Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do people take the piss out of midgets

• 27-09-2016 8:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Just saw the new add for bgo verne troyer, got me thinking why have him in it..in austin powers they the piss outta him

Got me thinking

Do we take the piss outta midgets or do we use em too easily for comedy value

Not drunk or high, i promise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Just a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

The channel TLC love them and giant women. Imagine Peter Dinklage has helped perceptions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

No.....because they get together and talk and you'll end up with a bad reputation

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Orgies drunken brawls knife fights

Just a sample of the carry on on the set of the wizard of Oz

They are no angels those munchkins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Have encountered videos containing midgets and piss, however the piss is usually showered upon them as opposed to being taken from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

I especially like the little man syndrome midget, the guy who's not quite a full sized man, full sized midget, so feels he needs to be heard all the time.

Probably ginger too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Luxxis

Just small minded people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

This thread is a midget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

For fcuk sake. Not another Bono bashing thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

This thought just came to me while I was sitting around thinking of something to post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,268 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Aw you have to hand it to midgets, as sometimes they just can't reach .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Do they?
    Not half!

*gets jacket*

*can't reach coat rail*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭kenmccarthy

That little guy in 'wolf of wall street'.......throwing him at the giant dartboard.....brilliant! !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Orgies drunken brawls knife fights

Just a sample of the carry on on the set of the wizard of Oz

They are no angels those munchkins

My favorite bit is apparently the coppers caught em up with nets when they went off on a mad one

thats so precious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,268 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Don’t think you can call them Midgets.

The correct political term is “Vertically Challenged People”

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I just rest me pint on their head and carry on chatting as normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Maybe in movies..but in real life its clearly not socially acceptable to point and laugh at a midget on the street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Have to admit I did some laughing at this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Don’t think you can call them Midgets.

The correct political term is “Vertically Challenged People”

"Midget" is considered a derogatory term. It describes a person of short size but with normal proportions. Best to use the term "little person".

Dwarfism on the other hand is a generic mutation of the 4th chromosome where the person has disproportionately short limbs. And it is not considered derogatory to use this term unless you use it to describe someone who is considered a "midget"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Wow some really depressingly ignorant stuff in this thread... all in the name of good fun and lighthearted humourous people having a laugh though so it's ok.:rolleyes:

I think people don't always recognise what this good "fun" fuels though. A few months ago I saw a young Irish woman with dwarfism speak about what it's like to be a little person in Ireland. She was a beautiful girl in her 20s working as a primary school teacher here. She said that the day before she was speaking she'd been going to school on the bus when a group of lads in their 20s saw her and started pointing and laughing, ringing their friends in front of everyone on the bus loudly telling them there's a "midget" on the bus, they were facetiming to their friends to show them the girl and taking pics and videos.
    She said that night the first thing she did when she got home was spent half an hour googling "midget on the bus to X" and other derogatory terms they called to see if there was footage put up on youtube and was greatly relieved there wasn't. She said that happens a couple of times a week. People don't necessarily shout at her or say anything directly to her but will start taking pics and ringing friends etc and she'll know she's the butt of a larger joke and is always fearful it'll end up online in a video.

It's just not funny. You might think because you're not directly abusing someone it doesn't affect them but if you've any part in perpetuating the joke you're hurting someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 JohanFr

Wow some really depressingly ignorant stuff in this thread... all in the name of good fun and lighthearted humourous people having a laugh though so it's ok.:rolleyes:

I think people don't always recognise what this good "fun" fuels though. A few months ago I saw a young Irish dwarfism speak about what it's like to be a little person in Ireland. She was a beautiful girl in her 20s working as a primary school teacher here. She said that the day before she was speaking she'd been going to school on the bus when a group of lads in their 20s saw her and started pointing and laughing, ringing their friends in front of everyone on the bus loudly telling them there's a "midget" on the bus, they were facetiming to their friends to show them the girl and taking pics and videos.
    She said that night the first thing she did when she got home was spent half an hour googling "midget on the bus to X" and other derogatory terms they called to see if there was footage put up on youtube and was greatly relieved there wasn't. She said that happens a couple of times a week. People don't necessarily shout at her or say anything directly to her but will start taking pics and ringing friends etc and she'll know she's the butt of a larger joke.

It's just not funny. You might think because you're not directly abusing someone it doesn't affect them but if you've any part in perpetuating the joke you're hurting someone.

They have an unenviable condition that makes serious conversation very prone to very tempting (tabloid level) one liners.

Their condition is very easy to crack jokes about - any unfunny dope can get a few good double entendres from conversation on dwarfism. Words like 'short' 'small' 'stretch' 'jump' are used commonly in english for metaphor/analogy.
    Must be maddening after a while.

Like 'i dont believe it' in ted. Always some dope waiting to be hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I think people don't always recognise what this good "fun" fuels though. A few months ago I saw a young Irish dwarfism speak about what it's like to be a little person in Ireland. She was a beautiful girl in her 20s working as a primary school teacher here. She said that the day before she was speaking she'd been going to school on the bus when a group of lads in their 20s saw her and started pointing and laughing, ringing their friends in front of everyone on the bus loudly telling them there's a "midget" on the bus, they were facetiming to their friends to show them the girl and taking pics and videos.
    She said that night the first thing she did when she got home was spent half an hour googling "midget on the bus to X" and other derogatory terms they called to see if there was footage put up on youtube and was greatly relieved there wasn't. She said that happens a couple of times a week. People don't necessarily shout at her or say anything directly to her but will start taking pics and ringing friends etc and she'll know she's the butt of a larger joke.

