Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should i report my neighbours?

• 10-10-2016 9:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

I get on with my neighbours and the last thing i want to do is fall out with them.

They're a working couple with no kids, the thing is..they have a dog (a young sheepdog mix -bitch, full of energy) and its tied all day in the back garden and it barks constantly.

Now its not so much the barking that gets to me its the fact that its tied to a gutter downpipe with an ordinary leather lead with no more then 2m free range at best. I can see its in distress...to be fair when they get home in the evening they do take it for a walk.

So should i contact the local dog warden, can i contact the warden anonymously??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Ms Doubtfire1

water,food and shelter available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

water and food is available

apart from the back wall of the house, no shelter

report. Shelter is a legal requirement.which county are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Dogs welfare is important, talk to your neighbours or report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭adelcrowsmel

Could you not just had a word with them about the dog seen as you are on good terms with them before having to report them or take it further. Just let them know that the dog is barking alot when they are not there and maybe suggest that if it had more room to move about and proper shelter it would be more comfortable and happier and hopefully bark less!

not a hope with a sheepdog mix.Highly intelligent dogs and also require lots and lots and LOTS of exercise. But shelter is a must. Tying a dog up....:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its a sensitive time, they've recently suffered a miscarriage....the last thing i want to do is go over there and tell them how they should look after their pet dog, maybe leave it a week or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

+1.

A friendly, neighbourly word of advice is the way to go. They could get a radio fence, hire a dog walker, or try a whole host of measures to try to improve the dog's ( & hence your life) in the neighborhood. Try to get away from this formal, complaining culture that is consuming us all imho, especially with neighbours you get on with.... jeez!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

fryup wrote: »
    I get on with my neighbours and the last thing i want to do is fall out with them.

They're a working couple with no kids, the thing is..they have a dog (a young sheepdog mix -bitch, full of energy) and its tied all day in the back garden and it barks constantly.

Now its not so much the barking that gets to me its the fact that its tied to a gutter downpipe with an ordinary leather lead with no more then 2m free range at best. I can see its in distress...to be fair when they get home in the evening they do take it for a walk.

So should i contact the local dog warden, can i contact the warden anonymously??

How about just be a man and have a word with them instead ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

its a sensitive time, they've recently suffered a miscarriage....the last thing i want to do is go over there and tell them how they should look after their pet dog, maybe leave it a week or two

That comes across as "its a sensitive time, and I dont want them upset at me/shouting in my face" rather that its a "sensitive time and I dont want to cause them more stress"

As sending a warden round from an anonymous tip is likely to cause more stress.

Try and catch one of the couple on their own, and have a word. They probably dont think its an issue or its causing stress. That way you will be in a position to judge if the conversation can be had. It you can tell right away its not a good time to talk, then try again a couple of days later. A random visit from a dog warden would fu(k me right off plus it would make me feel worse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

How will they know it was you who reported them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

In your shoes, I think I would speak with them first, as a friend and neighbour, the warden would be last resort for me. They may not have thought about shelter over the summer months but a gentle heads up from you could have them purchasing a kennel and long chain (if necessary) straight away. As they're out all day, obviously they don't know how the dog is coping but you can give them the friendliest of updates and perhaps, depending on your own situation and commitments, you could offer to take the dog out for a walk after lunch or something like that? I'm assuming that you are home during the day since you can see that the dog isn't doing well and since you know how unhappy they must be at the moment, maybe a bit of gentle advice and a helping hand would mean a lot to them. It would mean a lot to the dog too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭keno-daytrader

Scum bags leave a dog tied with 2m of lead tied to a gutter and no shelter.

Report them.

Ireland has a severe problem with the abuse of animals, we are so far behind in our thinking of how animals should be treated.

The situation is animal abuse, how anyone can see it otherwise is beyond me.

Rant over, but I have a severe soft spot for dogs.

☀️ 7.8kWp ⚡3.6kWp south, ⚡4.20kWp west

Report them.

