Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I just watched an episode of Glenroe from 1992

• 28-09-2016 8:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭

Complete with a boring tosser doctor played by Mario Rosenstock acting like a Hugh Grant wannabe.

Denny and Brennan were at the mart all day
    Fidelma has a gorgeous fella from the holliers.
    The word "my" didn't exist and was inexplicably replaced with "me"
    Miley said "Well holy god" a lot
    The drunk mullet lad wore double denmin
    Dick wore a suit and tie all day at home

Bills
    Esb was 160
    Fuel was 220
    Phone was 105

The devil and God were mentioned countless times.

Where do I go with my life now? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Have a Snickers !!!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Well holy god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Did Miley get cross with biddy for ploughing the wrong field?....wait that was every episode....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Did Miley get cross with biddy for ploughing the wrong field?

Wasn't it Miley that ended up ploughing the wrong field?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Where in the world do you go with your life now?

where did you watch it?

Are there any box-sets available? They'd make a great Christmas gift. RTÉ should get onto this.

I'd love to spend all Christmas evening on the sofa watching Glenroe, safe and sure in the knowledge that there was NO homework to be done, no SuperTed pyjamas to get into, and no school tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Did you have a sudden realisation about whether or not your ecker was done for the next day ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

one of the best quotes in glenroe was.

its got a harp on it blackie. No good news comes in a envelope with a harp on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

At least they all went to Mass on a Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Come back to us when you have seen an episode of Bracken. Proper stuff.

Winterlong wrote: »
    Come back to us when you have seen an episode of Bracken. Proper stuff.

Or The Riordans. Or Tolka Row. It never really got better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Where in the world do you go with your life now?

Shìt...my homework!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Watching 'The Sword of Sherwood Forest (1960) the other night, (I know, I know...there was feckall else on) and in a Village Tavern scene up pops two familiar faces from The Riordans.
    Sitting together were Mrs. Riordan's real life hubby John Hoey, alias 'Tinker fella' Francey Maher, and John Cowley, Mrs Riordan's on screen hubby Tom Riordan!
    'Francey' complaining as usual in his inner city Dublin / Oirish accent about the Sheriff of Nottingham's high Taxes, and 'Tom' saying 'Aye...Aye...Aye' a lot.
    Jeez, but they were both cringworthy awful

DanMurphy wrote: »
    Watching 'The Sword of Sherwood Forest 1960) the other night, and in a T

Made in Ireland too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

Have a Snickers !!!!!

You mean "Marathon".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

That's life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I picture The Backwards man, sitting by his turf fire, watching episodes of Glenroe....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Sh*te, I forgot to do me homework!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Best show rte ever did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My favorites were always Blackie and the mullet wearing drunkard from Northern Ireland.

It's strange to think that as much time seperates 2016 from 1992 as seperates 1992 from 1968. Like 1992 just seems like a poorer, primitive version of nowadays, without internet and smartphones etc. 1968 seems like a different world entirely to 1992. Maybe that's just me, and maybe if I thought longer about it I wouldn't even agree with myself :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Kinda fancied Michelle.

You took your titillation where you could find it, back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Those two in that YouTube video were hardly born when glenroe went off the air? Cheek of them takin the p1ss out of Miley Dinny and the rest of the country:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Kinda fancied Michelle.

You took your titillation where you could find it, back then.

Will anyone admit to having fancied Biddy?
    Biddy has to be the longest running unglamourous female lead in the history of television. She was such an absolute wagon of a character too. Like men have always gotten away with being average on tv but how did Biddy manage it in an era of Sue Ellen Ewing and Crystal Carrington ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

Complete with a boring tosser doctor played by Mario Rosenstock acting like a Hugh Grant wannabe.

Denny and Brennan were at the mart all day
    Fidelma has a gorgeous fella from the holliers.
    The word "my" didn't exist and was inexplicably replaced with "me"
    Miley said "Well holy god" a lot
    The drunk mullet lad wore double denmin
    Dick wore a suit and tie all day at home

Bills
    Esb was 160
    Fuel was 220
    Phone was 105

The devil and God were mentioned countless times.

