Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies Golf Competition- who can the card

• 01-11-2016 1:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Just looking for some thoughts on this on.

Ladies competition played normally on a Friday. Recently the committee decided that the competition can be played over the weekend, cards signed & entered into the completion box with the appropriate fee. The marker is a club member but do they have to be female ? Is it a local rule thing ? Or GUI rule. Not sure just looking for an opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

In my club a male member can sign a female members card & vice-versa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭clog

I don't have the GUI guidelines for competitions in front of me but I believe the wording is

' Any person deemed suitable by the committiee'

Common practice is that this is any GUI/ILGU member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Tea Cup

Think I prefer your club to my club. Won last weeks competition but my card was disallowed as a male club member signed my card! sexist?? Much ??

clog wrote: »
    I don't have the GUI guidelines for competitions in front of me but I believe the wording is

' Any person deemed suitable by the committiee'

Common practice is that this is any GUI/ILGU member.

Won last weeks competition but my card was disallowed as a male club member signed my card! sexist?? Much ??
    A committiee member called it who just happens to be the winners partner .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

Tea Cup wrote: »
    Won last weeks competition but my card was disallowed as a male club member signed my card! sexist?? Much ??

Afaik there is no such thing as disallowed, you were either DQ'd or not, you should ask for clarification and if you were DQ'd then I'd ask the committee to quote the relevant rule.
    It's possible that the clubs constitution or the competition rules regarding ladies comps don't allow a non member of the relevant section of the club to sign cards, IME that would be very unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DiegoWorst

Absolute total BS on the part of your club.
    If the marker has a GUI handicap, the card is valid AFAIK.

I reckon there's a legal issue here.
    Does the club make provision on the timesheet for GUI and ILGU golfers to be grouped separately?
    If a 3-ball is made up of 2 men and 1 lady, or 2 ladies and one man, potentially 2 of the 3 members of that group could be DQ'ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Think I prefer your club to my club. Won last weeks competition but my card was disallowed as a male club member signed my card! sexist?? Much ??

That is absolutely insane.

Why are men and women members allowed on the time sheet together if they are not allowed sign each other's cards.

It's the likes of this nonsense that destroys golf clubs. Absolute dummys for a committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

Same here, but when I joined my previous club, men could sign women's cards, but women could not signed men's. Initially I though this was sexist towards women, but as it turned out it's actually more of a disadvantage to men. If I played with my wife - or any woman - she could enter the competition and I couldn't. I think the rule dated back to unbelievable scores coming in from husbands and wives playing together. Anyway I raised it at the first AGM and got it thrown out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,927 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

We have a similar thing as our ladies competition is on Monday. Thats for the ladies of leisure of course so they allow the 'business' ladies to play in the same comp on the Saturday. Just asked herself and she was told, yes, I could play with her on Saturday and sign her card.

It looks a bit bad in your case, what with the winner being the partner of the ruling committee member. Very unfortunate. But one could see a case for the marker having to be in the same competition. Which means it not really sexist. Its more down to the fact that the male partner could obviously not be in the ladies comp. It's usually not a bad idea to clear up these things beforehand.

Edit: Another thing that strikes me, is that ruling committee member a member of the ladies club committee? We have a separate committee for the ladies as competition wise it's really a separate club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

. Very unfortunate. But one could see a case for the marker having to be in the same competition.

I don't see how this plays out either. Say, if someone is signed in to a comp & playing partners drop out, and they can't be moved around to fit with another group, I'm pretty sure that a marker should walk the course with the player, who doesn't have to be entered into the comp.

Sounds like nonsense for the OP. If male members can't sign ladies cards & vice-versa, then they shouldn't be allowed to play on the same line as each other, and there should be separate tee times allocated (which I don't agree with either)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭clog

I would ask to see the actual club rule on that as it is definately not in any way an ILGU/GUI general rule.

The ILGU document I have to hand refers to a marker being.

'fellow competitor or other player'

You could ring the ILGU up for more advice, they are really helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,927 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I don't see how this plays out either. Say, if someone is signed in to a comp & playing partners drop out, and they can't be moved around to fit with another group, I'm pretty sure that a marker should walk the course with the player, who doesn't have to be entered into the comp.

Sounds like nonsense for the OP. If male members can't sign ladies cards & vice-versa, then they shouldn't be allowed to play on the same line as each other, and there should be separate tee times allocated (which I don't agree with either)

Ye I think I'm with you. Sounds a bit made up and it smells bad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 golfrules

I would ask to see the actual club rule on that as it is definately not in any way an ILGU/GUI general rule.
    Also what are the rules for the competition, are they written up before hand? I know my self from experience that individuals tend to think they can change the rules as they go along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Our club is Similar. Ladies play on Thursday, but they can also play on the previous Saturday (which is mainly men) and have their score count for the Thursday comp. It is regular for Ladies & Gents to play together on a Saturday and there is no restrictions on who can sign who's card. I relly don't see why there would or should be. To go one step further, I know there are a number of men who play, but wouldn't enter the competition, but they can also sign cards.
    I really can't see why it would be any different anywhere. Imagine Shauna & Poppy would be going mad a at a Boards outing if the lads couldn't sign their cards :)

That's scandalous. Take action on it and go all the way. And I would tell everyone in the club who the committee member was, as even if it is a club rule, it is a clear cut case of them seeing an opportunity, and forgetting about the spirit.

Thank for all the advice!!

So I didn't make an issue & I know I had grounds to. I have since notice a notice on the lady's board which states that competition cards can be signed by another club member playing in the competition which rules out male members as it's a lady's competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

That's shocking :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

notice on the lady's board which states that competition cards can be signed by another club member playing in the competition

okay, that's a little different. It still sucks for you though.