Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will I get a cheeky one before the next flight?

• 22-10-2016 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭

I booked a flight this evening and it's got a layover in Rej.....the capital of Iceland. I think it's an 90-minute wait before the connecting flight or something.

But my question is - during that hour and a half will the passengers be confined indoors? I ask because I'm a smoker who hates flying so I'll need a cheeky one or nine to sooth the stress of getting on another seven-hour flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

There should be an area that's technically in the airport but outside where you can smoke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,628 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

There should be an area that's technically in the airport but outside where you can smoke...

Is there not one of those in most airports? There should be really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,674 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Had the same issue in London yesterday.

Letting off some CS gas sorted things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Ok, OP tell us where your heading on your holliers, no need for the leading question...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Not in Newark iirc, you've to go out and back in through security. Think o'hare is the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Right so I told a lie and I hope you'll forgive me. I haven't booked it yet, but I'm literally just about to and I have another two questions.

I need me some leg room but there's two XXL options for space - one that costs £17 and another that costs £28. If they're both XXL, what's the difference? If one seat has more space than the other then why not upgrade it to an XXXL to avoid this sort of confusion?

Finally, is this leg room only for the flight to Rej.....the capital of Iceland? I ask because it's another seven hours on a plane after that and that's where I need the leg room.

Life is so hard :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Is that not what I said? That there should be an area where you can smoke? Just ask someone In the airport...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Life is as hard as you make it. .

Just book the feckin seat. Christ on a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Have a cheeky Volvic too.

Tzardine wrote: »
    Life is as hard as you make it. .

Just book the feckin seat. Christ on a bike.

Listen guy, 6'4 men need the luxury of extra leg room on long-haul flights. It's not like I'm 5'3 and just being a diva.

It's in these situations that being a squirt really comes into it's own.

Book the more expensive one, you only live once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Cigarettes? How common.

Candie wrote: »
    It's in these situations that being a squirt really comes into it's own.

Book the more expensive one, you only live once!

But I don't know if that seat is for the entire journey or just the 10-minute flight to Iceland. This is the dilemma we have.

I've looked into a non-stop journey but Aer Lingus are charging €40 for the spacey seats, and the flight in general is 100% more expensive. As I said, FML.

Went for the Aer Lingus one. F*ck Iceland :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ring Iceland and ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

http://www.kefairport.is/resources/Files/PDF/Flugstodskjar-enska-11-1s.pdf

It's over on the left by the jacks. Make sure to get a bottle of Icelandic Black Death in duty free. It comes in a coffin.

stimpson wrote: »

It's over on the left by the jacks. Make sure to get a bottle of Icelandic Black Death in duty free. It comes in a coffin.

Thank you for Mr Stimpson but that will not be necessary now. We're talking non-stop flight now, so the anxiety of needing a cigarette will not be as big of an issue as I feared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I hate the whole "cheeky" insert whatever line.

Nothing is cheeky about smoking a cigarette.
    What is cheeky anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Just have a sneaky one in the jacks sure that's what everyone does. The jockeys are probably smoking joints up the front anyway sure what else would you do on a transatlantic flight. They probably crack a window though so nobody gets freaked out down the back.

I hate the whole "cheeky" insert whatever line.

Nothing is cheeky about smoking a cigarette.
    What is cheeky anyway?

Well I'm addicted now so it don't matter. I'll quit before I get cheeky lung cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

What is cheeky anyway?

Nandos

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

stimpson wrote: »

Its also rank.

I've a bottle of Brennivín at home that is 7 years old. Only been brake enough to have one shot of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Lovely fags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Cheeky touch of emphysema there Doc.

Ooh, I am awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

godtabh wrote: »
    Its also rank.

I've a bottle of Brennivín at home that is 7 years old. Only been brake enough to have one shot of it.

It's not that bad. Better than the other Icelandic delicacy - rotted shark.

Drink it straight from the freezer if you're having difficulty with it. Be grand.