Ireland has a severe problem with the abuse of animals, we are so far behind in our thinking of how animals should be treated.

I think it's clear from the original post that these people are not as you have described them and that you can so carelessly condemn them with only minimal information is quite disturbing to me.

And, just in case you haven't noticed, you are most certainly NOT the only person around here who cares about dogs. The way you post reminds me of a bumper-sticker spotted on a NJ highway many years ago, "the more people I meet, the better I like my dog". It's still relevant.

janmaree wrote: »
    I think it's clear from the original post that these people are not as you have described them and that you can so carelessly condemn them with only minimal information is quite disturbing to me.

And, just in case you haven't noticed, you are most certainly NOT the only person around here who cares about dogs. The way you post reminds me of a bumper-sticker spotted on a NJ highway many years ago, "the more people I meet, the better I like my dog". It's still relevant.

Especially if one advocates keeping a dog outside on a chain.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Report them.

<snip>
    It's not clever of them but i think you have seriously over reacted in your opinion, a quiet word is all it would take, the op just needs to grow a pair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,564 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

That's horribly selfish... Have a word with them. Tell them that the dog is clearly unhappy and resorts to barking all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

They may not know of any alternative. A hell of a lot of people when they get their first pet hark back to their childhood pets, who may well have been tied up outside rather than secured properly. Particularly if from a rural or farming background. People say "but I've had dogs for 20 years at home" and not have the slightest clue that tying a dog to a gutter is not only deemed cruel and in breach of one of the five freedoms, but it's highly dangerous and any dog that is tied or chained up has the capacity to choke themselves if they twist, contort or jump in any way around their rope :(

OP, have a word with them. Tell a white lie, that the dog got twisted and you had to jump the fence to untie her or she could have choked. Or is it possible to suggest they get a proper dog run?

Do not suggest they get a radio fence as another poster mentioned. They are another form of cruelty, that are banned in many other European countries. There is no need to inflict pain on a dog in order to contain them. They don't stop determined dogs, and plenty break their barrier in order to escape and have zero motivation to then return. Batteries wear out, electricity fails, and worst of all they have shown to be the cause of behavioural problems in dogs such as extreme nervousness to aggression.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Musketeer4

Any high energy dog such as a sheep dog should not be kept in a semi-d estate environment by people who are away at work during the day.
    Absolute cruelty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Why not talk to your neighbour and voice your concerns, they may not think the treatment of their dog is an issue.

Especially if one advocates keeping a dog outside on a chain.:mad:

If you're referring to me in this comment, then you have clearly misunderstood what I was saying.

I am not, and I mean NOT advocating chaining a dog. I am however, capable of understanding that other factors may be in play here; perhaps this is their first dog and they need some guidance; we don't know what their garden is like or where in fact they live - maybe they're in a rural area and sheep-worrying is worrying them; they've just lost a baby and are most likely beside themselves with grief - they may think that they are meeting the dog's needs for now; there doesn't appear to be any suggestion by the OP that they are mistreating or neglecting their dog other than the short lead and lack of shelter. To read some of the posts on this thread and some of those who have "thanked" them, this unfortunate couple should simply be fodder for the firing squad.

I'm just going to say this once; my father is a vet, my brother is a vet, my niece is a vet and another niece will be in a few years time. I am not a vet but "some of my best friends" are - you don't have a pet without an owner, you just have a godforsaken animal doing its utmost to survive. And in all my life, I have never come across a vet who would treat pet owners they way they are often treated here. So many people come to this forum for help, advice, experience, tips and the divil knows what. Sadly, in my opinion, they rarely get compassion, understanding and empathy. What they do get is condemnation, finger-wagging, moral lectures and the kind of spirit-crushing criticism that nobody needs when they come looking for help. It's nothing short of shameful.

Those who know everything there is to know about animal welfare, or at least think they do, owe some consideration to the person who posts here with the best will in the world - whether it's about their own pet or someone else's. Instead, there's a very good chance that they will go away wishing that they'd never asked in the first place or worse, that they'd never rescued a pet or sought the loving companionship of an animal.

