Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice Needed:Follow up with guards or not?

• 02-10-2016 7:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 631
    ✭✭✭

So I was pottering down to Cork, coming off the M50 onto the Naas road (I believe) someone had obviously missed the exit. By the time I spotted him he was slightly on the M50 carriageway but mostly on the hatchings reversing to make the turn. As I was a fair distance away from the guy behind me I slowed to let him in and he proceeded on his merry way. I've dash cam footage and a review of it will confirm whether or not he was backing down the M50, but nevertheless it was an unbelievably stupid maneuver. At the time I had rang my local Garda Station who got control to ring me back, report made etc. Frankly I'd have been happy enough with him being pulled over and a word had.

They couldn't locate the guy however so now I'm left with the quandary that this guy hasn't even had a talking too, but at the same time I don't want to be the reason he, potentially, ends up in court for dangerous driving. Of course at the same time I have the reg and dash cam footage and I don't want to see him in the papers in a few weeks time having taken out a family of 5 either. So I am here seeking advice, quips and the inevitable trolling.

PS First time I have ever seen that in the flesh, as it were, I therefore couldn't believe it when I saw the exact same fecking trick on the M7/M8 in Co. Laois about an hour or so later! That one was at least on an empty motorway and that lad I only saw on the hatchings.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 Walter2016
    ✭✭✭

You'd be the complainant and it would be for you to decide if you wish to act as the witness.

Considering your name, you should know that.

A garda can hardly go on hearsay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 Kings Inns or bust
    ✭✭✭

Walter2016 wrote: »
    You'd be the complainant and it would be for you to decide if you wish to act as the witness.

Considering your name, you should know that.

A garda can hardly go on hearsay!

I thought it was fairly obvious that I know the guards can't and won't do anything else without me following up the compliant. If I follow it up I'm well aware I'll not only be spending a day in court but also potentially losing the dash cam for the foreseeable - I don't wish to reignite that argument however.

The question for the avoidance of any more doubt is, should I follow it up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 The flying mouse
    ✭✭✭

Put the dashcam video footage up here on the dashcam thread and we can all have look it and say guilty or not guilty.

✭✭✭

Put the dashcam video footage up here on the dashcam thread and we can all have look it and say guilty or not guilty.

I can't I'm afraid, in case I do decide to follow it up.

Well that and the language that came out of me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 Walter2016
    ✭✭✭

If you're going to scald me for things I should know would you at least do me the courtesy of reading the post. It's fairly obvious - or so I thought - that I know the guards can't and won't do anything else without me following up the compliant. If I follow it up I'm well aware I'll not only be spending a day in court but also potentially losing the dash cam for the foreseeable - I don't wish to reignite that argument however.

Maybe be clearer with your query - your post asked for advice, I told you that its you that would be the key person and the garda simply cannot do anything as they did not witness it.

In other threads you dole out dodgy legal opinions on everything, but here you seem oblivious to a very basic legal requirement that hearsay is simply not admissible.

My guess is you are simply trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 biko
    ✭✭✭✭

Advice Needed:Follow up with guards or not?
    Tbh, make your own mind up. If you go ahead with a complaint, fine. If not, that's fine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ED E
    ✭✭✭✭

If he's willing to reverse on the 50 then what else has he done that you didnt observe? Needs a wake up call, if thats in front of a judge so be it says I.

✭✭✭

Thanks ED E and Biko for your advice and getting the thread on topic.

I understand where you're coming from but a big part of me is screaming we all make mistakes, I know I do. I just don't think I'd ever be that stupid on a motorway but perhaps I'm more aware than some a different style of driving is required. But I digress, thanks for the input folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 golfcaptain
    ✭✭

I can't I'm afraid, in case I do decide to follow it up.

Well that and the language that came out of me!

Is it not common that footage posted online leads to follow ups by police? Is there an Irish precedent against that?

✭✭✭

Is it not common that footage posted online leads to follow ups by police? Is there an Irish precedent against that?

It is common, perhaps not as common as we think, but it does create an issue in a prosecution in that the veracity of any independent witnesses can immediately be challenged on the basis they may have seen the footage rather than actually witnessed the incident. It would also be a bit poor form on my part as it's one thing to post it and then to be asked to make a complaint but quite another to complain, then post, then ask for advice on following it up!

Granted it's very unlikely to arise here. I'm more than willing to have a discussion open on this, but perhaps a better place for it would be the legal discussions forum. You'd get a much better answer to your query there from others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 golfcaptain
    ✭✭

I can see where you're coming from. I'm sure there's people with cams that have been in same circumstance. Some will report, some just post online, others do both. All have their merits methinks.

If it was me I'd probably ring guards again to mention footage, especially since you went to the trouble of reporting in the first place. You obviously felt at the time it was worth reporting so why not give them the full opportunity to follow it up?

✭✭✭✭

Forget about it I'm sure you better things for doing that thinking about this.

The vast majority of people (including myself ) wouldn't have even bothered to report it so you have already done more than most.

✭✭✭

Thanks Nox - I think I'm going to do the ritual humiliation on the dash cam thread and leave it at that. Having asked a few people at work they're also of the opinion that 'it's up to you'.

I'll read up on some video editing and post it later. If someone feels it't that bad it needs reporting I'm sure they'll say.

Thanks again (most of you) for your helpful input. To the trolls, 1/10 must try harder! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 Mc Love
    ✭✭✭✭

Dont you have a memory card with the dashcam? You only need to upload the footage to your computer and then it wont be confiscated.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.