Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ambulance explosion

• 22-09-2016 2:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭

In naas,one dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Details ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

An ambulance has caught fire and a man has died at Naas General Hospital according to a tweet on Twitter.

The Journal are reporting it.

http://www.thejournal.ie/naas-fire-2991450-Sep2016/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

A dead poster :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭Shlippery

http://www.thejournal.ie/naas-fire-2991450-Sep2016/

First link I saw..

Shocking story.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Christ that's horrible. Hopefully the two medics aren't badly injured.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

I presume oxygen tank exploded or something?
    Horrible - I hope the 2 injured paramedics will fully recover.
    Poor patient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,839 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Shoddy or dated equipment? Is it true some of our ambulances are second hand from uk?

Not necessarily true at all ,,

Oxygen rich enclosed space mixed with a spark or heat source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Sam Kade wrote: »
    A dead poster :eek:

Not very respectful here,are we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

fepper wrote: »

It was more to do with your lack of information ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Jesus... reports saying it was a patient.
    Imagine that poor persons family. Thinking they are now in the best of care and for this tragedy to occur.
    I'm sure everyone working at the hospital is shocked too. Hope those paramedics pull through ok.
    There'll be an investigation no doubt, but our thoughts have to be with those affected now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

A very pr1ckish thing to say, hope he never knows bereavement. RIP to the poor man.

If this turns out to be a maintenance or an age of equipment issue, there shall be war. Perhaps just a tragic accident in a vehicle that carries dangerous materials. Terrible in any case.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It was more to do with your lack of information ;)

You're obviously ignorant on facts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Larbre34 wrote: »
    A very pr1ckish thing to say, hope he never knows bereavement. RIP to the poor man.

He said nothing offensive, but people are looking to be offended on behalf of the persons family. The poster said "I is dead", it was an off the cuff response to that and harmless.

Everyone in the world has known bereavement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Galadriel

You're obviously ignorant on facts

Of course he's ignorant to the facts if you don't supply any facts!

If this turns out to be a maintenance or an age of equipment issue, there shall be war.

Pay should be cut to spend on infrastructure and equipment.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He said nothing offensive, but people are looking to be offended on behalf of the persons family. The poster said "I is dead", it was an off the cuff response to that and harmless.

Everyone in the world has known bereavement.

I wrote the number one,big difference from yourI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Pay should be cut to spend on infrastructure and equipment.

That will work :rolleyes:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Galadriel

That will work :rolleyes:;)

Yeah, so two paramedics injured in the course of their daily duties should have their pay reduced so it doesn't happen again, that will work alright. :eek:

What has cutbacks got to do with an incident that we have zero facts about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod:

Cut out the bickering. An off the cuff remark was made referencing a typo. That is all.

Remember, we don't have any detailed information regarding what has happened just yet. Please remember that friends and family of the deceased and injured may be reading this thread, so keep it respectful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I wrote the number one,big difference from yourI

Are you sure it wasn't an 'I' before it was edited, that's how I read it and the reason for that response by the other poster to you. There was no malice.

I typed in number 1 not letter l or I ,if the two lookalike,cant do anything bout that,it was not typo error mod,but it doesn't take away from awful incident that I opened thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭childsplay

I would imagine that a spark ignited oxygen. A freak accident would be my guess. The backs of ambulances are full of equipment and a spark could have come from there. Static electricity from a piece of cloth. Either way, Its an awful thing and my thoughts are with the families of the deceased and the ambulance crew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

What's the story with yer man with the lighter.

Looked like he was filming on his phone while trying to light a smoke while watching a ambulance burning kinda ironic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

gctest50 wrote: »

What do you mean, 'She knows him'? It looks like she's an administrator asking a stranger not to smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Titanucd

What do you mean, 'She knows him'? It looks like she's an administrator asking a stranger not to smoke.

Seems about right. All hospital grounds are no smoking areas anyway.

RIP to the man who lost his life.

Hope the Paramedics will be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

RIP to the poor man, what a horrible accident to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Oh dear that horrible news.

RIP to the victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Its a tragic incident and condolences to his family. I hope the paramedic fully recovers.

I live across the road from NGH and the media are still around.

When I first heard the news in work, I thought of that movie Final Destination

Polo_Mint wrote: »

When I first heard the news in work, I thought of that movie Final Destination

Yeah, but, if that's true, who is next!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If this turns out to be a maintenance or an age of equipment issue, there shall be war.