I fully realise that I'm ranting now too but Gawdhelpusall, some "experts" here are losing the plot. And if you happen to be one to have received a little or lots and lots and lots of support on this forum, think on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

Leaving a dog tied up all day with no shelter is the worst thing you could do to a dog bar starving it or physically abusing it.

I've gone down the 'have a word' route with neighbours over pet neglect before and it doesn't work because if they were the type of people to see anything wrong with it the dog wouldn't be in that situation at all, ever, not even for a day. You'll just get an argument or false assurances from them because in their mind they're doing a fine job when in reality they have no business owning a dog at all.

I'd report them. They'll move a lot faster to get the dog shelter and that's what is needed most of all ASAP. They're not going to go get a doghouse because a neighbour says something.

They can hear the dog barking too no doubt, but they obviously don't care about it being stressed, or about you and other neighbours being stressed and annoyed by it. Why take a soft approach with neglectful careless inconsiderate people like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭keno-daytrader

The only information I need from the post is they tie their dog to a gutter, with less than 2m of a lead, exposed all day to the weather with no shelter provided.

Imagine when its absolutely pissing rain down for the day how a miserable, cold, wet, shivering dog looks like tied to a gutter.

Its abuse, you can make all the excuses you want,

just picture the dog your head.......

☀️ 7.8kWp ⚡3.6kWp south, ⚡4.20kWp west

Clampdown wrote: »
    Leaving a dog tied up all day with no shelter is the worst thing you could do to a dog bar starving it or physically abusing it.

I've gone down the 'have a word' route with neighbours over pet neglect before and it doesn't work because if they were the type of people to see anything wrong with it the dog wouldn't be in that situation at all, ever, not even for a day. You'll just get an argument or false assurances from them because in their mind they're doing a fine job when in reality they have no business owning a dog at all.

I'd report them. They'll move a lot faster to get the dog shelter and that's what is needed most of all ASAP. They're not going to go get a doghouse because a neighbour says something.

They can hear the dog barking too no doubt, but they obviously don't care about it being stressed, or about you and other neighbours being stressed and annoyed by it. Why take a soft approach with neglectful careless inconsiderate people like that?

You're cherry-picking what suits your point of view and disregarding the rest. I hope your black and white world sits comfortably with you but there are people in it too..........and if you only care about animals and never about people, then I feel sorry for you and hope that you never need help, advice or guidance because you won't find it here anymore. There's a world of forgiveness from animals but people want it their way or no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

People with dogs should look after them properly or not have them, especially in built up areas. Why should neighbours have to tippy toe around some irresponsible dog owners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

You're cherry-picking what suits your point of view and disregarding the rest. I hope your black and white world sits comfortably with you but there are people in it too..........and if you only care about animals and never about people, then I feel sorry for you and hope that you never need help, advice or guidance because you won't find it here anymore. There's a world of forgiveness from animals but people want it their way or no way.

Clampdown was speaking from experience though, no?

Have you ever been in the same situation as Clampdown or the OP?

I'd agree with Clampdown, if yer the type of person that ties up a dog with no shelter for the whole day then do you think you'd be the type of person to agree with someone telling you you are in the wrong.

There's a choice of two paths:

1. OP has the proverbial 'quiet word'.

A: Neighbour see's the error of their ways and agrees with the OP that they are indeed cruel unkind, promptly builds shelter and increases the lead length.
    B: Problem Continues, so neighbour has to then inform the SPCA. Gues who's the informer? What's the outcome of that considering the couple are going through another trauma with OP 'adding to their woes'.

2. Get the professionals to do it.

It's all well and good to 'appeal to someones humanity', but I think this can be a skill that not everyone has (such as the macho poster who says the OP "just needs to grow a pair"!. Believe it or not, some folk go through life without ever having to confront others, (fair play to them too) so the prospect of confronting someone makes them nervous. Especially if there is evidence that the person they are confronting is ignorant and cruel (this IS the case presented).

