Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Senior gardaí ‘tried to destroy’ source

• 04-10-2016 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/senior-gardai-tried-to-destroy-source-424048.html
    Two senior gardaí have made statements under whistleblower legislation alleging that senior garda management conducted a major campaign to “destroy” a whistleblower within the force.

The “protected disclosures” of the two officers reference a campaign that included spreading false, scandalous, and damaging allegations against the whistleblower in question.

The purpose of the campaign was to completely discredit the whistleblower to the extent of destroying his character.

One of the two officers making the disclosure is admitting his role in the campaign to discredit the whistleblower, but claims he was following orders.

The disclosures detail a number of different strands to the campaign, which was conducted over a number of years.

These include:
    • Generating hundreds of text messages which were disseminated among a large group of officers with the instructions to attack the whistleblower’s character;
    • The creation of an intelligence file on the whistleblower;
    • The deployment of an officer to monitor the activity of the whistleblower on Pulse, the Garda computer system;
    • The briefing of elements of the media about the whistleblower, laying emphasis on entirely false allegations about the whistleblower’s character;
    • The briefing of selected politicians in a similar vein.

Some pretty serious stuff in that. Will anyone lose their job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Well there's a direct link between garda whistle-blower and the orders they were given. For Gardaí to try win back some public support heads will have to roll. This is their chance for some redemption and I honestly don't know what they'll do... But this is big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭irishrgr

Interesting stuff, but honestly I'm not surprised. The Garda , the vast majority of whom I have great respect for don't seem to understand the need for transparency and accountability. Looking at other forces in developed countries, there is much more openness and accountability. Why should the Garda be any different?
    I'm sure, Ireland being Ireland, there will be the usual finger pointing, statements in the Dail, earnest promises by the Minister and Commissioner to "get to the bottom of this", an enquiry by a retired judge that'll drag on for a while. Findings of enquiry will be "taken into consideration" and little will change.
    FFS, the Ombudsman has limited powers, can be blocked by the Garda and gets no cooperation..come on.
    There needs to be an independent police force and laws need to be passed making it illegal to influence Garda matters (such as a TD asking the local super for a "favour" about a ticket someone received), an empowered Internal Affairs agency and transparency. I won't be holding my breath.
    As perspective, our City PD (approx. 1500 officers) has fired three people this year, all seemingly justified (poor use of force, lying, and a DWI). That is routine, an average year...it gives me confidence the PD are taking care of bad apples. How many people have the Garda fired in a year and there are what, 12000 plus Gaurds...they can't all be that perfect, human nature...rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

As usual, no details provided. Can't say I'd be particularly surprised if management took a disliking to someone and made their life hard but for a conspiracy involving a "large group" of officers I think a little proof should be a prerequisite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Nothing really unexpected there. If I recall, he was accused of leaking personal information about the commissioner. Everyone has been expecting him to try and take as many people down with him as possible.

What I can't believe is that they deemed it necessary to go after MCCabe like that though. The O'Higgins report alone makes him out to be a Walter Mitty type and his own accounts of incidents left me wondering if he was a sergeant at all. What kind of sergeant watches probationers ruin investigations without intervening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What kind of sergeant watches probationers ruin investigations without intervening?

What kind of Garda person stands by and watches management concoct lies and ruin the lives of their colleagues without intervening?

See you're doing your best to discredit them both yourself. Looking for a promotion?

What kind of Garda person stands by and watches management concoct lies and ruin the lives of their colleagues without intervening?

See you're doing your best to discredit them both yourself. Looking for a promotion?

Aww, did I insult your precious Saint McCabe? Take it to Clare Daly. I've no need to discredit either of them. Everything I've said is a matter of public record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭BaronVon

irishrgr wrote: »
    How many people have the Garda fired in a year and there are what, 12000 plus Gaurds...they can't all be that perfect, human nature...rant over.

6 since 2010, and a lot of days lost due to suspension
    while members were being investigated.

A lot of people would get the option to resign first, due to the difficulty in sacking people in Ireland, as compared to the States, and this wouldn't be reflected in the figures.

Aww, did I insult your precious Saint McCabe? Take it to Clare Daly.