Expensive stuff by the wages of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

That trollop fidelma really changed the way we think about the sanctity of marriage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Classic mint Aero style;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

Looking at the video the Protestant lass was hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

aw wrote: »
    You mean "Marathon".

This post needs more love.... I mean Pigeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

What was that old codgers name who had a posh posh accent and always wore one of those stupid little hats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

That is the most unfunny clip I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

What was that old codgers name who had a posh posh accent and always wore one of those stupid little hats?

George.

Speaking of Protestants:The lad who played the Vicar - the Vicar! As a kid I used to wonder what the hell a Vicar was even supposed to be and why was he always dressed like a priest? - has turned up here, there and everywhere in Irish soapland: Ros na Run and as some form of inner city hardman called "Bottler" in Fair City. I knew that's why Fair City was fundamentally rubbish. It wasn't the cardboard sets or Paul's improbale casting as the cueball noggin-headed lothario like lovegod of Carrigstown. Oh no. It was because when they needed a tough guy, they cast the same wet blanket actor who had spent years knocking around Glenroe looking like he wouldn't win a fight with a pair of slippers. Giz' a break RTE.

Other memorable parts of Glenroe:

- Mary tripping out on magic mushrooms accidentally. Mad craic.

- Some mad bastard - he had slicked back hair, probably was responsible for the beginning of Paul Galvin's "notions" - killing his brother with the whack of a shovel. Pretty shocking, genuinely.

- Stephen's moustache. Like something out of The American Civil War. Tough, like Bracken tough. Stephen's head was like a giant frown.

- Biddy's sister. Who just could not get enough of Blacky Connors. Hard to say no. He sure cleaned those gutters.

- Teasy's absolute chancer of an ex-husband, Sylvie, played by David Kelly. Kind of like anti-matter to Dinny's matter.

- Raging hormonal hunk o' spunk Dick Moran. The serial philanderer with the heart of gold. Until he had a heart attack and then he had a heart of aspirin and stents and plasters, or some other kind of shite. You earned it Dick, you sure earned it.

- Blacky's brother?/nephew?/son?... all three? Johnny. The guy that made you realise how Blacky really was the sophisticated one.

- Miley. He was a legend in fairness. Fidelma.In the hay. Credit where it is due. #talkdirtytomeaboutmastitis.

- Some mad bastard - he had slicked back hair, probably was responsible for the beginning of Paul Galvin's "notions" - killing his brother with the whack of a shovel. Pretty shocking, genuinely.
    That was Chuck. Another serial womaniser, he was like a younger version of Dick Byrne in a pair of wellies.

I believe he had a go on Fidelma too (who didn't, eh?) as well as Venetia Crosbie's daughter (right mink she was) and Michelle the Milfy bellydancer/ barmaid, when her dodgy husband was driving lorries across Europe.

Believe it or not, he even got up on Biddy Byrne. Shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I always thought Stephen Brennan looked like a Jack Russell.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Given that today is Tuesday how about an episode of friends followed by the x-files.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

When's 'Know Your Sport' on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

McDermotX wrote: »
    Did you have a sudden realisation about whether or not your ecker was done for the next day ?

I only got the Glenroe theme tune horrors because it was the end of the weekend.

Of course I always did ALL my ecker on Friday night after watching Monkey and the Tube....because I'm a smarmy little sap that way :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Will anyone admit to having fancied Biddy?
    Biddy has to be the longest running unglamourous female lead in the history of television. She was such an absolute wagon of a character too. Like men have always gotten away with being average on tv but how did Biddy manage it in an era of Sue Ellen Ewing and Crystal Carrington ?

Whatever about the shoulder-padded divas on US soaps, even sour-pussed scrotes like Angie Watts, Kathy Beale and Michelle Fowler outsexed Biddy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Don't forget the priests house keeper who had all these teenage children who kept being introduced into the series out of nowhere with no backstory.

Mynah,couldn't think of her name at first.