Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second policy

• 11-10-2016 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭

A relative of mine left me a car in their will. I already own a car and I don't particularly want to sell either of them.

Is it possible to get a policy on a second car? I rang my current broker and they said they don't provide this service.

Does anyone know an insurance company that does this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    A relative of mine left me a car in their will. I already own a car and I don't particularly want to sell either of them.

Is it possible to get a policy on a second car? I rang my current broker and they said they don't provide this service.

Does anyone know an insurance company that does this?

If you can get a company to quote you, you will be starting at zero bonus on it, AFAIK there are little to no insurers that will mirror your bonus onto a second car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

I don't mind the NCB not being mirrored.

If you aren't looking to have the bonus mirrored then you should be able to get a quote but it wont be cheap.

I have no recommendations I'm afraid as what you are asking for would put you outside of the acceptance criteria of a lot of companies ie you are looking for a quote and have no bonus to use.

Have you tried contacting your insurer directly rather than through the broker?

Just give them a ring and explain the situation and see what they say.

Other than that Im afraid its gonna take some leg work.

Dont even bother trying online quotes as nobody will quote you with no NCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

If you can get a company to quote you, you will be starting at zero bonus on it, AFAIK there are little to no insurers that will mirror your bonus onto a second car.

Leaving aside that it's obviously true here in Ireland.

Do you know what is the logic behind it?
    Can't think of any reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

CiniO wrote: »
    Leaving aside that it's obviously true here in Ireland.

Do you know what is the logic behind it?
    Can't think of any reason.

It's to minimise the national sport of 'fronting. Very few of us need/use 2 vehicles. A 2nd car is usually for the main use by a named driver who is probably the beneficial owner of the car. Why give additional discount to facilitate fraud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

It's to minimise the national sport of 'fronting. Very few of us need/use 2 vehicles. A 2nd car is usually for the main use by a named driver who is probably the beneficial owner of the car. Why give additional discount to facilitate fraud

So why do they still deny NCB on second policy even if there are no named drivers on it?

Because odds are that a call will come in shortly to add that 'occasional' driver, to either this vehicle or the original one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Because odds are that a call will come in shortly to add that 'occasional' driver, to either this vehicle or the original one

Ye need some anti-paranoia meds or something lads. Is this really the best idea the industry has come up with to tackle fronting. "Johnny 10yearsNCB wants a Mazda MX5 for the weekend - definitely fronting for his son going to college".

Just load the crap out of the quote for the additional drivers if it's fronting ye don't want. Don't take it out on people with a daily eco wagon and a weekend car that they actually like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

any insurance company will quote you, but you will be starting with 0% NCB on the 2nd policy unless the company is prepared to 'mirror' your exising NCB.

Axa did it for me, via a broker.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    any insurance company will quote you, but you will be starting with 0% NCB on the 2nd policy unless the company is prepared to 'mirror' your exising NCB.

Axa did it for me, via a broker.

I got a quote off Axa. They were the only crowd that would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 stanley1989

Just ring a different insurance company and if they ask have you any more policy's say no ..
    My mates mum had to take out a classic insurance policy because her car got to old..The ncb didn't carry over so she had to start again ..So he (her son) bought a car and put himself as a name driver on her original policy and used it .
    Then Before i got my full licence i couldn't get insured on a big engine car i bought so she let me take out a policy in her name with different company again and I listed myself as name driver on that (With zero NCB obviously ) Only kept the policy going for 3 or 4 months but all the same she had 3 policy's and not a word about it

And there's your answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭j.s. pill II

For anyone looking to insure a second private car in their own name I would suggest contacting their existing insurer first. Now you said you were in contact with your existing broker already. Did they say your existing insurer doesn't "provide this service" or that nobody who they deal with provides this service? If they didn't at least offer to dig a little deeper for you I would say you have a pretty useless broker.

Previous comments re fronting certainly have some merit in them. Even if you only wanted to take out the policy on an insured only driving basis initially, some companies would rightly be wary about the possibility of the policyholder wanting to add drivers at a later date (which, if the drivers are within their acceptance criteria, they can't reasonably refuse down the line).

EDIT: Mirroring is for more common for private to commercial -e.g. you have a full bonus on an existing private vehicle and you want to insure a commercial vehicle - a lot of companies will be happy to mirror the bonus in such circumstances (but not necessarily do it the other way around). Also, mirroring may often be done on an 'introductory bonus' basis. i.e. the premium quoted is the same as if you had a full NCB but you don't have a NCB as such, you still have to earn it from scratch and can't protect it till after say 3 years (same as if you were taking out a policy for the first time in your own name but can provide proof of claims free driving experience for 5+ years)

Ye need some anti-paranoia meds or something lads. .

I think stanley1989's post answers your query

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I think stanley1989's post answers your query

I don't think throwing the baby out with the bathwater is the best way to deal with fronting... surely there's a professional adult way to address it?

Just ring a different insurance company and if they ask have you any more policy's say no ..
    My mates mum had to take out a classic insurance policy because her car got to old..The ncb didn't carry over so she had to start again ..So he (her son) bought a car and put himself as a name driver on her original policy and used it .
    Then Before i got my full licence i couldn't get insured on a big engine car i bought so she let me take out a policy in her name with different company again and I listed myself as name driver on that (With zero NCB obviously ) Only kept the policy going for 3 or 4 months but all the same she had 3 policy's and not a word about it

I'm interested to know if this is legal, though? Do they not need to be informed of other policies?

Its not but I think he is talking out of his hole anyway.

His friends mother let him (Stanley) take a policy out in her name?

And the insurer didn't ask any questions at all even though there was a young driver, a big engined car and no bonus?

Ya, I'm not buying it tbh.

I don't think throwing the baby out with the bathwater is the best way to deal with fronting... surely there's a professional adult way to address it?

I'm just pointing out the type of thing that spoils a reasonable facility which many of us should expect to enjoy because of the actions of others.
    e.g. Driving of other cars, mirrored NCBs, windscreen cover etc

We (motorists) have contributed greatly to the mess we find ourselves in and most people are throwing stones at the wrong people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭pfx1942

I have 4 insurance policies in my name at the moment. All cars have myself as main driver and my partner as named driver.
    My partner has 1 insurance policy in her own name and I am named driver on that policy.
    When I took second third and 4th policy out, I used named driver experience from my partners car for extra discount. I spoke with the insurer over the phone and when they asked, do I have no claims bonus in my own name, I replied Yes, but it is used to insure another car.
    2 times of 3 they said, that in this case, I can not use named driver experience to start new policy. When I asked them why, I got some vague answer that I just cant. On both cases, I asked them to check that policy with their manager and they came back with an answer, that I can use named driver experience from another car to start a new policy, even if I have another policy already on my name.
    Only once they had no problems with named driver experience, when I explained that I already have used my own no claims bonus to insure another car.
    All 4 insurance policies are with different companies.

So yes, you can take out second insurance policy in your own name, but most likely you will have to start from 0 NCB.