Many of your colleagues have already done so. Say's more about you than anyone else; when you automatically assume that 'naysayers' are McCabe or Daly fans.

Maybe they're just not as willing as some lickspittles to further the crooked minded nature of hierarchy within the force.

It's funny. You had the same tone preceding the outing of Shatter and Callinan. If ever there was a problem in Irish society, it's that. In people who blindly support their betters, just out of raw loyalty to an ideal. Hopefully the unquestioning disciples of such bull**** are first to go, when a clean up happens.

Man already suspended has meeting with whistleblower who was discredited in o Higgins report as prone to exaggeration.

After this a protected disclosure is made and certain politicians and media clamor for self publicity.

I think id rather wait for the results of enquiry before calling for heads to roll as is the fashion.

Man already suspended has meeting with whistleblower who was discredited in o Higgins report as prone to exaggeration.

After this a protected disclosure is made and certain politicians and media clamor for self publicity.

I think id rather wait for the results of enquiry before calling for heads to roll as is the fashion.

Trying to rewrite history there, it's no wonder ye can't be trusted to use PULSE anymore! Where in the report did it state that he was not a credible source? Which claims he made were shown to be false?

What's known for sure is that gardai looking into claims lied about him acting with malice. It was even admitted before a judge that they were out to discredit his character.

Trying to rewrite history there, it's no wonder ye can't be trusted to use PULSE anymore! Where in the report did it state that he was not a credible source? Which claims he made were shown to be false?

What's known for sure is that gardai looking into claims lied about him acting with malice. It was even admitted before a judge that they were out to discredit his character.

I don't know what you mean by 'ye' . I wouldn't be a guard for all the tea in china.

Have you even read the o Higgins report?

The latest claims made are by a man currently suspended from his job.

I'll wait for the report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Green Peter

There were rumours going around re McCabe and they coloured my judgement of him, this is clearly what's now being talked about, brass seem to think they can do what they like and isolating those who call them into question is the norm but a smear campaign is shocking!

Many of your colleagues have already done so. Say's more about you than anyone else; when you automatically assume that 'naysayers' are McCabe or Daly fans.

Maybe they're just not as willing as some lickspittles to further the crooked minded nature of hierarchy within the force.

It's funny. You had the same tone preceding the outing of Shatter and Callinan. If ever there was a problem in Irish society, it's that. In people who blindly support their betters, just out of raw loyalty to an ideal. Hopefully the unquestioning disciples of such bull**** are first to go, when a clean up happens.

I've never supported Garda management or any of the previous three ministers for justice. I've always been critical of McCabe because I believe he took advantage of public ignorance from the very start. And the reports into the incidents he complained about showed him to be a poor sergeant to young probationers.

Higgins report
    he did not withdraw an allegation of corruption against Mr Callinan despite being invited to do so.

there was "not a scintilla of evidence" to support such an allegation which it said was "unfounded and deeply hurtful".

It highlighted other instances where Sgt McCabe withdrew other serious allegations of garda criminality and corruption.

The O'Higgins Commission of Inquiry upheld some of his complaints but it also identified cases where, in the dossier received by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin and Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Sgt McCabe had exaggerated complaints and submitted allegations that were found to be wrong.

These allegations, which were rejected by the commission, were more serious than the previous allegations Sgt McCabe made about the same cases years before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/senior-gardai-tried-to-destroy-source-424048.html

Some pretty serious stuff in that. Will anyone lose their job?

dont you get enough posting this stuff in afterhours ?

should probably wait till there is some actual facts out there then form an opinion

• Site Banned Posts: 66 ✭✭Gardabot1

What a lovely thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Nothing to see here, move along.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Nothing to see here, move along.

No!
    I'm a gardabot I can do as I want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Isn't there a private Garda forum on here somewhere?

I hope they are all using VPNs ..... :eek: :)

Not your ornery onager

There definitely is! 😂

The smell of bullsh[t out of here is nauseating!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭leinsterjack

Absolutely gob smacking that the approach of 'bring problems within the organisation to members of the rank structure to resolve it and make ourselves better' does not exist within AGS.

Time for a change of Senior Management, I think.