Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi A4 2.0 TDI Avant... anything to be wary of?

• 30-10-2016 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    Without any great intentions of actually buying anything yesterday, my Wife and I put a deposit on a 2013 2.0 TDI (136bhp) A4 Avant to replace her very tired 2011 Astra. We've been needing a bigger 2nd car for a good while and I'm very reluctant to go down the mummy-wagon route. Always admired the Audi estates so this one seems to fit the bill nicely.

The Audi is originally a UK car. It has a very nice spec - heated leather, Nav, parking sensors, climate, bluetooth, etc, etc. It is in immaculate condition - even by my fussy standards, the paintwork is spotless barring a few to-be-expected stone chips here and there and a minor bumper scuff, probably from taking things in and out of the boot. The interior is spotless... I doubt anyone sat in the back.

The only seed of doubt I have in my mind is it's mileage. It has 80k miles which to me seems a lot for a 3 year old car. But as I said, it looks and feels like a car that's done half that. Her Astra, 2 years older, has less mileage but feels a decade older...

I think the price is good, he's giving her what I think is a fair trade for the Astra. Basically she's getting into a very nice upgrade of a car 2 years newer than her own for approx 10k.

Should we be at all wary of anything, especially considering the mileage? Are the VAG 2.0 diesels generally reliable? The man says it'll have a full Audi "health check" report, it'll be serviced, etc.

Any tips/advice, even "don't do it!" are welcome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I don't think there's anything in particular wrong with that era A4, Joe. I don't think they have any of the critical timing chain issues of the other Germany counterparts.

Is it automatic? If so i'm not sure if it's the multitronic gearbox I have heard of them having problems.

Is it a main dealer car or independent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

If it's an ex-uk car, you should be able to check the mileage online. I'm sure some helpful soul here will post the relevant link.

Otherwise...does it have a full service history? If so, I'd be happy enough. The absence of one would make me suspicious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Cheers fellas.
    It's a 6 speed manual. I did the MOT check on it lastnight and it only had it's first one back in February, it passed and the mileage tallies up with what's on it now. It actually hasn't done much mileage since that. This morning I did the €35 Motorcheck report and that didn't tell me much more than I already know ;). No recorded accidents, no finance on it, etc. It does seem to stack up fine as an honest car but it's just me being cautious.

It's a small independent dealer - one of those that seems to specialise in premium U.K. imports. Oh and yes it does have a service history and the dealer has promised it'll be given a thorough check over before it leaves the forecourt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

What kind of warranty are they offering? Nothing in particular goes wrong with them outside of the usual DMF, and DPF which can affect any modern diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Joe, did you put the UK reg through the UK MOT checker?

https://www.check-mot.service.gov.uk/

Also the earlier VAG CR engines had troublesome EGR valves, other than that your talking about normal wear and tear items such as timing belt and clutch/flywheels at some stage.

Thanks lads
    Yes Baz, did that lastnight. It did its first MOT in February and passed with just an advisory about rear tyres being near legal limit - and I noticed yesterday the rears looked fairly fresh so that's been sorted. The mileage on the MOT report is only about 6k less than it is today so it has seen relatively little use in the last 6 months. I reckon it was traded in May or June and made its way here a while after that. I did the Motorcheck report earlier too and again that comes up clean.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Thanks lads
    Yes Baz, did that lastnight. It did its first MOT in February and passed with just an advisory about rear tyres being near legal limit - and I noticed yesterday the rears looked fairly fresh so that's been sorted. The mileage on the MOT report is only about 6k less than it is today so it has seen relatively little use in the last 6 months. I reckon it was traded in May or June and made its way here a while after that. I did the Motorcheck report earlier too and again that comes up clean.

Sounds good, did it have a service history? Might be worth making a phone call to the UK garages that serviced it just to confirm what was done. May give you an idea if the frequent level of work done gives it a pattern of being troublesome or not.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Sounds good, did it have a service history? Might be worth making a phone call to the UK garages that serviced it just to confirm what was done. May give you an idea if the frequent level of work done gives it a pattern of being troublesome or not.

I was told it does have a service history but stupid me forgot to actually check for it in the glovebox. I'm going to call into them on Tuesday for a look at that again!

I think Audi switched to electronic service histories a few years ago if it stayed within the Audi dealer network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I wish the wallet agreed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

There are no words.....although stunning fits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

I test drove a few of these last year and although a really nice car to drive, I had 2 issues with the A4
    Boot was not as big as I hoped and with the manual
    My left foot every time I pressed the clutch pedal hit off the foot rest for the left foot
    Seems to be common with the Audi that the space is very limited in the drivers footwell

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    I test drove a few of these last year and although a really nice car to drive, I had 2 issues with the A4
    Boot was not as big as I hoped and with the manual
    My left foot every time I pressed the clutch pedal hit off the foot rest for the left foot
    Seems to be common with the Audi that the space is very limited in the drivers footwell

Yeah I noticed the same with the pedals. They seem to be offset too much to the right for some reason. It felt strange but then when I drove it I didn't notice it after a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

Hi guys,
    Without any great intentions of actually buying anything yesterday, my Wife and I put a deposit on a 2013 2.0 TDI (136bhp) A4 Avant to replace her very tired 2011 Astra. We've been needing a bigger 2nd car for a good while and I'm very reluctant to go down the mummy-wagon route. Always admired the Audi estates so this one seems to fit the bill nicely.