Unlikely. It's pretty well known that the emergency services are using equipment unsuitable for the job. The Gardaí are using a computer system rejected by New Zealand, stab vests rejected by the London Met and family cars with no modifications other than lights and sirens. It's not the first ambulance to go on fire either is it? Definitely not the first one to fail to get the patient to the hospital. How many stories where there of overtaxed ambulances breaking down on the way to hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Remember, we have no information except that the HSE suspect that the oxygen played a part in accelerating the fire. This could be from any number of things from faulty equipment to the patient wanting a quick fag before going inside and not realising the danger.
    Way too early to start pointing fingers.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

If this turns out to be a maintenance or an age of equipment issue, there shall be war. Perhaps just a tragic accident in a vehicle that carries dangerous materials. Terrible in any case.

If it's a maintenance issue I hope the family bleed the HSE of every penny they have in court. Having said that we don't know that it wasn't just a terrible accident.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

On RTE News just now they said the ambulance was less than a year old.

God love that man's family, they must be numb.

Apparently the two paramedics will make a full recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Stheno wrote: »
    On RTE News just now they said the ambulance was less than a year old.

God love that man's family, they must be numb.

Apparently the two paramedics will make a full recovery.
    Physical recovery perhaps but this will hurt the mind.

This too shall pass.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

flazio wrote: »
    Physical recovery perhaps but this will hurt the mind.

Oh for sure, I'm not trying to downplay the extent of that, apologies if my post appeared to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

Gatling wrote: »
    Looked like he was filming on his phone while trying to light a smoke while watching a ambulance burning kinda ironic

Looked like he seen an ambulance on fire took out his phone started filming thought it would be funny to put a lighter into the shot and by all accounts implicate himself for that ambulance being on fire.

I do hope the other person in this video see's it and identifies him at the scene with a lighter while filming. Absolute moron.

He is not lighting a smoke he is filming a tragic event in the hopes that it might become a viral video. If your on you phone while trying to light a smoke there is a fair amount of shuffling to be done and in all cases the lighter ends up at the either the front of the phone with the front pointing towards you or at the back of the phone with the back pointing towards you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Looked like he seen an ambulance on fire took out his phone started filming thought it would be funny to put a lighter into the shot and by all accounts implicate himself for that ambulance being on fire.

I do hope the other person in this video see's it and identifies him at the scene with a lighter while filming. Absolute moron.

He is not lighting a smoke he is filming a tragic event in the hopes that it might become a viral video. If your on you phone while trying to light a smoke there is a fair amount of shuffling to be done and in all cases the lighter ends up at the either the front of the phone with the front pointing towards you or at the back of the phone with the back pointing towards you.

Or..........maybe had a lighter in his hand when going for a smoke, spotted the fire and hastily picked out his phone to film it without much thought likely not realising someone was actually inside. Lets not lose the run of ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Or..........maybe had a lighter in his hand when going for a smoke, spotted the fire and hastily picked out his phone to film it without much thought likely not realising someone was actually inside. Lets not lose the run of ourselves.

It's blatantly obvious what he was doing....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 53 ✭✭KyranW

And then what? Lock him up and throw away the key?

Get a grip of yourself FFS! :rolleyes:

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Maybe you didn't read the last part of my post.

If you take your phone out and start filming while there is a something bad happening what does that tell you. The video is clearly an attempt to concentrate on getting the lighter into the camera lens without blocking the fire in the background. Open your eye's.

Nobody is saying that he clearly is the cause of this tragedy he should be held accountable for what the video shows him doing and at the very least be questioned about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭boombang

A Belfast Paper is suggesting the victim may have lit a cigarette:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/republic-of-ireland/cigarette-may-have-led-to-blast-that-killed-ambulance-patient-35072272.html

I don't want to get into victim blaming, but I would have thought this would have seemed distinct possibility. Just pulled up outside the hospital, seems possible the victim might light a cigarette without being aware (or warned of) the dangers if oxygen was being used. Something about the unions jumping up straight away to question the equipment annoys me here.

Why believe everything you read in the papers?

I think everyone should take a moral step away from this thread and have some respect to the family's of those effected by the tragedy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

boombang wrote: »

I don't want to get into victim blaming, but...

But you'll do so anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

My thought are with the man's family after this horrible incident. To hear that only a short time ago is really heartbreaking.

I hope the man killed Rests in Peace. My sympathies go out to the medics who were injured in the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭boombang

But you'll do so anyway!

I just said it should be considered as possibility. I didn't affirm that's what happened. Even if it was the cause it would not necessarily mean culpability for the tragedy if the victim was not informed of the risks.

Anyway, I returned to this thread to post this for balance.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/ambulance-fire-victim-s-family-rejects-claims-he-was-smoking-1.2803533