Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This that or other?

• 01-11-2016 8:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭

Thinking of investing what are the pros and cons of each or is there others recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

I said wrote: »
    Thinking of investing what are the pros and cons of each or is there others recommended.
    would u not buy a pitch fork instead,much cheaper and the bit of exercise would be good for u

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

High bike wrote: »
    would u not buy a pitch fork instead,much cheaper and the bit of exercise would be good for u

When you get electricity in your place ya might want to move with the times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

When you get electricity in your place ya might want to move with the times
    got it out again think it's overated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Do you have any prices for them? I like the look of the cashels one.

A few on test here

Nugent and cashels both hitting the 3300 asking price I've narrowed it down to them two.
    I've dealers near me so after sales won't be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Nugent and cashels both hitting the 3300 asking price I've narrowed it down to them two.
    I've dealers near me so after sales won't be a problem.
    Pros: a great machine, I know a fella that says he can feed bales without leaving the cab cons: fairly expensive un less you use a lot of bales.

How many bales do you feed a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

There fairly heavy so you'll need a counter weight. Friend has one on a TM 150 and he said it's inclined to lift at the back with a few heavy bales. Also you need good oil pressure to operate it. I don't know about those makes but know 2 lads who are having bother with the tanco bale shearer as it won't catch the plastic off the fusion plus bales.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Pros: a great machine, I know a fella that says he can feed bales without leaving the cab cons: fairly expensive un less you use a lot of bales.

How many bales do you feed a year?
    Having a young family and the PIA that is
    Shift work,need it for time,either in early morning or late at night before or after work 250 Aprox depending on type of winter we get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

cashels one has brackets welded on whereas nugents has u bolts, so cashels might be stronger in that regard.

are they both the same weight?

What about the mchale bale splitter for the loader that can hold the plastic and net? It would be cheaper and lighter and easier on the hydraulics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

First off I don't know anything about them but I think you're dead right to be considering one. 3 grand over a lifespan of minimum 10 years is peanuts.

The day of the 4 prong pike is well gone. Look at all the ould lads that are fcuked from driving those yokes.

First off I don't know anything about them but I think you're dead right to be considering one. 3 grand over a lifespan of minimum 10 years is peanuts.

The day of the 4 prong pike is well gone. Look at all the ould lads that are fcuked from driving those yokes.

Ah the four prong never crippled any man if any thing it was a great way to keep fit. I know a few farmers nowadays that would want to spend a few hours a day working them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

They're not walking leaning to one side though! This thing of you're a great man if you drive one of them or a Darby all day every day is laughable.
    Go for a run morning or evening and you'll be alot fitter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Sam Kade wrote: »

if using that type machine in a narrow passageway half the bale would fall away from the barrier and have to be pushed in.

there is a reason why there is a nice big yard used in that promotional video!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Wessel3

looks like a bit of a faff to me ?
    surely a shear grab would be better with pit silage
    suppose though the 4 pronged device is uncomfortable to sit on though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Wessel3

looks like a bit of a faff to me ?
    surely a shear grab would be better with pit silage
    suppose though the 4 pronged device is uncomfortable to sit on though