Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TY work experience

• 25-09-2016 8:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

Hi guys does anybody know if you can do Transition Year work experience on a farm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

seanlaaad wrote: »
    Hi guys does anybody know if you can do Transition Year work experience on a farm?
    yes but apparently you cant be related to the person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Mf310

Probably learn more on a farm because big operations such as guards or that cant let you do the good jobs and leave you with filing of papers or something whereas farmer could let you on a tractor no bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Mf310 wrote: »
    Probably learn more on a farm because big operations such as guards or that cant let you do the good jobs and leave you with filing of papers or something whereas farmer could let you on a tractor no bother

wouldn't let a ty student near machinery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Mf310

ganmo wrote:
    wouldn't let a ty student near machinery!

If they were used to driving machinery ya would theres 16 year olds drawing silage every summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Mf310 wrote: »
    If they were used to driving machinery ya would theres 16 year olds drawing silage every summer

then why would they want to do something they have experience of already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

As far as I know you can but as Whelan said you cannot be related to the farmer. Farmer has to provide insurance cover the same as any other sector.
    If you are from a farm it is good experience to work for other farmers. Nothing ventured nothing gained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Base price wrote: »
    As far as I know you can but as Whelan said you cannot be related to the farmer. Farmer has to provide insurance cover the same as any other sector.
    If you are from a farm it is good experience to work for other farmers. Nothing ventured nothing gained.

It's good experience but in ty where you only do 1-2 weeks it may be better to get exposure to something totally different to give an idea of what working in a different sector is like and therefore help decide whether it's something worth pursuing or not.
    If you are from a farming background you will already know whether you like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

It's good experience but in ty where you only do 1-2 weeks it may be better to get exposure to something totally different to give an idea of what working in a different sector is like and therefore help decide whether it's something worth pursuing or not.
    If you are from a farming background you will already know whether you like it or not.

I know we do bring in a group or 2 week's or so and they get basic introduction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

There's a lad in Mullingar looking for a young driver to pilot a new Landini l hear. No experience necessary. All training will b provided. One of the additional modules included is a FETAC level 5 in mig welding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »
    There's a lad in Mullingar looking for a young driver to pilot a new Landini l hear. No experience necessary. All training will b provided. One of the additional modules included is a FETAC level 5 in mig welding :D
    Swine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Whatever you do dont go onto a farm and say Hi guys.

Had 2 calls recently from Mammies looking for their kids to do placement here. The first mother I havent spoken to since primary school and I'd say the young lad has never stood on a farm. The other was from a woman I only know from talking to on the internet and she lives in another county. Why cant the kids look for placement themselves, is Mammy going to always do everything for them?
    Had a young lad here doing his Lca placement here one day a week for 5th and 6th year, wasnt from a farm, but had the cop on to get on with it. Eldest lad is going to our vets for a week in February, he asked them himself

whelan2 wrote: »
    Had 2 calls recently from Mammies looking for their kids to do placement here. The first mother I havent spoken to since primary school and I'd say the young lad has never stood on a farm. The other was from a woman I only know from talking to on the internet and she lives in another county. Why cant the kids look for placement themselves, is Mammy going to always do everything for them?
    Had a young lad here doing his Lca placement here one day a week for 5th and 6th year, wasnt from a farm, but had the cop on to get on with it. Eldest lad is going to our vets for a week in February, he asked them himself

Which one are you going to take on? Mammies boy 1 or mammies boy 2 :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Which one are you going to take on? Mammies boy 1 or mammies boy 2 :)
    Neither, find it hard to look after myself during February never mind babysit someone elses kids.

Talking of mammies boys I had a neighbour one time that took on every young fella in the neighbourhood and a term spent with him was like joining the American army, he could turn the laziest young fella into a hard working man in a few weeks. Different story nowadays though, back then the younger generation respected their elders nowadays they'd tell you to fcuk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Talking of mammies boys I had a neighbour one time that took on every young fella in the neighbourhood and a term spent with him was like joining the American army, he could turn the laziest young fella into a hard working man in a few weeks. Different story nowadays though, back then the younger generation respected their elders nowadays they'd tell you to fcuk off.

There's a couple of lads that used to work for me that have young lads coming on and a few of them have sent them on for summer work and weekends. One father said to me that he's hoping I either turn him into a worker or scare him enough to study harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

In TY I did one day a week for 6 months, coming from a large town I had no experience of being on a farm but the farmer had nothing to lose so he took me on.

I gained alot out of it, it gave me a big interest in farming and gave me the edge when it came to the agricultural science project for the Leaving Cert as I was able to talk about my previous experience. Which resulted in me getting an A.

The farmer also gained from it, I was able to assist him in jobs which he wouldn't of been able to do himself while his son was at college, such as hanging gates, setting up a crush, herd sheep etc. He also got asked me to come up and help him out numerous times after the work experience

So for those of unsure about taking on a TY student, go for it!

I loved it so much I'd happily work on a farm for free for a few hours a week.