The Audi is originally a UK car. It has a very nice spec - heated leather, Nav, parking sensors, climate, bluetooth, etc, etc. It is in immaculate condition - even by my fussy standards, the paintwork is spotless barring a few to-be-expected stone chips here and there and a minor bumper scuff, probably from taking things in and out of the boot. The interior is spotless... I doubt anyone sat in the back.

The only seed of doubt I have in my mind is it's mileage. It has 80k miles which to me seems a lot for a 3 year old car. But as I said, it looks and feels like a car that's done half that. Her Astra, 2 years older, has less mileage but feels a decade older...

I think the price is good, he's giving her what I think is a fair trade for the Astra. Basically she's getting into a very nice upgrade of a car 2 years newer than her own for approx 10k.

Should we be at all wary of anything, especially considering the mileage? Are the VAG 2.0 diesels generally reliable? The man says it'll have a full Audi "health check" report, it'll be serviced, etc.

Any tips/advice, even "don't do it!" are welcome...

Joe if it were me I'd try to get a 177bhp one. We had a 136bhp saloon and I found it very under powered.

Moanin wrote: »
    Joe if it were me I'd try to get a 177bhp one. We had a 136bhp saloon and I found it very under powered.

I would tend to agree with you as I drive a Golf R myself :pac: That said, when I drove the Audi on Saturday it didn't feel too bad! It pulled well enough through the gears and it'll mainly be herself that will be driving it - the 136bhp is more than plenty for her needs. Plus there's budget constraints. The higher bhp / S-Line spec, while desirable, pushes up the cost considerably.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I think Audi switched to electronic service histories a few years ago if it stayed within the Audi dealer network.

Called into the dealer this morning and you're right Baz, after a certain time (or mileage, not sure), they switch to electronic history. He had it all there anyway, every receipt, down to wiper blades, since the car was new. All good.

Good stuff. Sounds like a good one as there is a lot of mutton being dressed as lamb for sale out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

The 136ps engine has lower emissions than the 143ps, so was very popular with company car drivers in the UK, as BIK is based on the Co2.

We've supplied a few 136ps models, and there's nothing different than the rest of the A4 diesel range - pretty damn reliable all round.

Well we collected it today, really pleased with it and how it was presented on handover. "As new" is no exaggeration.

A few pics here if anyone's interested!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101567179&postcount=2835

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Well we collected it today, really pleased with it and how it was presented on handover. "As new" is no exaggeration.

A few pics here if anyone's interested!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101567179&postcount=2835

Fine-looking motor...enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Looks very tidy Joe, well wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Yeah I noticed the same with the pedals. They seem to be offset too much to the right for some reason. It felt strange but then when I drove it I didn't notice it after a few minutes.

The cheap feckers have the transmission tunnel set up for left hand drive only, hence the offset pedals in RHD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Well wear Joe looks a beauty, love the color. Changing the A3 Saloon myself this week for an imported A6 190 SLine Ultra 161. looking forward to it as it seems to have all the extras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Tunage

Hi JoeA3,

Would love to know how you're finding the car after having it for a while. I'm currently looking for that same car myself (2013/14)

Tunage wrote: »
    Hi JoeA3,

Would love to know how you're finding the car after having it for a while. I'm currently looking for that same car myself (2013/14)

Hey!
    Surprised to see this thread bumped up...

Yeah the car's been absolutely spot on since we got it, not a bother with it at all. It sailed through the NCT a few weeks ago and the dealers took care of it, as promised when we originally bought it.

I don't drive it very often myself, it's primarily my wife's car and I'd only drive it the odd time at the weekends. Boot is a decent size for lugging the kids buggy and all that gear that my own car is hopeless for.

An annoyance I personally find when driving it is the pedals layout, particularly the clutch pedal. It seems very offset to the right and I catch my shoe on the footrest when depressing it too. It's a common complaint with the A4 in general and it either annoys you or it doesn't...

All in all - a good buy, no issues at all so far touch wood - no regrets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Tunage

Hey!
    Surprised to see this thread bumped up...

Yeah the car's been absolutely spot on since we got it, not a bother with it at all. It sailed through the NCT a few weeks ago and the dealers took care of it, as promised when we originally bought it.

I don't drive it very often myself, it's primarily my wife's car and I'd only drive it the odd time at the weekends. Boot is a decent size for lugging the kids buggy and all that gear that my own car is hopeless for.

An annoyance I personally find when driving it is the pedals layout, particularly the clutch pedal. It seems very offset to the right and I catch my shoe on the footrest when depressing it too. It's a common complaint with the A4 in general and it either annoys you or it doesn't...

All in all - a good buy, no issues at all so far touch wood - no regrets.

Thanks Joe, It's the only thread that I saw that was exactly what I was looking for. Glad to hear you've no bother :-)