While I agree with everything you say, I, as an adult child have a friend called Midget, and by the grace of god knows who, I'm about a 16th of an inch taller than him, so he got the name first, everyone I know calls him Midget, and he's happy with this, now I admit he doesn't suffer from dwarfism, but he was called Midget before this PC shít about not offending anyone of their forebearers took hold, I will not stand for anyone abusing any disabled person, but calling me auld mate by the name he's always been called by isn't hurting nobody in my book

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

JohanFr wrote: »
    They have an unenviable condition that makes serious conversation very prone to very tempting (tabloid level) one liners.

Their condition is very easy to crack jokes about - any unfunny dope can get a few good double entendres from conversation on dwarfism. Words like 'short' 'small' 'stretch' 'jump' are used commonly in english for metaphor/analogy.
    Must be maddening after a while.

Like 'i dont believe it' in ted. Always some dope waiting to be hilarious.

I know, but it's the same with any disability really, it's an easy one for anyone willing to go there. There was a time when calling your friend spa/christy brown was the height of good fun or if someone said something stupid one of those "hilarious" souls you mention may have took to imitating a person with a serious disability or speech impediment to mock them.
    They're also the same charmers who probably said "that's so gay" in a negative way a few years ago. They do learn when the rest of us stop accepting it.

There's a really dehumanising tone to some of the stuff you see and hear when people use the word "midget".
    Personally I think it's one of those things where if you're not actively part of the solution, you're part of the problem. If you don't gently say to your friend "grow up" when these jokes are bandied aroundd you are perpetuating the problem.
    uch wrote: »
    While I agree with everything you say, I, as an adult child have a friend called Midget, and by the grace of god knows who, I'm about a 16th of an inch taller than him, so he got the name first, everyone I know calls him Midget, and he's happy with this, now I admit he doesn't suffer from dwarfism, but he was called Midget before this PC shít about not offending anyone of their forebearers took hold, I will not stand for anyone abusing any disabled person, but calling me auld mate by the name he's always been called by isn't hurting nobody in my book

I can understand where you're coming from. Calling someone a pet name isn't quite the same as ridiculing a whole group of people. When you say "all this pc ****" though do you think it's ok that the girl I mentioned in the post above feels she has to search YouTube every few days for videos of people ridiculing her in public? While people don't abuse her to her face they think they're just having a laugh with a friend when they take a video of her?
    It's this PC **** that might someday allow that girl to live as unconsciously and feel as safe as you do when you go out.
    Surely is not that ****ty when you think of it like that? Is it that much of a hardship to think of another joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

A few year ago, on the way home from work, I had a bit of a bizarre experience. Well, I reckon it would have been a bit bizarre to have witnessed it. I'm 6'5'", and as I walked home, a man in his 50s who was probably half my height (literally) stopped me to ask if I'd tie his shoe laces. Because of his condition, it would probably be hard for him to do himself, at least in public.

I obliged, said "There you go!" and on he went (without a "thank you" I might add, maybe that was due to embarrassment or something). Even though I'd seen him around the town all my life, I'd never spoken to him and only found out his name last week. I don't think anybody witnessed it even though it happened at 3pm on a weekday, but I'd say it would have looked a bit bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

uch wrote: »

Had a friend in school who suffered from dwarfism and was nick named 'Midge'. He didn't mind or at least let on he didn't. The 2nd guy I didn't really know. He also had dwarfism and was a few years behind me. His head was pretty much out of proportion. Was bullied pretty badly over it. Was nicknamed 'The Mekon' after a character in the DanDare comic. I also met someone later in life who could be considered a 'Midget'. He had normal proportions but he just never grew. He was nick named 'Titch'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

I did enjoy watching Darby O Gill and the Little People when I was younger.

The little people were good craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Love the Family Guy terrible joke of an old man asking a midget where's the rest of ya.

Once you go beneath 5'10 for a man, life gets exponentially worse with each inch lost in height. In 1900, you could probably have replaced 5'10 with 5'7 or so, so it is really *relative* height moreso than absolute height that matters. A persons height is one of the foremost determinants of how a person is viewed by other people, for men much moreso than women. Seeing men of short stature as inherently inferior is *so* deeply-ingrained and instinctual to us as highly-evolved social apes with a desire to rank each other in status, that most people take for granted that it is acceptable to denigrate someone (some man, typically) for their lack of height - a trait over which they have no control (once adulthood is reached, in any case) and which is universally considered undesirable and which can't be changed, unlike a persons weight, to pick the usual example (although in the long run, a person has less control over this than they might like to believe, but at least there is *some* hope that it can be changed.)

I think people don't always recognise what this good "fun" fuels though. A few months ago I saw a young Irish woman with dwarfism speak about what it's like to be a little person in Ireland. She was a beautiful girl in her 20s working as a primary school teacher here. She said that the day before she was speaking she'd been going to school on the bus when a group of lads in their 20s saw her and started pointing and laughing, ringing their friends in front of everyone on the bus loudly telling them there's a "midget" on the bus, they were facetiming to their friends to show them the girl and taking pics and videos.
    She said that night the first thing she did when she got home was spent half an hour googling "midget on the bus to X" and other derogatory terms they called to see if there was footage put up on youtube and was greatly relieved there wasn't. She said that happens a couple of times a week. People don't necessarily shout at her or say anything directly to her but will start taking pics and ringing friends etc and she'll know she's the butt of a larger joke and is always fearful it'll end up online in a video.

This is bloody heartbreaking.