The only information I need from the post is they tie their dog to a gutter, with less than 2m of a lead, exposed all day to the weather with no shelter provided.

Imagine when its absolutely pissing rain down for the day how a miserable, cold, wet, shivering dog looks like tied to a gutter.

Its abuse, you can make all the excuses you want,

just picture the dog your head.......

For the record.......and I hope that you bother to take it in.......I do NOT, NOT, NOT advocate tying up dogs.........BUT the unstoppable rush to label these people as cruel and abusive is staggering in its own cruel and abusive intolerance. I actually took the time to offer suggestions to the OP that might very well achieve a satisfactory outcome for all concerned but no, they must be as bad as every other servant of the devil who kicks an animal to death, traps a cat to be bait for their fun-filled dog-fighting or breeds a female in the most unspeakable conditions to produce litter after litter after litter.....to line their own pockets.

Frankly, I despair and it's not because of the couple who are trying to care for their dog.

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Clampdown was speaking from experience though, no?

Have you ever been in the same situation as Clampdown or the OP?

I'd agree with Clampdown, if yer the type of person that ties up a dog with no shelter for the whole day then do you think you'd be the type of person to agree with someone telling you you are in the wrong.

There's a choice of two paths:

1. OP has the proverbial 'quiet word'.

A: Neighbour see's the error of their ways and agrees with the OP that they are indeed cruel unkind, promptly builds shelter and increases the lead length.
    B: Problem Continues, so neighbour has to then inform the SPCA. Gues who's the informer? What's the outcome of that considering the couple are going through another trauma with OP 'adding to their woes'.

2. Get the professionals to do it.

It's all well and good to 'appeal to someones humanity', but I think this can be a skill that not everyone has (such as the macho poster who says the OP "just needs to grow a pair"!. Believe it or not, some folk go through life without ever having to confront others, (fair play to them too) so the prospect of confronting someone makes them nervous. Especially if there is evidence that the person they are confronting is ignorant and cruel (this IS the case presented).

I hear and respect what you say and I thank you for taking the trouble to respond. Thankfully for all concerned, I'm not going to prolong my involvement in this post because not only do I despair but I'm weary of it all. As for having the same experience as Clampdown or the OP, of course not, at least not exactly but that's not to say that I offered my opinion without any experience of animals at all, my own experience to be precise.

Suffice to say that the OP claimed a good relationship with these people and cares about the dog's welfare, as do all of us who tried to assist. In his/her shoes, I would much rather talk to them about it first and give them the chance to put things right rather than punish them for all the bad reactions that posters here have experienced in the past and have them wonder why nobody bothered to give them the benefit of the doubt or to say anything at all until the dog warden dropped by. But that's just me and while I prefer the company of animals over people any day of the week, I don't believe in demonising one person for the transgressions of another. What a world that would be.

Over and out.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Folks, would ye ever calm down with the "hang 'em high" posts?
    I've said it so many times here, but in case it was missed... You will not, ever, make your point if you're as strident and unbending as some on here have been.
    Make your point, but for crying out loud, for the sake of all that's holy, don't come across as a feckin mentalist in the process. Otherwise, people are going to shut their ears... And animals will suffer more.
    Do not reply to this post on thread.
    Thanks,
    DBB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

In my experience, approaching a neighbour doesn't usually go well, they often take it personally and are defensive and offended.

Best to get the dog warden to call, they can have a word about animal welfare and call back at a future date to see if their advice has been taken. They may even offer to take the dog to have it rehomed, if the couple are unable to provide it with a quality of life. Either way, it's win/win for the dog.

In my experience, approaching a neighbour doesn't usually go well, they often take it personally and are defensive and offended.

Best to get the dog warden to call, they can have a word about animal welfare and call back at a future date to see if their advice has been taken. They may even offer to take the dog to have it rehomed, if the couple are unable to provide it with a quality of life. Either way, it's win/win for the dog.

