Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Found a car, help needed

• 15-10-2016 8:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭

Hi guys there has been a car abandoned in the town where I live.It was suggested not to give the location incase someone comes and robs it.
    Anyway for what ever reason the Garda are not interested.The car is an 03D Saab.
    I have photos of the NCT Tax and Insurance and they seem in date.The car is there a few weeks now.Any idea how to let the owner know their car is here.FBD is the insurance company so I will contact them when they open on Monday.Any ideas.Anyone know a person missing a 03 Saab.should I post the full reg on Facebook and ask people to share.One of.my.friends had her 04 Clio robbed the other day .I'd hate to think this owner had their car robbed and there it is now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Contact Insurance company then forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

cathy01 wrote: »
    Hi guys there has been a car abandoned in the town where I live.It was suggested not to give the location incase someone comes and robs it.
    Anyway for what ever reason the Garda are not interested.The car is an 03D Saab.
    I have photos of the NCT Tax and Insurance and they seem in date.The car is there a few weeks now.Any idea how to let the owner know their car is here.FBD is the insurance company so I will contact them when they open on Monday.Any ideas.Anyone know a person missing a 03 Saab.should I post the full reg on Facebook and ask people to share.One of.my.friends had her 04 Clio robbed the other day .I'd hate to think this owner had their car robbed and there it is now .

If it's taxed and insured the Gardaí won't care, not that they care much even if it isn't. Give your litter warden a call and say you suspect that the car has been dumped, they are usually proactive with littering and abandoning a car is littering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Can I ask Why your so bothered about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Obviously murdered the owner and attempting to throw the Guards off his/her scent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Maybe because he's a decent person trying to do someone a favour?

If that was my SAAB I'd be bloody happy if somebody reported it's whereabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Skyfarm

Probably for the same reason,you are asking him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Red Kev wrote: »

He? Cathy, hardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Skyfarm

Sam Kade wrote: »
    He? Cathy, hardly.

This is Ireland 2016,gender doesn't matter anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭harr

Probably just parked up...guards would know if it had been reported stolen(that's why they they are not interested) ...not much guards can do if it's not causing a problem where it is parked...
    If car is just abandoned it would the litter warden or county council, I doubt it's just abandoned if tax and insurance are in order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

Skyfarm wrote: »

it does to me but I'm old school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

He? Cathy, hardly.

Didn't have the glasses on, so read it as 'Cathal'.
    Apologies to all offended. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

Because I care.I would hate Ifor someone took my car.But I would also hate that they took the medal my mam bought me.The hello kitty Teddy from my sister.zthe picture my daughter drew at school. BECAUSE I would want it back.
    Some nice people still exist in this world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Skyfarm wrote: »
    Yeah, everyone going on with this guys sh1t. Hey guys, hi guys :mad:
    Didn't have the glasses on, so read it as 'Cathal'.
    Apologies to all offended. ;-)
    Cathy was the only one offended, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

Yeah, everyone going on with this guys sh1t. Hey guys, hi guys :mad:

Cathy was the only one offended, I suppose.

Well I wasn't offended at all.I answer to anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Walter2016

If it had been reported as missing, gardai would know and pass details.

As it obviously hasn't, it is absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with gardai.

Doesn't stop some people whining though.

Report it to litter warden and let insurance co know - that's as much as you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

is the car locked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

How do u know its been abandoned? Couldn't it be a neighbours relative who has just gone abroad? If its legally parked what's the issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

It could belong to these guys!:D
    220px-Dude_Wheres_My_Car_movie.jpg

Seriously though Cathy, if it's fully road legal, parked legally and you've informed the Gardai (and as a result we can assume it's not stolen), I don't think there's much more you can do. The only other thing you can check is that the numbers on the discs match the number plates.

Fair play to you for reporting it, if it's still there in a year and a day you should claim it yourself!:D

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.