Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cost of nutrient management plan

• 30-09-2016 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭

Hi all

Just a quick question on behalf of an in-law near Ballycroy (west Mayo)
    He farms approx. 350 acres mostly low level rough grazing mountain/bog land- sheep only, no fertilizer used, no stock housed all lamb outside etc.. Land is fenced and is certainly not overgrazed. This is land he bought, there is no tilled/grass land.
    He is in, what he called, a Glas scheme and his planner made a nutrient management plan for his farm - said it was a requirement under the scheme. He just got a bill yesterday for this plan total €485 - he is of the opinion that it's a bit excessive considering the type and nature of the farming enterprise. What do others on here think ?
    ( He is paying his planner €375 for ''annual review'' of his Glas plan and €120 for BPS)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭bullnuts

monseiur wrote: »
    Hi all

He farms approx. 350 acres mostly low level rough grazing mountain/bog land- sheep only, no fertilizer used, no stock housed all lamb outside etc.. Land is fenced and is certainly not overgrazed. This is land he bought, there is no tilled/grass land.
    He is in, what he called, a Glas scheme and his planner made a nutrient management plan for his farm - said it was a requirement under the scheme. He just got a bill yesterday for this plan total €485 - he is of the opinion that it's a bit excessive considering the type and nature of the farming enterprise. What do others on here think ?
    ( He is paying his planner €375 for ''annual review'' of his Glas plan and €120 for BPS)

Yes it's compulsory I'm told also
    A young lad in a cream pants and white shoes called here walking about with a clipboard asking questions! Twas grand until he mentioned the fee and like your in law I taught it very excessive ! He was quite sheepish when I mentioned this and was I got the impression he was embarrassed with the little work involved for the fee
    Jobs for the boys ! They talk about all the money coming in from Europe but by the time it gets to the farmer it's been well skinned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

monseiur wrote: »
    Hi all

120 for bps? If he did it online it would cost nothing especially when he farming operation is straight forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Sami23

For god sake tell them to do their BPS online for nothing.
    As regards the NMP I paid €350 for it for very little work involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Sami23 wrote: »
    For god sake tell them to do their BPS online for nothing.
    As regards the NMP I paid €350 for it for very little work involved.

350 aswell for Nmp. 100 for Bps application and Id rather pay it than do it myself. Very hard to gauge the eligible area of some of the rough ground we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Sami23

100 for Bps application and Id rather pay it than do it myself. Very hard to gauge the eligible area of some of the rough ground we have.

Sur it be pre printed from previous year. Just go with that.

I dunno, had a problem last year and three years ago the department took off 10 hectares but the planner got both sorted. I'd rather not be dealing with it myself to be honest. Eligibility on the winterages works in graduations of 20% rather than exact areas because it's impossible to put an exact eligible area on it from the maps or walking them. If 50% of it was eligible roughly you have to round it down to 40% and everyone will put a different figure on it. Worth paying the 100 quid to keep my sanity. He has taken out a few small bits on different parcels where I was borderline over claiming but the department hadn't red lined it. I don't know about the rest of ye but I can't afford getting caught with an overclaim and a 5 year clawback if it's over 2% I think in the event of a department inspection which I'm likely to get over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

That's the Maximum Eligible Area not always the true area of land that is in good agricultural condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Just got a bill for the nutrient plan from a private advisor, €450. How does this compare to others ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Just got a bill for the nutrient plan from a private advisor, €450. How does this compare to others ?

€454 here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭20silkcut

€470 here

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Are these prices including soil samples?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

blue5000 wrote: »
    Are these prices including soil samples?

Mine didn't include the samples.

It was €465 and €200 for the soil samples. I'm with Teagasc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

croot wrote: »
    Mine didn't include the samples.

It was €465 and €200 for the soil samples. I'm with Teagasc

Mine didn't include the samples but that was cheap enough. Took the samples myself and dropped them in.

Not included in mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That NMP was money for Jam. There should be an option like BPS to submit yourself if u felt competent enough. Many lads have green cert done where it is covered in it and if they knew they were saving 400 euros for a couple of hours work at the table would see a tangible financial benefit.

But no. Make it obligatory to get a planner to do it. Looking at my end of year accounts , between accountant and glas planner my 'professional fees' now cost more than my contractor silage bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Muckit wrote: »
    That NMP was money for Jam. There should be an option like BPS to submit yourself if u felt competent enough. Many lads have green cert done where it is covered in it and if they knew they were saving 400 euros for a couple of hours work at the table would see a tangible financial benefit.

But no. Make it obligatory to get a planner to do it. Looking at my end of year accounts , between accountant and glas planner my 'professional fees' now cost more than my contractor silage bill.

Totally agree. I had made a plan in Excel from my soil samples months before i got the NMP and it was virtually the same. He even had software to do it for him so it was money for old rope.

At least if you felt competent enough, you can submit your tax returns yourself. Wouldn't advice it, but it can be done. Pure rubbish you can't submit you nutrient plan yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

400 for nmp and 175 for 7 soil samples.
    300 on top of that for bps and glas record sheets...

There will be changes

Is there anything else that their going to skin us on next year ? Is the nutrient plan a once off ? Haven't even seen or received a copy of mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Once the Nmp is done that's all the money going out afaik. It would want to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

Once the Nmp is done that's all the money going out afaik. It would want to be!

I bet there'll be an update of NMP or fertility status of farm in year 4 or 5 to indicate progress , only my guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

sonnybill wrote: »
    I bet there'll be an update of NMP or fertility status of farm in year 4 or 5 to indicate progress , only my guess

I aksed yesterday at the training day and its one for the 5 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭TPF2012

Once off payment of 340 for plan, 70 for soil samples, no bill for nmp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

Got a bill today for 450 for nmp from our lad Hope he’s not expecting to get paid any time soon a complete rip off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

High bike wrote: »
    Got a bill today for 450 for nmp from our lad Hope he’s not expecting to get paid any time soon a complete rip off

Agree, but if he doesn’t get paid neither do you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Lots of savings to be made online with good resesrch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Advisor always has done Bps here. Is there much detail in doing it online or is it straight forward.

Got a invoice from advisors for “ glas maintenance “ €170. I’m a few years into the scheme . Anyone get similar bills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

That's the Maximum Eligible Area not always the true area of land that is in good agricultural condition.

The MEA is measured area by inspection or satellite.