrake failures but pretty reliable day to day. Abused.

At home we also have a Renault Kango van that gets bashed and abused around the place from time to time.

Sister - 141 Audi A6. Fine car.

Brother 1 - 151 Mercedes C something or other.

Brother 2 - 95 Mercedes SLK 250?

Brother in law. A big manky Mercedes Vito.

Also thrown around the yard, a '02 Volvo S40 1.9D with a blown engine; a '96 fiesta abandoned after uneconomically repairable NCT failure; similarly, an '88 Fiesta.

OSI wrote:
    2016 VW Golf GTI-P 2016 Ford Mustang 2016 VW Amarok 2015 Renault Captur 2012 VW Golf TDI 2012 Mini Cooper D

I smell a lotto winner..... not 6 numbers perhaps but a 5 with a couple of rollovers.

Ah here, you're making the rest of us look bad with your pics! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I might have just added a 2007 Nissan Note to the family fleet. God help me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Mine 97 super white mr2 .
    Sister 09 merc b170 (2.0 tdi?
    Sister in law boring Citroen c4.
    My departed dad loved cars he had a white Renault 4 van and a nice Ford Capri .
    My brother has a e39 535i
    Step dad has a 01 1.4 corolla in metallic pink,
    My house mate has a boring 07toyota auris in golden shower metallic hue !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

04 focus 1.4 (me)
    Mega mile primera's electrics f**ked me so picked this up for 900 with a few months t+t..15000mls 6 months no probs

01 Mondeo 1.8 (wife)
    This just keeps going.12 years with us and only a window reg went...it's immaculate but worthless

08 punto 1.2 ? petrol (ma)
    Every panel on it replaced.quite nippy

2016 leather clad shoes (dad)
    Gave up driving after triple bypass.

08 Mondeo 1.6 petrol (bro)
    Hates it.sold an early 90's Renault 19 AND 21 to get this along with a laguna that threw a belt.cries now and then

05 Almera (bro wife)
    On its 2nd or 3rd cam/ crank sensor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

MK7 Golf R (me)
    Mundane diesel saloons / mummy wagons (Everyone else)

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Mundane diesel saloons / mummy wagons (Everyone else)

Must try harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Wedgie

Me -'99 Toyota Camry.
    Wife -'08 Toyota Prado (I take this whenever I can!).