Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tarmonbarry Half Marathon & 8k Race

• 27-09-2016 1:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭

33rd Annual Termonbarry Half Marathon and 8K Race takes place on Sunday October 9th 2016 @ 10:45am.
    Both routes start and finish in the village of Tarmonbarry, Co. Roscommon, located on main N5, 5 miles west of Longford Town. View route maps by copying and pasting the following links to your browser:
    Half Marathon : http://goo.gl/maps/qBZoC
    8K: http://goo.gl/maps/9afac

The 8K starts 10.45am; Half marathon starts 11am.

Free tech t-shirts (cannot be guaranteed for late entrants). Prizes and post-race refreshments on the day.

The Entry Fees are:Half Marathon €25 (online entry), €30 (on race day)
    8K Race €20

The online entry form can be found at: http://www.runireland.com/events/tarmonbarry-half-marathon-8k-race

The race takes place 3 weeks before the Dublin Marathon so might provide an ideal tapering run for you budding athletes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭sideshowbob321

Hi has anyone any experience of this Half? The course profile link doesn't work. How is the course and is it a single loop or repeat loop course? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭sideshowbob321

D'oh I copied and pasted the link into browser (as directed) to get the course route!!
    A single loop and might be flat enough??
    Anywho if anyone has any past experience.... It's on this year on the 8th of October @ 10.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Sorry to resurrect a very old thread. Anybody got any information about the Tarmonbarry runs? What are the routes like? Himself is registered for the 3/4 run. I'm considering tagging along and maybe doing the 8k or half while I wait for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Ye will both be running past my gaffe so!

The majority of the 3/4 is a lonely trek by yourself so best to tag onto a couple of similar paced runners for it. First mile is along the hard shoulder of the N5 heading west out of the village. You then go left off it and take in a boreen that will literally have grass growing in the middle of it. You stay on that for the best part of 8 miles, then back out onto the old main road for about 3 miles, the last mile of this is uphill, not steep but seems to go on forever. Back out on the main road again before turning right and heading downhill but you then have a killer uphill bit for about half a mile to the local church where you will hear your heartbeat getting louder and louder in your inner ear. Next 2 miles are lovely downhill bits and last 5 miles are pretty flat.

First half is a lonely route, very few houses but there will be lots of water stations on the way around.

The HM course is exact same as the 3/4 just without the loop around the boreen. The 5 mile is single loop with that takes in one back road, some small up and downs but nothing major.

Used to have a lovely spread of food after the race pre covid but that wasn't in place last year but will hopefully be back this time. Very nice finishers medal the last couple of editions.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Thanks a mil for the comprehensive post @Comic Book Guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

looks like its going to be a wet one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Anyone got any tips on parking for this event on Sunday?

And actually a start time for the HM? I’m not actually sure what time it’s starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

I'm fairly sure sure the HM is last race off at 10.30 am. The last few years people have been able to park on the gaa pitch where the race HQ is in terms of picking up your number that morning. There's additional parking around the marina in the village and it's just a short walk up to the pitch from there.

Nice course, one drag about 4 miles in and then a steep hill around halfway when ya are turning at halfway point for home but a couple of nice downhill miles after that. There's always a great spread of food in the club house afterwards.