If I was that neighbour (not that I would tie my dog up) I would be far, far more offended that a neighbour didn't have the decency to tell me there was a problem and head straight for the warden route. And it would put the neighbours in a position that they would be suspicious of everyone they know on the road. Remember, the OP says that they get on with the dog owners, how is it going to be when they report anonymously and then have to lie directly to their faces if they're asked do they know who reported them?

As the OP has stated, they are also after suffering the loss of a miscarriage. Just imagine how it would feel if you felt the neighbours were that uncompassionate that they reported them at such a difficult time without approaching them first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Just speaking from experience. They clearly don't see a problem with the current situation, which most dog lovers would see as quite an abusive way to treat a dog, left out all day, on a short leash, with no shelter. Granted it might be a short-term measure while they wait for a shed/shelter to arrive. But honestly, they should have prepared for the dogs arrival by having everything ready before they got the dog.

And speaking from experience myself, maybe everything isn't as clear cut as it seems.

Sometimes it's better to help than go straight for the jugular. You catch more flies with honey than vinegar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

It's quite clearly a short term measure. The op gets on with them, that means they must be empathic people I.e They have feelings, and are sociable, agreeable neighbours. They have a young dog, the woman has just had a miscarriage and now the helpful neighbour wants to call the dog warden on them cos they had to tie their dog on its lead for a day or two, while get their life back together and probably pick up a kennel over weekend and find some way of keeping the dog in the garden then too.

my advice fwiw is to have a word after the weekend if the dog is still on a short leash. Give your neighbours the benefit of the doubt ffs and don't let any absolutist, animal rights, angry souls here try to lecture you on what you or the dog owners should do, cos the dog deserves this or that. After all, Good neighbours deserve the benefit of the doubt (most particularly when you know they're going through a tough time) before you start talking about what animals deserve surely!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

janmaree wrote:
    Those who know everything there is to know about animal welfare, or at least think they do, owe some consideration to the person who posts here with the best will in the world - whether it's about their own pet or someone else's. Instead, there's a very good chance that they will go away wishing that they'd never asked in the first place or worse, that they'd never rescued a pet or sought the loving companionship of an animal.

People are upset about the treatment of the dog. They're not abusing the op. Harsh tho it sounds, if the dog is tied up without shelter, it is neglect.
    As regards your point about all your veterinary relatives... I have regular dealings with many vets and my son's partner is one and not one of them would agree with this method of keeping a dog an would likely repeat many of rhe points made here.
    I've lost five babies and that's no excuse for tying a dog up outside on its own. Even more reason why I keep my dogs close to me and to my heart.
    At the very least these people should have a fence so the dog can stretch his legs. If they live near sheep that's no excuse. That should've been thought of before bringing home a breed type that likely has strong herding instincts to live in a garden thats not secure. It was thoughtless and inconsiderate.
    That's the prob with this country's dog welfare and why Ireland is a disgrace and is the puppy farming capital of Europe.
    People don't think or care about what a dog needs or what breed suits their lifestyle before scrolling through Done Deal for one they like the "look" of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I'm horrified to read this. They tie a dog to a drainpipe & leave it there all day? And the OP is now the monster for daring to see something wrong in this? That dog has no voice & can do nothing to help itself. It could choke or break its legs twisting around on the chain. It cannot move, exercise, defecate or lie down in comfort for 12 hours each day. Man up and ring the warden first thing tomorrow. People who could do this kind of thing to a defenceless 'pet' do not deserve to have one. Call them tomorrow - they will not know which neighbour reported it. The dogs life will improve. Nobody loses. Call them. You know its wrong. Don't let other people allow you to let this dog suffer another day. You are the only person who lnows the details & can do it. Call. Or PM
    Me the details house address & dog image & I will do it for you/the dog. It is unspeakable & inexcusable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

My instinct would also be to call the warden.

