Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adult Caution

• 10-10-2016 12:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

Hi there folks.

This isn't my proudest moment but I am finding it quiet hard to come to a conclusive answer to my question.

On Friday night I got more drunk than I should have and my stubbornness in turn got me into trouble with the local guards. I was taken to the local station and placed in a cell for an hour till my friends found me and I was released into their custody.

The guards informed them and a very drunk me that I had been a very bold boy and because I had never been in trouble with the law before, that I would be simply getting a caution.

I understand that the citizens information website states
    "Adult cautions are not disclosed in Garda vetting reports and police certificates."

However I am about to qualify as an officer in the Merchant Navy and Background Checks are common place for Jobs and Visas, and I'm wondering if it will show up on these applications?

I would hate to think that a moment of poor judgment and heavy intoxication would scupper my entire career. Its something I have worked so hard to achieve, having just won an award form the college for my grades. It has me very concerned to be honest.

Any light you could shed or information you could provided on the matter would be much appreciated.

Sincerely,
    Shane

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

Just don't be a bold boy again.

If there were no charges you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

An adult caution will never be brought up in a background check. It will only be mentioned if you are brought in front of a judge.

Chill OP. no worries there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

You have not been convicted, only received a "careful now" warning.

You do not need to be concerned about this impacting your career prospects.

Goes without saying that you should take the caution to heart, you don't want the same garda to meet you a second time in similar circumstances :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I'd be more worried about the random drug and alcohol tests carried out by shipping companies OP! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Mod note:

This message is not directed at any of the foregoing posters or posts.

These types of threads involving over-indulgence in alcohol tend to attract 'high-horse' type moralizing posts which bear no relation to legal discussion and tend to drag discussion off topic.

We haven't got any of those posts yet so we'll keep it that way, please.