That dog can get hypothermia on a particularly cold wet day, if it has no shelter from the rain... we are starting to get some cold periods now coming into autumn. (particularly if it's also kept out at night - it might have very little respite from the weather)

Or you could go down the route of jumping over the wall/fence and setting some makeshift shelter up yourself...? Then call in and inform your neighbors that you had pity on the poor thing because it was raining! (in a non judgmental/confrontational manner)

Whatever way you do it OP, now you've recognized the issue, that dog needs better conditions. And you might be it's best hope of making that happen - before winter sets in. (some dogs won't be so lucky)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Before calling a warden, I would hope that you live in a county with a low pts rate in case fhe dog ends up in the pound. Some don't allow rehoming unless directly to a rescue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I'd tell them that neighbours are complaining about the barking and mentioned contacting the warden so you're just giving them a heads up about the problem.If they don't rectify the situation immediately then I would contact the warden myself.
    It's probably a cowardly approach but you could be living beside them for years and don't want to fall out with them because of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

It's sad that these people are being so stupid really in the route they've chosen to go down with this dog while they're at work.

They are probably dog lovers considering the fact they got a dog but they clearly don't know how to look after one. They've shown bad decision making in the breed they went for and now bad decision making in the solution to them being at work all day.

I would suggest, like others, to have a word and let them know how distressed the dog is and you could suggest how a run could be a great solution for this dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭TopTec

Just tell your neighbours that you are getting complaints from people trying to find out who owns the dog... mention others talking about calling SPCA and tell them it is a problem.

TT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Ann22 wrote: »
    That's the prob with this country's dog welfare and why Ireland is a disgrace and is the puppy farming capital of Europe.
    People don't think or care about what a dog needs or what breed suits their lifestyle before scrolling through Done Deal for one they like the "look" of.

I think people often do not stop and think of what goes on in Ireland's dog breeding business. It is inhumane and cruel, and is a money making racket for all types of unsavoury individuals. On the severe end of the scale we have the breeders of 'fighting dogs' for the abhorrent practice of dog fights. More 'innocent' is the massive production of puppies for the Christmas market. Whatever the purpose of producing these dogs on a mass scale cruel inhuman illegal puppy farms operating way over capacity are involved.

Often these puppy farms and illegal dog activities like dog fights are well hidden and located in difficult to access places. Often money earned in these activities is laundered into other activities. I have always hated modern Irish country music and have wondered where a lot of these singers get their wealth from and how they can afford to set up elaborate bands, and hate it even more when I read that one of them is involved in puppy farms. This also confirms how money can be laundered from one activity into another and explains their wealth. I am sure this is not an isolated incident and money from illegal dog activities and other exploitation of animals is being transferred into some legit business operation by many in many sectors. Unfortunately state corruption and the corruption defending economy of post-bailout Ireland has only served to encourage all this disgusting abuse of animals.

I think people often do not stop and think of what goes on in Ireland's dog breeding business. It is inhumane and cruel, and is a money making racket for all types of unsavoury individuals. On the severe end of the scale we have the breeders of 'fighting dogs' for the abhorrent practice of dog fights. More 'innocent' is the massive production of puppies for the Christmas market. Whatever the purpose of producing these dogs on a mass scale cruel inhuman illegal puppy farms operating way over capacity are involved.

Often these puppy farms and illegal dog activities like dog fights are well hidden and located in difficult to access places. Often money earned in these activities is laundered into other activities. I have always hated modern Irish country music and have wondered where a lot of these singers get their wealth from and how they can afford to set up elaborate bands, and hate it even more when I read that one of them is involved in puppy farms. This also confirms how money can be laundered from one activity into another and explains their wealth. I am sure this is not an isolated incident and money from illegal dog activities and other exploitation of animals is being transferred into some legit business operation by many in many sectors. Unfortunately state corruption and the corruption defending economy of post-bailout Ireland has only served to encourage all this disgusting abuse of animals.

+1. That, and, in fact, the laziness of the gardai in many places not even bothering to send out anyone for a foal, beaten bloody, like just last night.That is Ireland. And, as long as the politicians are crooked, the gardai indifferent and the main public ignorant, NOTHING will ever change. Time to leave.:mad: